University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point University Library
University Library, UW-Stevens Point
Library Home | About Us | Hours | Directory | Library News | Visitors & Maps | Site Index | Help


Biology

We recommend that you also search the Library Catalog for Biology.  In addition to the Web sites listed on this page, you will find materials that have been carefully selected to address the needs of our students and faculty.  Click on the topic links above to auto search the catalog for Biology. Use ReSearch Point's Custom Search option to find indexes and databases in this subject area.

Agricola:  Provides access to publications and resources encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including plant and animal sciences, forestry, entomology, soil and water resources.  Source: National Agricultural Library.

AmphibiaWeb:  Provides information on 5,000 species of frogs, toads, and salamanders. Conservation status, description, distribution and habitat information are given for each species.  Source:  U. C. Berkeley, Digital Library Project.

Arkive: an online repository of digital images, video and sound clips of animal and plant species from around the globe.  Users may browse or search for species by common or scientific names.  Created and maintained by Wildscreen, a British nonprofit group, this site aims to provide a "comprehensive and enduring audio-visual record" of the more than 12,000 species threatened with extinction.  Source:  Choice - Association of Research & College Libraries.

Audubon's Birds of America This site features the complete double elephant folio set of John James Audubon’s Birds of America, accompanied by his Ornithological BiographySource:  University of Pittsburgh.

Audubon's Multimedia Birds of America:   This replica of the complete "John James Audubon's Birds of America" (1840-1844) includes the full text, color plates, figures and bird calls.  Source:  Portions copyright © Richard R. Buonanno, 1995 and © Creative Multimedia Corp., 1990-91, 1992.

The Biology Project: This site includes problem sets and tutorials in Biochemistry , Cell Biology , Chemicals and Human Health , Developmental Biology , Human Biology , Immunology , Mendelian Genetics , and Molecular Biology . Some modules are available in Spanish. Some sections include activities and Web resources.  Source:  University of Arizona.

BiologyBrowser:  An interactive portal designed "to connect life sciences researchers with free, useful resources and other like-minded scientists from all around the world." Includes annotated links to news and life science Web sites, a nomenclatural glossary for zoology, a zoological thesaurus, a forum for biologists and scientists to discuss findings, and more.  Source:  BIOSIS.

BioTech: This excellent site is a hybrid biology/chemistry educational resource and research tool on the World Wide Web.  Source: Indiana University.

BioZone, Biolinks:  This site contains over five hundred links covering such topics as biology, biotechnology, diseases, evolution, and microbiology. Links are organized into sixteen main topics and sixty-five subtopics that support health and science education. Source:  Librarian's Internet Index.

ExToxNet:  This resource provides various types of pesticide toxicology and environmental chemistry information. The database of pesticide profiles includes trade name(s), regulatory status, chemical class, formulation, toxicological effects, ecological effects (on birds, aquatic organisms, etc.), environmental fate, physical properties, exposure guidelines, basic manufacturer, and references. Source: A cooperative effort of University of California-Davis, Oregon State University, Michigan State University, Cornell University, and the University of Idaho.

Familiar Birds: Life Histories of Familiar North American Birds: This site provides excerpts from "the hundreds of species biographies assembled and written by Arthur Cleveland Bent and his    collaborators and published in a twenty-one volume series [entitled 'Life Histories of North American Birds'] between 1919 and 1968 by the United States Government Printing Office." The site includes life histories "of the more than 800 species which currently breed, regularly visit, or are occasionally seen somewhere in North America." Searchable and browsable; does not include images. Source: Familiar Birds.

FishBase: The most comprehensive and widely consulted database on the world's fish species.  It encompasses 29,000 species, over 40,000 pictures and 37,000 references.  The database was developed at the WorldFish Center.  It is searchable by common or scientific name, family, country/island, ecosystem, topic and references.  It is available in multiple languages, offers a glossary and discussion forum.  Source:  Choice Reviews, Association of College and Research Libraries

Fisheries (FAO/United Nations): Provides links to fishery and aquaculture resources.  Source: Food & Agriculture Organization of the United Nations. 

Flora of North America (FNA):  Includes "a comprehensive set of taxonomic treatments for all North American plant species and infraspecific taxa."   Source: Flora of North America Assn.

Glossary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology:  Contains 3000+ definitions.  Source: David Glick, Hebrew University of Jerusalem.

Horticulture & Crop Science:  Includes research databases, horticultural factsheets, and a plant dictionary.  Source: Ohio State University.

Human Genome Resources:    Provides background information on the project, to specific sequences for each human chromosome (click on the desired chromosome), to Genome Maps of other organisms (from Scout Report, 3/26/99).  Source: National Center for Biotechnology Information.

Internet Directory for Botany:  An index to botanical information available on the Internet.  Source: Botanical Museum, Finnish Museum of Natural History, Helsinki University, Finland.

MIT's Biology Hypertextbook:  A searchable textbook that provides extensive information on the structure and function of cells, molecules, and enzymes. It also includes an overview of glycolysis, the Krebs cycle, photosynthesis, genetics, and recombinant DNA.  Source:  MIT

NatureServe This site represents an ongoing effort in the western hemisphere to gather standardized data on endangered plants, animals, and ecosystems.  Source: The Nature Conservancy.

Poisonous Plants: This is a growing reference that includes plant images, pictures of affected animals and presentations concerning the botany, chemistry, toxicology, diagnosis and prevention of poisoning of animals by plants and other natural flora (fungi, etc.). Source: Cornell University, Animal Science Dept. 

Resources for Ecology, Evolutionary Biology, Systematics, and Conservation Biology a taxonomy site for biology students/researchers.  Source: Kent Holsinger, Dept. of Ecology & Evolutionary Biology, University of Connecticut.

Robert W. Freckmann Herbarium: Dr.Freckmann , Professor Emeritus of Biology, taught vascular plant taxonomy and agrostology at UW-Stevens Point for 32 years. Starting with one cabinet of about 1,000 plant specimens in 1969, he (and Dr. Frank W. Bowers) built this herbarium into the 3rd largest in Wisconsin, with over 200,000 specimens.  University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point

Vascular Flora of the United States, Puerto Rico, and the Virgin Islands; a Synonymized Checklist:   Offers information at several different taxonomic levels.  Source: Biota of North America Program (BONAP) in collaboration with the Texas A&M Bioinformatics Working Group (TAMU-BWG).

Virtual Laboratory.net, Inc.: This site offers virtual biology labs to study bacterial growth, classic biological systems, the origin of mutations, and host/pathogen interactions. Users need the Flash plug-in (can be downloaded for free) to view this site and you'll have to register by providing your name and email address (also free). Source: Virtuallaboratory.net, Inc.

Wisconsin Vascular Plants: Online resource for exploring the world of vascular plants in Wisconsin. Source: Wisconsin State Herbarium.

World Biodiversity Database:  Searchable database providing "taxonomic information, species names, synonyms, descriptions, illustrations and literature references when available" on 200,000 taxa. Source: Expert Center for Taxonomic Identification  (ETI)

© 2004 University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point University Library
900 Reserve Street | Stevens Point, WI 54481
715·346·3038 (administration) | 715·346·2540 (circulation) | 715·346·2836 (reference)

This page last modified: Wednesday, March 05, 2008