University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point University Library
University Library, UW-Stevens Point
Library Home | About Us | Hours | Directory | Library News | Visitors & Maps | Site Index | Help

Accounting Resources

Standards |  Associations/Certification |  Government Agencies |  Accounting News


Standards

Financial Accounting Standards Board (FASB)

FASB is the primary standard setting organization for accounting. The standards are available on the FAS web site.
 

American Institute of Certified Public Accountants (AICPA)

AICPA sets standards, provides aids and accounting and technical guides. Access to some of the information on this site is fee based.
 

Government Accounting Standards Board (GASB)

Primary accounting standards for state and local governments.
 

International Accounting Standards Board (IAS)

An independent and privately-funded accounting standards based in London. Full-text access to the IAS standards are available for purchased, but unofficial summaries are free for some standards.

Professional Associations and Certification Information

Institute of Internal Auditors (IIA)

The IIA is recognized as the internal audit profession's leader in certification, education, research, and technological guidance. 
 

Institute of Management Accountants (IMA)

The IMA provides services to management accounting and finance professionals to develop and advance their careers through certification (CMA), research and practice development, education and networking.
 

Wisconsin Institute of Certified Public Accountants (WICPA)

The WICPA provides education, peer review, and community service opportunities to its members to ensure the integrity of the accounting profession. Also includes state resources.

 

Certified Public Accountant (CPA)

 

National Association of State Boards of Accountancy (NASBA)

The mission of the NASBA is to enhance the effectiveness of state boards of accountancy.

 

Government Agencies and Information

 

U.S. Government Accountability Office (GAO)

The General Accounting Office (GAO) contains the latest press releases from the Comptroller General, provides access to “GAO Highlights,” GAO reports in response to Congressional requests, and financial reports of the U.S. Government.

 

U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC)

The SEC provides access to laws and regulations that govern the securities industry, SEC rules on Fair Fund and Disgorgement Plans and current SEC Rules of Practice.

 

Accounting News

The following links provide information on the latest industry news, career information, and links to certification and standards information.

 

Accountancy Age

 

Accountants World

 

CPA Journal Homepage

 

CPA Links

 

SmartPros

 

 

© 2004 University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point University Library
900 Reserve Street | Stevens Point, WI 54481
715·346·3038 (administration) | 715·346·2540 (circulation) | 715·346·2836 (reference)

This page last modified: Wednesday, September 10, 2008