University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point University Library
University Library, UW-Stevens Point
Library Home | About Us | Hours | Directory | Library News | Visitors & Maps | Site Index | Help


Architecture & Interior Design

We recommend that you also search the Library Catalog for Architecture and Interior Decoration (Design). In addition to the Web sites listed on this page, you will find materials that have been carefully selected to address the needs of our students and faculty.  Click on the links above to auto search the catalog for Architecture and Interior Decoration (Design). Use ReSearch Point's Custom Search option to find indexes and databases in this subject area.

American Studies This easy-to-use, selective site contains links by category (History, Material Culture, Religion, Jobs, etc.)  Source: Richard P. Horwitz, University of Iowa.

Architecture and Interior Design for 20th Century America:  The Gottscho-Schleisner Collection includes interiors and exteriors of homes, stores, offices, factories, historic buildings, and other structures. Subjects are concentrated chiefly in the northeastern United States, especially the New York City area, and Florida. Included are the homes of notable Americans and of several U.S. presidents, as well as color images of the 1939-40 New York World's Fair.  Source: Library of Congress.

Asian Historical Architecture: a Photographic Survey:  This site offers thousands of photographic images of Asia's diverse architectural heritage. In total, the site contains photos of 457 sites across seventeen countries. The geographical parameters of the site are limited to areas heavily influenced by Buddhism, Confucianism, or Hinduism. There are clickable maps of large urban areas, which can be used to locate specific landscapes or other aspects of the built environment.  Source: Professors and graduate students from Columbia, Yale, and the University of Virginia.

Cities and Buildings Database: Contains over 10,000 digitized images of buildings and cities culled from all historical periods and from all over the world. Source: University of Washington Libraries Digital Collection.

Great Buildings Collection: Gateway to architecture around the world.  Source: Artiface, Inc.

History of Interior DesignAn overview of prominent designers of interior spaces mainly from the 20th century. Features brief information and selected thumbnail images for designers such as Charles Rennie Mackintosh, Antoni Gaudi, Gerrit Rietveld, Alvar Aalto, Philip Johnson, and Charles Eames. Source:  Architecture Week magazine.

Home Economics Archive:  HEARTH is a core electronic collection of books and journals in Home Economics and related disciplines. The site includes links to electronic resources that provide insight into early 20th century molders of American culture.  Source: Cornell University.

Museum of Domestic Design and Architecture (MoDA):  This interior design museum, part of Middlesex University in Britain, offers exhibitions that "give a vivid picture of domestic life in the first half of the twentieth century while also looking at contemporary design, art and issues related to the domestic environment." The site features a description and online catalog of the collection (use the "light box" to access records with selected images), information about exhibits, online teaching resources, and links to related sites.  Source:  Librarian's Internet Index.
 

Peace Gallery:  This site presents over 500 photos from around the world taken by Peace Corps Volunteers. Images are organized by region and country.  Source:  Wayne Breslyn, Peace Gallery.

 
© 2004 University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point University Library
900 Reserve Street | Stevens Point, WI 54481
715·346·3038 (administration) | 715·346·2540 (circulation) | 715·346·2836 (reference)

This page last modified: Friday, December 21, 2007