|
| We recommend that you also search the Library Catalog for Business and Economics. In addition to the Web sites listed on this page, you will find materials that have been carefully selected to address the needs of our students and faculty. Click on the topic links above to auto search the catalog for Business & Economics. |
Annual Report Service: A quick way to find company annual reports for 3000 companies. Source: Public Register's Annual Report Service.
BEOnline+ (Business & Economics Online): A list of links to freely available Internet resources in Business and Economics, arranged by subject or title. Source: Library of Congress.
Business, Culture, Customs and Etiquette: This site provides detailed information and guidance about business practices, social customs, and intercultural communication in a wide range of countries. Source: ExecutivePlanet.com.
Business Reference Services (Library of Congress): A portal into business resources, this site includes a wealth of information - websites, resource guides, bibliographies, publications, associations and other resources - related to business. Source: Library of Congress.
Columbia Journalism Review: Who Owns What: This site documents which publications, and other ancillary businesses are owned and controlled by various media conglomerates around the United States. Along with listing the holdings of these various corporations, the site includes a number of articles from the Columbia Journalism Review that deal with media ownership. Source: Aaron Moore, Ithaca College.
Corporate information: Provides information on private and non-US companies and explains corporate structures of each country. Source: Winthrop Corp.
Dismal Scientist: The Dismal Scientist offers comprehensive and timely economic data and analysis at the metro, state, and national level by recognized economists. The site is geared more towards small business owners and students; people who want to use economics but aren't economists themselves. The site includes forecasts, demographic information, and thousands of economic statistics. Source: Copyright © 1999, Dismal Sciences, Inc.®.
DowJones.com: View targeted news, research and resources for any of the 29 industries listed. Source: Dow Jones & Company, Inc.
EDGAR Database of Corporate Information: EDGAR (Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis, and Retrieval System) provides 10-K reports and other information on public companies who are required by law to file forms with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC). Source: U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission
FAO (Food & Agriculture Organization of the United Nations): Includes economics, fisheries, forestry, natural resources and environment, and sustainable development. It provides links, online documents, and databases. Source: FAO.
Fortune 500: Fortune Magazine's Issue of the 500 largest companies. Provides a link (drop down box) to the global 500 list, best companies for minorities, most powerful women. Source: ©1997 Time Inc. New Media.
Global Edge: Links to international business sites. Includes news/periodicals, regional/country specific information, and other business resource indexes. Source: University of Michigan, Center for International Business Education and Research.
International Tax and Accounting Sites Directory: Includes country specific tax sites, international tax associations, EU tax information, and other tax related links. Source: Accountants World, LLC.
Lobbying in Wisconsin: Provides information on who is lobbying the Wisconsin government for what (and with how many$$). Source: Wisconsin Ethics Board.Market Access and Compliance (MAC): Provides information on accessing foreign markets. Includes up-to-date reports on economic policy and trade practices, market research, regulation on privatization, US companies in foreign countries, etc. Source: US Dept. of Commerce.
Market Segmentation: A Guide to Source of Information (Library of Congress): This guide includes books and other resources that discuss marketing to particular segments of the population along with other sources that are important in determining the size and power of a particular market segment. Also included are statistical books and other sources whose main focus is on a specific generational, ethnic or other group. In addition, the guide includes references to selected articles and online sources, as well as hot links to relevant subject searches in the Library of Congress online catalog. Source: Library of Congress.
Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD): An international organization of democratic countries whose work covers economic and social issues related to the political economy of development. The searchable site provides access to the organization's publications and an in-depth statistics portal. Source: Choice.
Report Gallery: Contains links to the Annual Reports of 2200+ US companies. Source: IntraGrafix.
Resources for Economists on the Internet (RFE): This guide includes over 900 resources. Source: American Economics Association.
Strategis: Provides company information, industry profiles, laws and regulations and other information for doing business in Canada. Source: Industry Canada.
Thomas Register: The entire 30 volume database of the acclaimed Thomas Register of American Manufacturers is available here. It covers products and services from 155,000 US and Canadian companies. Online catalogs for companies are included. Requires free registration. Source: Thomas Register.
TradePort: Provides import and export data by commodity or country, as well as demographic, background notes, economic trends, foreign trade barriers and market research reports by country. Information on industry, big emerging markets, and global trade outlook are also provided. Source: © Bay Area Economic Forum & Los Angeles Area Chamber of Commerce.
VIBES: Virtual International Business and Economic Sources: Provides links to sources of information (including full-text files, statistical tables, and graphs) on topics related to international business. Source: Jeanie M. Welch, University of North Carolina, Charlotte.
Wall Street Research Net: In addition to basic company information (SEC filings, stock quotes, company home pages), WSRN also provides links to federal regulations, industrial outlook data, and economic indicators. Requires free registration. Source: Wall Street Research Net © Copyright 1995-97.
WebEc: WWW Resources in Economics: WebEc is an effort to categorize free information in economics on the WWW. Source: Copyright © 1994-1999 Lauri Saarin, Center for Innovative Education at the Helsinki School of Economics and Business Administration.
World Bank - Countries and Regions: World Bank provides a wide range of social and economic data, as well as news and developments of countries. Source: World Bank.
Worldwide Network of Chambers of Commerce: provides links to chambers of commerce worldwide, and trade resources covering customs, tariffs, economics, etc. Source: International Bureau of Chamber of Commerce.