University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point University Library
University Library, UW-Stevens Point
Library Home | About Us | Hours | Directory | Library News | Visitors & Maps | Site Index | Help


Food & Nutrition

We recommend that you also search the Library Catalog for Food and Nutrition.  In addition to the Web sites listed on this page, you will find materials that have been carefully selected to address the needs of our students and faculty. 

Epicurious: Contains thousands of recipes, cooking tips, holiday features, cocktails, wine advice, travel suggestions, and more. Many recipes feature helpful (and mouth-watering) photographs. Though somewhat commercialized, the quality of the recipes--several notches above the average Web collection--makes Epicurious a first stop for many cooks. Source:  Librarians' Internet Index.

Feeding America: This searchable collection features 76 of "the most influential and important American cookbooks from the late 18th to early 20th century" from the Michigan State University Library's collection of more than 7,000 historical cookbooks. In addition, it offers biographies of the cookbooks' authors, a glossary of terms found in the books, and a richly annotated gallery of more than 100 period cooking implements, which come from the collection of the Michigan State University Museum. Source: Choice Reviews.

Food and Drug Administration: Learn about safety recalls on drugs, cosmetics, and foods.  Source: U. S. Food and Drug Administration.

Food and Nutrition Information Center: This official government Web site provides information from the  U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA). Includes detailed information on food safety, food labeling and a link to the MyPyramid web site, a personalized food guide based on your age, sex, and activity level; and related tips and resources for consumers, educators, and professionals. Source:  USDA

KidsNutrition.org Official website for the federally funded Children's Nutrition Research Center (CNRC), which conducts research on "the role of maternal, infant and child nutrition in optimal health, development, and growth." The site provides an overview of research, and offers hundreds of articles covering nutrition for children from infancy through adolescence, as well as interactive nutrition calculators, posters, and  links to related sites. Source:  USDA/ARS Children's Nutrition Research Center at Baylor College of Medicine.

Nutrition Country Profiles: Summaries describing the food and nutrition situation in individual countries, with background statistics on food-related factors such as agricultural production, and selected economic and demographic indicators." Summary reports are accompanied by standardized data in graphs, tables, and maps. Provides profiles for over 50 countries with emphasis on Latin America and the Caribbean. Some material only available in Spanish. Source: Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO) of the United Nations.

Nutrition Source: information on current issues in nutrition from the Nutrition Department of the Harvard School of Public Health.  Their aim is to provide timely information on diet and nutrition for clinicians, allied health professionals and the general public.  The site includes substantive information on many of the nutrition topics in the general news media.  Source:  Harvard School of Public Health.

© 2004 University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point University Library
900 Reserve Street | Stevens Point, WI 54481
715·346·3038 (administration) | 715·346·2540 (circulation) | 715·346·2836 (reference)

This page last modified: Friday, December 21, 2007