University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point University Library
University Library, UW-Stevens Point
Library Home | About Us | Hours | Directory | Library News | Visitors & Maps | Site Index | Help


Communication

We recommend that you also search the Library Catalog for Communication. In addition to the Web sites listed on this page, you will find materials that have been carefully selected to address the needs of our students and faculty.  Click on the link above to auto search the catalog for Communication.

19th Century Advertising History: Highlights some of the many creative and inventive advertisements that were prominently displayed in the Harper's Weekly during the 19th and early 20th centuries. Source: HarpWeek.

Ad*Access:  Provides access to over 7000 advertisements printed in U.S. newspapers and magazines from 1911-1955.  Source:  Duke University.

ACA's communications studies center: Communication-related hyperlinks organized by subfields within the discipline. Source: American Communication Assn.

American Radio Works [RealOne Player]: Radio Works' primary themes include public affairs documentaries on major social and economic issues, investigative reporting, and the Living History series, which seeks to document the 20th century American experience "through the lives of those who witnessed it." Source: Minnesota Public Radio.

American Rhetoric [RealPlayer]: This archive of speeches and rhetoric is a comprehensive online speech bank that contains over 5000 speeches in a host of formats along with other recorded media events.  Source:  Michael E. Eidenmuller, asst. prof. of Communication, University of Texas at Tyler.

Center for Nonverbal Studies: Looks at nonverbal communication primarily from the viewpoints of anthropology, art, biology, evolution, and neuroscience.  Includes The Nonverbal Dictionary of Gestures, Signs, & Body Language Cues. Source: Center for Nonverbal Studies.

Columbia Journalism Review: Who Owns What:  This site documents which publications, and other ancillary businesses are owned and controlled by various media conglomerates around the United States. Some of the media conglomerates covered by this rather revealing site include such newer upstarts in the media business such as Clear Channel Communications (which owns hundreds of radio stations around the United States), and a few of the more venerable media moguls, including the Hearst Corporation and the Tribune Company. Along with listing the holdings of these various corporations, the site includes a number of articles from the Columbia Journalism Review that deal with media ownership. Source: Aaron Moore, Ithaca College.

Cyberjournalist.net: Find out about the "new news" being written and designed by cyberjournalists. Includes a "tips" page for writing news online. Source: Media Center, American Press Institute.

Emergence of advertising in America: 1850-1920:  EAA) presents over 9,000 images, with database information, relating to the early history of advertising in the United States. The materials, drawn from the Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special Collections Library at Duke University, provide an informative perspective on the early evolution of advertising in modern American business and culture. Source: Duke University.

Encyclopedia of Television: This resource includes more than 1,000 original essays from more than 250 contributors and examines specific programs and people, historic moments and trends, major policy disputes and such topics as violence, tabloid television and the quiz show scandal. It also includes histories of major television networks as well as broadcasting systems around the world and is complemented by resource materials, photos and bibliographical information. Source: Museum of Broadcast Communications.

FAIR: Fairness & Accuracy in Reporting:  Contains criticism of media performance. Source: Fairness & Accuracy in Reporting.

History of Communication Research Bibliography

The History of Communication Research Bibliography is a searchable and continually updated collection of references. The idea of this site is to bring together scholars working on the history of mass communication research, rhetoric, film and media studies, and the sociology of media through the sharing of scholarly work. Source: Muhlenberg College

International Media Issues: This site focuses on three main priorities: the Newseum (interactive museum of news planned for Washington D.C.), First Amendment freedoms, and newsroom diversity.  Source: Freedom Forum.

Investigative Reporters and Editors, Inc.: The opening page includes links to many sites of use to journalists. Source: Investigative Reporters and Editors, Inc.

Journalism Resources:  Resources compiled in support of academic journalism departments and professional journalists. Source: Karla Tonella, University of Iowa.

The Media and Communications Studies site: Links to academic resources relating to media and communications studies. Includes dozens of informative essays. Source: Media and Communications Studies, University of Wales, Aberystwyth.

NewsWatch: a consumer's guide to the news: Key media news and criticism sites updated daily or weekly. An important daily feature is Media Critic, a digest of news about the news media, including the latest insider controversies. Also, Spotlight features articles that analyze the news, pointing out errors and distortions. Source: BigEye.com.

Pew Research Center for the People & the Press:  Explores public attitudes about the credibility, social value and salience of the news media. Includes polling information. Source: Pew Research Center for the People & the Press.

STATS:  Provides analysis of current statistical and scientific disputes. Seeks to weed out bad data and research before it enters the media stream. Source: Statistical Assessment Service (STATS).

United States Early Radio History:  This fine site containing "articles and extracts about early radio and related technologies, concentrating on the United States in the period from 1897 to 1927." The site itself is divided into four large sections, ordered by chronological period, with the last section containing original pieces by Mr. White, covering such topics as "U.S. Callsign Policies: 1911-2003" and "Washington D.C.: AM Station History, 1920-2003." (Scout Report). Source: Thomas H. White.

VOANews.com:  Voice of America's broadcast service includes an abundance of news from abroad, plus programming in 53 languages. Source: Voice of America.

© 2004 University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point University Library
900 Reserve Street | Stevens Point, WI 54481
715·346·3038 (administration) | 715·346·2540 (circulation) | 715·346·2836 (reference)

This page last modified: Friday, December 21, 2007