University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point University Library
University Library, UW-Stevens Point
Library Home | About Us | Hours | Directory | Library News | Visitors & Maps | Site Index | Help


Fine and Performing Arts

We recommend that you also search the Library Catalog for Art Arts Performing Arts,  and Dance.   In addition to the Web sites listed on this page, you will find materials that have been carefully selected to address the needs of our students and faculty.  Click on the link above to auto search the catalog for Arts, Arts, Performing Arts, and Dance.  See also Music. Use ReSearch Point's Custom Search option to find indexes and databases in this subject area.

Artchive:  This site provides an alphabetical list of over 200 artists, both well-known and obscure, with examples of their work; to date, approximately 2300 images. Source: Mark Harden.

Artcyclopedia: the Guide to Museum-Quality Art on the Internet: A great place to start looking for art on the Web.  Source: artcyclopedia.com.

American Studies:  This easy-to-use, selective site contains links by category (History, Material Culture, Religion, Jobs, etc.)  Source: Richard P. Horwitz, University of Iowa.

CAMEO:  Conservation and Art Material Encyclopedia Online:  The CAMEO database compiles, defines and distributes technical information on terms, materials and techniques used in art conservation and historic preservation.   It is browsable and searchable by material name and other characteristics (such as density or melting point). Some entries contain images. The site also includes a searchable conservation organization directory. Source:  Museum of Fine Arts, Boston.

CPANDA: Cultural Policy and the Arts National Data Archive:  An archive of policy-relevant data on culture and the arts.  Access current and past research findings, such as public opinion, city-specific data, and statistics dealing with the arts. Resources are broken down into four categories: artists, audiences, organizations, and support for the arts. Source:  © Princeton University 2002.

DanceArt.com: A site dedicated to the creation of dance related artwork. Click on "New Ballet Classes", "The Allegro" for a series of  animated ballet combinations.  Also contains a dictionary of ballet.  Source: © DanceArt.com.

Dance Insider:  This is the companion web site to The Dance Insider magazine. Special features include performances reviews and a section for older ("grown-up") dancers, teachers and students.  Source: Dance Insider.

Fine Arts Museum of San Francisco:  Users can access an imagebase of over 60,000 digitized images from the collection. Source: San Francisco Fine Arts Museum.

Frick Collection and Frick Art Reference Library: Links to 120+ artworks including paintings by Bellini, Constable, Gainsborough, El Greco, Piero della Francesca, Rembrandt, and Vermeer, among others; sculpture, and decorative arts. (Select the Frick Collection from the Homepage).  Also includes a link to the Frick Collection's Art Library (select Art Library from the homepage).  Source: © 1998 The Frick Collection.

Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden:  Smithsonian's museum of modern and contemporary art; includes about half of the Hirshhorn's collection. Source: Smithsonian Institution.

Internet Resources for Music, Theater and Dance: Source: Library of Congress.

MoMA (Museum of Modern Art):  Includes recent exhibitions, profiles of modern artists, full-text essays on recent exhibitions. Source: Museum of Modern Art.

Tate Gallery Online:  "Houses the national collection of British art from the 16th century to the present day."  Source: Tate Gallery.

TheatreHistory.com: This site offers resources on the long and storied past of this performing art. The home page for the site features links to a script archive, a Today in Theatre History section, a featured topic area, and a listing of the other areas covered within the site. The general theatre section is divided by country or region, and includes full-length articles about the tradition of the theatrical arts in Britain, Ireland, Russia, and Spain, among other countries. Source: TheatreHistory.com.

Voice of Dance:  A "thriving community of dance on the internet."  Source: Grants for the Arts, San Francisco Foundation, and Dance Magazine.

 
© 2004 University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point University Library
900 Reserve Street | Stevens Point, WI 54481
715·346·3038 (administration) | 715·346·2540 (circulation) | 715·346·2836 (reference)

This page last modified: Friday, December 21, 2007