University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point University Library
University Library, UW-Stevens Point
Library Home | About Us | Hours | Directory | Library News | Visitors & Maps | Site Index | Help


Diversity
Resources

General | Multicultural | African American |
Asian American | Hispanic American | Native American |
Disability | Sexual Orientation (LGBT)
 

We recommend that you also search the Library Catalog for Minorities, Ethnicity, and Multiculturalism. Or, search the Library Catalog for the issue category of diversity resources listed above.  In addition to the Web sites listed on this page, you will find materials that have been carefully selected to address the needs of our students and faculty.
 


General Resources

Diversity and Ethnic StudiesAn extensive, annotated list of websites compiled by Susan A. Vega Garcia that includes resources related to African Americans; Native Americans; U.S. Latinos; Asian Americans; Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender sexuality; as well as a few excellent general multicultural sitesSource:  Iowa State University.

Diversity Database: Moving towards community A comprehensive index of multicultural and diversity resources compiled by the University of Maryland.  It covers a wide range of diversity issues, including age, race, disability, religion, and sexual orientation.  Source:  University of Maryland

Diversity, Inc.a commercial web-zine described as a one-stop information source that includes frequently updated diversity news, commentary and how-to content organized to address workplace, supplier and marketplace diversity with industry specific resources for automotive, health/pharmaceutical, electric utility, food service/hospitality and financial service industries and links to training and consulting resources.  Source Cornell University

Diversity Resources for UW Libraries  Diversity resources for University of Wisconsin System libraries including recruitment, statistics, professional development opportunities and online discussion.  Source: University of Wisconsin System, CUWL Diversity Task force.

Diversity Resources ProjectDiversity links compiled by the Central Michigan University Library.  In addition to general sites, the guide includes African Americans, Area studies, Disabilities, Gay & Lesbian sites, Native Americans and Women's resources.  Source:  Central Michigan University

Diversity WebThis site is maintained by the Association of American Colleges and Universities. The issues discussed on this site include: curriculum transformation, faculty and staff Involvement, campus-community connections, and articles from the "Diversity Digest", a newsletter on the topic of education and diversity.  Source:  American Association of Colleges and Universities


Multicultural race and ethnicity resources

Minority Links:  Quick links to the latest U.S. Census "data on racial and ethnic populations in the United States." Features facts and statistics on Black/African American, Hispanic/Latino, Asian/Pacific Islander, and American Indian/Alaska Native populations in the United States. Source:  U.S. Census Bureau Public Information Office

Multicultural Pavilion: Resources and Dialogues for Equity in Education:  This searchable site contains articles, quotations and proverbs, song lyrics, historical speeches and documents, and other resources and links designed to facilitate teaching based on multicultural principles.  Source:  Librarian's Index to the Internet

New American Studies Web:  A searchable directory of web sites that includes resources in the fields of diaspora, race, ethnicity and gender.  Sponsored by the American Studies Association and maintained by Georgetown University. 


African American Sites

African American Odyssey: Part of the Library of Congress American Memory digital collections on American culture and history. This exhibit showcases the Library's African American collections. It includes important and rare books, government documents, manuscripts, maps, musical scores, plays, films, and recordings. Source:  Library of Congress

African American World: This comprehensive, searchable site from PBS includes sections on history, arts and culture, race and society, and biographical profiles. There is also a timeline of African American history from the 1400s on, with links to public television readings and programs, a page for children, African American history teaching modules, and pro and con opinions on social issues.  Source:  Librarian's Index to the Internet

Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture: This renowned and widely linked site supports the Schomburg Center, "a national research library devoted to collecting, preserving and providing access to resources documenting the experiences of peoples of African descent throughout the world." This site includes The Digital Schomburg and Schomburg Online Exhibitions. Source:  New York Public Library


Asian American Sites

Asian-NationA searchable, well designed, information source on the historical, political, social, economic, and cultural elements that make up today's Asian American community.   The author, a Vietnamese American sociologist, also provides discussion boards, many links, a section with history and photographs of Viet Nam, as well as a comprehensive, useful site index.  Source: C.N. Lee, University of Massachusetts.

HmongNet (WWW Virtual Library)The WWW Hmong Homepage serves as a gathering place for references to Internet resources and is aimed at anyone seeking more information about the Hmong people. It provides not only basic background and historical information about Hmong people, but also extensive references to on-going research projects, current events, and issues pertaining to Hmong history, resettlement, and repatriation. Source:  WWW Virtual Library

Hmong Studies Internet Resource CenterThis website is a source of comprehensive information about studies of Hmong history, culture, and adaptation in diasporic communities around the world. The site also includes detailed Hmong, Lao, Cambodian, and Vietnamese census data from the U.S. Census as well as bibliographies and related internet links.  Source:  Librarian's Index to the Internet.

Portal to Asian Internet Resources This site "offers scholars, students and the interested public more than six thousand professionally selected, cataloged and annotated online resources" primarily for research and study of modern East, Central, South, and Southeast Asia.  The collection covers a broad range of disciplines such as business and economics, education, political science, and sociology and topics such as banking and finance, demography and population, environment, gender, health, industry and trade, and politics, government, and international relations. It is browsable by country, or searchable. Source:  A cooperative project of The Ohio State University Libraries, the University of Minnesota Libraries, and the University of Wisconsin-Madison Libraries.


Hispanic American Sites

Andanzas al Web LatinoAnnotated, extensive list of websites, primarily related to Mexican Americans compiled by Molly Molloy at the University of New Mexico.  In addition to listing portal gateway sites this list also includes sites related to Hispanic art, business, politics, culture and links to Hispanic organizations.  Source:  New Mexico State University

Hispanic Onlinean English language Hispanic portal site that includes links to the periodicals Hispanic Magazine and Hispanic Trends.  Extensive coverage of current news, arts & entertainment, business and a career center.  Source:  Iowa State University U.S. Latino sites

Pew Hispanic Center:  The Pew Hispanic Center's mission is to improve understanding of the diverse Hispanic population in the United States and to chronicle Latinos' growing impact on the nation.  The Center's research is focused on the demography, economics, education and identity issues related to the Hispanic American population. Source:  Pew Research Center


Native American Sites

Code TalkA federal inter-agency website designed to deliver information from government agencies to the Native American community. Topics of interest include health issues and housing, community development, agriculture, environment, education and other children's issues. The site also includes many links of interest to Native Americans.  Source:  U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development, Office of Native American programs. 

Indianz.com: Provides news from a wide variety of sources about issues facing Native peoples. Up to the minute coverage of Bureau of Indian Affairs and tribal issues. Updated daily. Source: Noble Savage Media, and Ho-Chunk, Inc.

Native American Resources:  Extensive index of web resources on Native Americans from the WWW Virtual Library.  Source: Karen M. Strom.

Native American Sites One of the best sources for locating Web sites developed by individual American Indian nations and other native peoples, as well as native information on many topics. Includes useful lists of video sources and media production companies, and sections on language and the issue of "mascots." Source:   Lisa Mitten, formerly a bibliographer and librarian at the University of Pittsburgh

Wisconsin Native American TribesLinks to the websites for the Tribes in Wisconsin, as well as other resources related to Native American treaty rights, Inter-tribal council information and a calendar. Source:  Wisconsin.gov


Disability Resources

Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA)a federal government site that provides detailed information and technical assistance on all aspects of the ADA.  Source:  U.S. Department of Justice

Cornucopia of Disability Information: A community resource for consumers and professionals that provides disability information in a wide variety of areas. It consists of both an Internet Directory of Disability Information and a repository of electronic disability documents, dating back to the early 1990s. Includes access to the Digest of Data on Persons with Disabilities.  Source:  University of Buffalo, School of Public Health and Health Professions

Disability Resources on the Internet:  An extensive, searchable directory of online sites and services from an organization established to promote and improve awareness, availability and accessibility of information that can help people with disabilities live, learn, love, work and play independently. Source: Disability Resources Monthly (DRM)

DisabilityInfo.gov:  Through the use of subject tabs, this portal site provides comprehensive access to resources, services, and information available throughout the federal government for people with disabilities including civil rights, education, employment, housing, health, income support, technology, transportation, and community life. Source: Presidential Task Force on Employment of Adults with Disabilities

National Center for the Dissemination of Disability Research (NCDDR)A government sponsored site that is searchable and has a browsable topic index.  It is designed to provide a variety of high-level research and knowledge dissemination projects that are making significant contributions in advancing knowledge related to disability issues for people with disabilities and their families, practitioners engaged in various types of disability service delivery, scientists and researchers, policymakers, journalists, healthcare providers, employers, and many others. Source:  The National Institute on Disability and Rehabilitation Research (NIDRR)

National Rehabilitation Information Center (NARIC)NARIC's Instant Disability Information Center provides access to more than 70,000 resources from the NARIC knowledgebase, the REHABDATA database of disability and rehabilitation abstracts, and the NIDRR program directory of research projects.   Source:  The National Institute on Disability and Rehabilitation Research (NIDRR)


Sexual Orientation Resources (LGBT)

Gay and Lesbian Studies:  Selected Internet Sites:  An annotated list of Internet resources in the interdisciplinary field of Gay and Lesbian Studies.  Source:  New York Public Library

glbtqAn on-line encyclopedia of gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender, & queer culture edited by two emeritus professors from the University of Michigan. Excellent resource for information about innumerable aspects of LGBT culture. Allows individual keyword searches or leads users through one of a number of thematic sections (e.g. literature or arts), each of which has an alphabetical subject guide.  Source:  University of Maryland Library

LibraryQ "The Library Worker's Guide to Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Resources."  It is a repository of and links to resources that will help library workers improve library services and collections for LGBT users.  Many bibliographies and booklists are included, as are online reference materials, a few periodicals lists, lists of bookstores, video distributors, literary award lists, children's and young adult resource materials, and online exhibits.  Source:  Ellen Greenblatt, Auraria Library, Denver, CO.

Same Sex MarriageA selective bibliography of legal literature on the topic of same sex marriage.  Compiled by Law Librarian Paul Axel-Lute.  Source:  Rutgers School of Law Library

Sexual Orientation Specific Resources:  an extensive, annotated list of websites on a variety of topics related to sexual orientation and gay, lesbian and bisexual studies.  Source:  University of Maryland Diversity Database

© 2004 University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point University Library
900 Reserve Street | Stevens Point, WI 54481
715·346·3038 (administration) | 715·346·2540 (circulation) | 715·346·2836 (reference)

This page last modified: Friday, December 21, 2007