University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point University Library
University Library, UW-Stevens Point
Library Home | About Us | Hours | Directory | Library News | Visitors & Maps | Site Index | Help


Forestry & Soils

We recommend that you also search the Library Catalog for Forestry and Soils. In addition to the Web sites listed on this page, you will find materials that have been carefully selected to address the needs of our students and faculty.  Click on the link above to auto search the catalog for Forestry and Soils.  See also Natural Resources.
 

Dendrome:  Forest Tree Genome Database:  Acts as "a central electronic resource for the study of forest tree genomes."  Source: Institute of Forest Genetics (USDA Forest Service).

FAO Forestry: An international resource from the Forestry Department of the United Nations Food and Agriculture Organization.  The site includes a country section with worldwide forestry information and access to the international quarterly, Unasylva.  It also includes information on forest management, forest products and services, people and forests, sector analysis, interdisciplinary forestry issues, and assessment and monitoring. Source:  UN Food and Agriculture Organization

Forestry AgNICa searchable gateway to online forestry information with annotations.  Source:  University of Minnesota.

Forest History Society:  The Forest History Society (FHS) "links the past to the future by identifying, collecting, preserving, interpreting, and disseminating information on the history of interactions between people, forests, and their related resources..." Founded in 1946, FHS offers extensive resources for anyone interested in the history of forests. This website contains links to FHS archives, research and publications, U.S.Forest Service history, searchable databases, and more.  Source: Duke University.

Forest Products Laboratory: this government site features documents on wood and wood use from the nation's leading wood research institute in Madison, Wisconsin.  Source:  US Dept of Agriculture.

Forest Service DatabaseThis online catalog for the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Forest Service Library Network is a useful research tool for identifying books and documents related to forestry and natural resources. Also includes tens of thousands of "records and links to Forest Service Research publications dating back to 1904" and thousands of full-text documents. Source: Librarian's Index to the Internet & USDA.

Forestry Images:  Almost 4,500 color .jpeg images of forest plants, insects, silvicultural practices, invasive organisms, and general natural scenes. Each image page includes a catalog number, Latin and vernacular nomenclature, and photographer's name. Images can be viewed and downloaded in a variety of sizes. Source: University of Georgia and USDA Forest Service.

Global Forestry Links:  Links to forestry sites courtesy of the University of Florida.  Source: University of Florida, Gainesville.

International Soil Reference and Information Centre (ISRIC):  an independent, global foundation that supports research and training on soils, with an emphasis on developing nations.  Includes data and maps from the World Data Centre for Soils.  Source:  ISRIC.

National Forest Websites:  The official Website of the U.S. Forest Service.  Search for information about National Forest Lands and National Grasslands across the country, by name or by state..  Source: U. S. Forest Service.  

Online Bibliography of Northern Hardwood Literature:  A gateway that provides access to a compilation of Northern Hardwood Literature. Searches can be done either by author or keywords. The site also provides links to the Michigan DNR, the Wisconsin DNR, Champion International Corporation, and Consolidated Papers, Inc.  Source: Michigan Technological University.

Soil Science Society of America (SSSA):  This site acquires and disseminates information about soils in relation to crop production, environmental quality, ecosystem sustainability, bioremediation, waste management and recycling, and wise land use  Source: SSSA Madison, WI.

Soils:  this site provides information on soil surveys, soil use, management, classification, research and research procedures.  Information is arranged topically and by state.  The site also includes lesson plans.  Source:  USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service.

© 2004 University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point University Library
900 Reserve Street | Stevens Point, WI 54481
715·346·3038 (administration) | 715·346·2540 (circulation) | 715·346·2836 (reference)

This page last modified: Thursday, September 04, 2008