|
| We recommend that you also search the Library Catalog for Books and Publishers. In addition to the Web sites listed on this page, you will find materials that have been carefully selected to address the needs of our students and faculty. Click on the topic links above to auto search the catalog for Books & Publishers. |
ABAA.org (The Antiquarian Bookseller's Assn.): Lookup, buy, and/or sell old and rare books. Source: Antiquarian Bookseller's Assn. of America.
Abebooks.com (Advanced Book Exchange): A virtual collection of 40 million used, rare, and out-of-print volumes. By aggregating the collections of booksellers large and small worldwide, this great site makes the hunt for the rarities, oddities, and just plain old good deals simple. Source: Advanced Book Exchange.
AcqWeb's Directory of Publishers and Vendors: Searchable, includes lists of publishers by title and location, and an extensive list by subject categories. Source: © 1994-1998 AcqWeb.
Alibris: Service for buying and selling out of print, used, rare, and antiquarian books. Source: Alibris.
Amazon.com: Large, online book superstore: "We're called Earth's Biggest Bookstore because we offer 2.5 million titles." Searchable, with extensive subject listings. Includes reviews. Source: © 1996-1998, Amazon.com, Inc.
Barnesandnoble.com: Vast selection has been the hallmark of Barnes & Noble for decades. Inventory spans more than 35 miles of shelves, making it the largest collection under one roof in the history of bookselling. Source: © 1997, 1998, 1999, 2000, 2001 barnesandnoble.com.
BestbookBuys.com: Compares bookstore prices. Source: © 1997-8 Best Book Buys.
Bibliofind: Over four million old, used and rare books are offered here for sale by 1500 booksellers around the world. Source: © Bibliofind.
BookFinder.com: Finds new, used, rare, and out-of-print books. Source: BookFinder.com.
Booknotes: a cyber companion: a complement to the C-Span Booknotes series and Brian Lamb's "Booknotes: America's Finest Authors on Reading, Writing, and the Power of Ideas", this site also includes lots of information about the book trade. The site is also useful for current nonfiction on history or social and political issues. Source: © 1997 National Cable Satellite Corp.
Buying & Selling Used, Discounted, and Rare Books Online: Resources for Book Lovers. An annotated list of resources covering the various options for buying and selling books online, this resources guide is tailored towards the needs of individual collectors and occasional book sellers, not those of commercial book dealers. Source: Axel Schmetzke, University Library, University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point.
Half.com: This is a site where individuals sell their used items, especially books. This is not an auction site. Items have fixed prices, typically 50% or more below the publisher's price. Source: Half.com, Inc.
LibrarySpot's "Books" Page: Links to sites for book reviews, authors, bestsellers, book stores, and other book related resources. Source:© 1997, StartSpot Mediaworks, Inc.
Literary Marketplace: Allows keyword searching and accesses alphabetical lists of publishers, literary agents, trade services and resources. From this site there is access to International Literary Marketplace. Source: R. R. Bowker; © Reed Elsevier
National Academies Press Reading Room (NAP): This site searches over 1000 recent, new, and even prepublication books from the NAP. Subjects include: Biology, Computer Sciences, Education, Mathematical Sciences and Statistics, Science and Ethics, and many others. (Scout Report, 2/26/99). Source: National Academy Press.
PubList.com: An international directory for 150,000 periodical titles. Data are provided by Ulrich's International Periodical Directory, and Editor and Publisher International Yearbook. It can be searched by title, ISSN, and publisher. The search is case sensitive. Source: PubList.com.
Rare Books: Includes information about old and rare books. Source: Dept. of Special Collections, Memorial Library, UW-Madison.