University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point University Library
University Library, UW-Stevens Point
Library Home | About Us | Hours | Directory | Library News | Visitors & Maps | Site Index | Help


Elections

We recommend that you also search the Library Catalog for Elections. In addition to the Web sites listed on this page, you will find materials that have been carefully selected to address the needs of our students and faculty.  Click on the link above to auto search the catalog for Elections.  See also Political Science & Politics.
 

CQ Politics:  A politics and election site that offers news, analysis, political blogs ad a fact checker.    Source: Congressional Quarterly (CQ).

DocutickerGovernment and policy documents concerning the 2008 U.S. presidential election. A resource edited by librarians Gary Price and Shirl Kennedy, offering "a hand-picked selection of resources, reports and publications from government agencies, NGOs, think tanks and other public interest organizations."  Source:

Election ResourcesThis free resource provides links to external Web sites containing publicly available election data and other electoral information for over 120 countries. Source:  Manuel Alvarez Rivera

FactCheck.org:  This nonpartisan, nonprofit, "consumer advocate" site for voters aims to reduce the level of deception and confusion in U.S. politics. FactCheck.org monitors the factual accuracy of what is said by major U.S. political players in the form of TV ads, debates, speeches, interviews, and news releases. The goal is to apply the best practices of both journalism and scholarship, and to increase public knowledge and understanding. Source: Annenberg Public Policy Center.

League of Women Voters: Includes lots of voter information, including "How did your members of Congress vote last session." Source: League of Women Voters.

Open Secrets.org: The online source for money in politics data. Source: Center for Responsive Politics.

Politics1: Presidency 2008:  A non-partisan site, published by Ron Gunzburger, with links to all the Presidential, Gubernatorial, U.S. Senate & Congressional candidates and political parties," including third parties and third party candidates. Issue links reflect contrasting positions on taxes, guns, abortion, gay rights, affirmative action, the environment, free speech, immigration, and more. Source:  Librarian's Internet Index.

Polling Report.com:  "Publishes the results of the latest surveys (by respected polling organizations like Gallup, Harris, Yankelovich, and Princeton Survey Research Associates) on health care, taxation, welfare, education, environmental policy, and the other major issues of the day.  Source: Polling Report, Inc.

Stevens Point Voting Information:This site provides general voting information: how to register, where to vote (includes maps), and election results by district. Source: City Clerk's Office, Stevens Point, WI.

U.S. Presidential Elections:  Provides detailed information on elections from 1789-current.  Includes results by state and by year.  Primaries are also covered.  Source: David Leip.

Vote Smart:  This "non-partisan, non-profit effort researches, tracks and provides to the public independent factual information on thousands of candidates and elected officials.  It includes voting records, campaign issue positions, performance evaluations by special interests, campaign contributions, backgrounds, and previous experience."  Source: ©1992-1998 Project Vote Smart.

Voter Turnout from 1945-to date:  Covers voting trends internationally or in specific countries or regions. Source: International Institute for Democracy and Electoral Assistance (IDEA).

WisconsinVote:  Make an informed decision this election year by connecting to Wisconsin election information/news.  Source: Wisconsin Public Television, University of Wisconsin-Extension and Wisconsin Public Radio.

WisPolitics.com: An online political news service , this site includes everything you want to know about Wisconsin politics. Source: WisPolitics.com.

 
© 2004 University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point University Library
900 Reserve Street | Stevens Point, WI 54481
715·346·3038 (administration) | 715·346·2540 (circulation) | 715·346·2836 (reference)

This page last modified: Thursday, February 07, 2008