University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point University Library
University Library, UW-Stevens Point
Library Home | About Us | Hours | Directory | Library News | Visitors & Maps | Site Index | Help


Electronic Books

Alex: A Catalog of Electronic Texts on the Internet: The Alex Catalogue of Electronic Texts is a collection of public domain documents from American and English literature as well as Western philosophy.  Source: Eric Lease Morgan, North Carolina State University Library.

Core Historical Literature of Agriculture: "A core electronic collection of agricultural texts published between the early 19th century and the middle to late 20th century."  As of Nov. 2000, the site holds 825 monographs.  Source: Cornell University.

Electronic Texts on the Internet: Columbia University Libraries' guide to major online text collections arranged by language and subject. Includes lists of other online Electronic text centers and organizations. Source: Columbia University Libraries Electronic Text Service.

Internet Classics Archive (Greek and Roman Texts): The Internet Classics Archive is a searchable collection of almost 400 classical Greek and Roman texts (in English translation) complete with user-provided commentary. Source: ©1995-96 by Daniel C. Stevenson (Massachusetts Institute of Technology).

Making of America in Books and Periodicals: This digital collection contains 23 popular magazines and over 1500 books published in the 19th century. Subject areas include titles from education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. Also included are volumes of American poetry. Source: Library of Congress.

NetLibrary:  NetLibrary is a collection of approximately 5,000 electronic books that are available for checkout to the UWSP community. This service is available for UWSP students, faculty, and staff only.

On-line Books Page: An index of thousands of on-line books on the Internet.  Source: ©1993- 2000 John Mark Ockerbloom.

Project Bartleby The Bartleby Library online publishes the classics of literature, nonfiction, and reference. Source: Steven van Leeuwen, Editor-in-Chief (Columbia University).

Project Gutenberg: The purpose of Project Gutenberg is to put into electronic format those English language texts that are in the public domain. So far nearly 10,000 titles have been put into "plain vanilla ASCII text."  Source: Michael S. Hart, Project Gutenberg, National Clearinghouse for Machine Readable Texts.

University of Virginia Electronic Text Library: Online archive of thousands of electronic texts. Many (but not all) are publicly accessible. They include the Modern English Collection (AD 1500-present): 1,144 titles including 2,595 manuscript and book illustrations, the Middle English Collection, Special Collections electronic texts, Documentary Sources Database (American Multiculturalism Series): Unit One, Documenting the African American Experience, and British Poetry 1780-1910. Source: Electronic Text Center at the University of Virginia.

 
© 2004 University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point University Library
900 Reserve Street | Stevens Point, WI 54481
715·346·3038 (administration) | 715·346·2540 (circulation) | 715·346·2836 (reference)

This page last modified: Friday, December 21, 2007