University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point University Library
University Library, UW-Stevens Point
Library Home | About Us | Hours | Directory | Library News | Visitors & Maps | Site Index | Help


Chemistry

We recommend that you also search the Library Catalog for Chemistry.  In addition to the Web sites listed on this page, you will find materials that have been carefully selected to address the needs of our students and faculty.  Click on the topic links above to auto search the catalog for Chemistry.

BioTech: This excellent site is a hybrid biology/chemistry educational resource and research tool on the World Wide Web.  Source: Indiana University.

Chemical Industry Archives: (.pdf)  Includes over 37,000 pages of internal documents, including a selection of some egregious examples of companies hiding or denying known health risks of their products.  There are also features on industry secrecy, regulation, money, and politics, as well as right-to-know efforts and what people can do to help protect themselves.   Source: Environmental Working Group.

Cheminfo:  Links to chemistry information resources.   Source:  Indiana University.

ExToxNet:  This resource provides various types of pesticide toxicology and environmental chemistry information. The database of pesticide profiles includes trade name(s), regulatory status, chemical class, formulation, toxicological effects, ecological effects (on birds, aquatic organisms, etc.), environmental fate, physical properties, exposure guidelines, basic manufacturer, and references. Source: A cooperative effort of University of California-Davis, Oregon State University, Michigan State University, Cornell University, and the University of Idaho.

Glossary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology:  Contains 3000+ definitions. Source: David Glick, Hebrew University of Jerusalem.

Household Products Database: This database links over 4,000 consumer brands to health effects from Material Safety Data Sheets. Source: National Institutes of Health.

Human Genome Resources:    Provides background information on the project, to specific sequences for each human chromosome (click on the desired chromosome), to Genome Maps of other organisms (from Scout Report, 3/26/99).  Source: National Center for Biotechnology Information.

109-Visual Interpretation of the Table of Elements:  Interpretation of the periodic table.   Source: Chemsoc, the Chemical Societies Network.

© 2004 University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point University Library
900 Reserve Street | Stevens Point, WI 54481
715·346·3038 (administration) | 715·346·2540 (circulation) | 715·346·2836 (reference)

This page last modified: Friday, December 21, 2007