University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point University Library
University Library, UW-Stevens Point
Library Home | About Us | Hours | Directory | Library News | Visitors & Maps | Site Index | Help


Education

We recommend that you also search the Library Catalog for Education. In addition to the Web sites listed on this page, you will find materials that have been carefully selected to address the needs of our students and faculty.  Click on the link above to auto search the catalog for Education.
 

AskERIC: Accesses over 850,000 citations and abstracts to journal articles and documents in education. Includes information on lesson plans, curriculum guides, research in education, conference papers. The UWSP Library has most of the ERIC documents in full text from 1984 to the present on microfiche. To begin a search, click on the "Search" button under the six icons. Source: ERIC Clearinghouse on Information & Technology, Syracuse University.

Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of TeachingThe Foundation is a major national and international center for research and policy studies about teaching. Its mission is to address the hardest problems faced in teaching in public schools, colleges and universities—that is, how to succeed in the classroom, how best to achieve lasting student learning, and how to assess the impact of teaching on students. Source:  Carnegie Foundation.

Curriculum Resource Center:  The Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction's (DPI) and Wisconsin's Information Network for Successful Schools (WINSS) Curriculum Resource Center.  Access to hundreds of high-quality lesson plans, classroom activities, and more, provided by leading professional education organizations, and all aligned to Wisconsin's Model Academic Standards. Source: North Central Regional Educational Laboratory, the Office of the Governor, and the Department of Public Instruction.

Department of Education: Includes information on DOE secretary's initiatives--ex. Goals 2000; programs and services; publications; guides for teachers, researchers, and students; money matters--ex. financial assistance; people & offices. Source: U.S. Dept. of Education.

EdSiteMent:  Contains links to resources for teaching in the humanities.  Source:  National Endowment for the Arts.

The Education Index:  Gateway to colleges and K-12 schools in the U.S.

Federal Resources for Educational Excellence (FREE):  Provides access to hundreds of government resources in ten subject fields that can be used as teaching tools or resources.  Source:  US Dept. of Education.

Gateway to Educational Materials--NLE, US Department of Education This one stop educational resource provides information, lesson plans, and activities pertaining to all K-12 subjects.  Source: National Library of Education.

National Center for Education Statistics (NCES): The primary federal agency responsible for the collection, analysis and the reporting of data related to education in the United States. This site provides statistics and other data for elementary/secondary, postsecondary, and international education. Source: U.S. Dept. of Education.

Portals to K-12 Online Resources:  This site lists websites that provide access to a wide variety of K-12 related resources, including lesson plans, ideas for classroom activities and special projects as well as subject-specific information that may be used in support of the curriculum.  Source: Axel Schmetzke, Library, University of Wisconsin - Stevens Point.

PRIMO:  Peer Reviewed Instruction Materials Online:  This project "is a means to promote and share peer-reviewed instructional materials created by librarians to teach people about discovering, accessing and evaluating information in networked environments." The site features a searchable database of annotated links to instructional modules. Source: Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL) Instruction Section.

Thinkfinity: Thinkfinity is the Verizon Foundation's digital learning platform designed to improve educational and literacy achievement. Includes, among others, over 3,600 lesson plans which are developed to, support, and are aligned to national education standards.

Wisconsin's Model Academic Standards: Wisconsin's academic standards specify what students should know and be able to do, what they might be asked to do to give evidence of standards, and how well they must perform. They include content, performance, and proficiency standards.  Source: State of Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction.

 
© 2004 University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point University Library
900 Reserve Street | Stevens Point, WI 54481
715·346·3038 (administration) | 715·346·2540 (circulation) | 715·346·2836 (reference)

This page last modified: Wednesday, May 14, 2008