Citation Guides and Writer's Resources
|
| We also recommend that you consult the Virtual Reference Desk's Copyright Guide and Plagiarism Resources. |
APA Style: Based on the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association [ Ref BR76.7.P83 2001 ]. Includes examples. Source: UWSP University Library.
Brief Guide to Citing Government Publications: This guide provides examples of the most common examples of government document citations based on the Chicago/Turabian standard bibliographic style. Source: Government Publications Department, Regional Depository Library, The University of Memphis.
CBE (Council of Biology Editors) Style: This site offers guidelines reproduced electronically from the 1994 CBE Manual for Authors, Editors, and Publishers. Source: Bedford/St. Martins.
Chicago Style: Guidelines from the 14th edition of The Chicago Manual of Style. Source: Bedford/St. Martins.
Citing Sources, Guide to Library Research: Primarily a resource for how to cite sources using APA, Chicago Style, MLA, and Turabian, this site also links to information on chosing a topic, refining it, and evaluating source materials. Source: Duke University.
Columbia Guide to Online Style: This source presents a guide to locating, translating, and using the elements of citation for both a humanities style (i.e., MLA and Chicago) and a scientific style (APA and CBE) for electronically-accessed sources. Source: Janice R. Walker and Todd Taylor, Columbia UP, 2000.
Electronic Style: A site containing examples of citations to electronic sources including the Internet based on MLA, APA, NLM, and the Chicago Style. Source: George Hoemann, University of Tennessee-Knoxville, 1998.
EndNote Citation Software: Click here for instructions to install EndNote (UWSP users only).
Grammar Handbook: Help with punctuation and common usage problems. Source: University of Illinois-Champaign.
Guide to Grammar and Writing: Easily understood information on English grammar, usage and writing. Source: Charles Darling, Professor of English/Humanities at Capital Community-Technical College (Hartford, Connecticut).
Internet Citation Guides: Citing Electronic Sources in Research Papers and Bibliographies: An excellent guide to general and specific style guides, such as MLA and APA, and subject area guides to citing history, humanities, science, and government resources in research papers. Source: Susan Barribeau, University of Wisconsin - Madison, Memorial Library, 2000.
Karla's Guide to Citation Style Guides: Links to lots of style guides for electronic citation including APA, Chicago, MLA, Turabian, and CBE. Source: Karla Tonella, University of Iowa, 2000.
KnightCite: An automatic citation generator which will help you produce citations for books, articles, and web sites. Simply plug in the info, and it will automatically create a citation in APA, MLA, or Chicago style. Source: Calvin College Teaching and Learning Digital Studio.
MLA Style: Based on the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers [ Ref PE1478.M57 1999 ]. Includes examples. Source: UWSP University Library.
MLA Style: Click on the link to MLA Style and go to the Frequently Asked Questions. The guidelines are the only ones available on the Internet that are authorized by the MLA (Modern Language Association of America). Source: MLA.
Online Resources for Documenting Electronic Sources: This site contains additional links to citations in different disciplines, links to other resources about citing Internet resources, and overviews of different styles, especially APA and MLA. The Online Writing Lab also provides general, extensive APA and MLA guides. Source: Purdue University Online Writing Lab (OWL).
Web Style Guide: The definitive guide to web pages, includes interface design, site design, page design, typography, editorial style, graphics and multimedia. Originally from the Yale University Center for Advanced Instructional Media, the second edition of the guide is now available in book and Web form. Source: Copyright Patrick J. Lynch and Sarah Horton.