University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point University Library
University Library, UW-Stevens Point
Library Home | About Us | Hours | Directory | Library News | Visitors & Maps | Site Index | Help

E-Mail Lists & Discussion Forums

Directory of Scholarly and Professional E-Conferences:  This directory contains descriptions of electronic conferences (e-conferences) on topics of interest to scholars and professionals. The directory lists conferences by subject, title, and is searchable by keywords.  Source: © Diane K. Kovacs.

Google Groups:  Formerly DejaNews, or Deja.com, visitors can search and engage in discussions on hundreds of topics in Usenet discussion forums.  The past 20 years of Usenet archives is integrated, with access to more than 700 million messages dating back to 1981. Source: Google, Inc.

L-Soft List search: Search a list database of thousands of forums. Detailed technical and user information is provided for each list, but little information as to the content of the forum beyond the brief subject entry and description. Includes links to web archives.   Source: L-Soft international, Inc.

tile.net/lists: tile.net/lists is a reference to all the LISTSERV discussion groups on the Internet. tile.net/lists is searchable, and also includes lists arranged alphabetically by description, name, subject, host country, and sponsoring organization. Source: ©Walter Shelby Group Ltd.

Topica: Provider of newsletters and mailing lists. The searchable directory to its in-house forums is organized by topics.  Discussion threads are archived and are available on the web. Many of the mailing lists are low in membership and low in traffic. Topica's makes it easy for readers to control their subscription options (subscribe, unsubscribe, vacation hold), and even start newsletters of their own!  Source: ©2001 Topica Inc.

Usenet.  See Google Groups above.

Yahoo! Groups:  Provider of email forums. The searchable directory to its in-house forums is organized by topics. Discussion threads are archived and available on the web. Offers many customizable features, including a "no e-mail" option, which, when selected, makes Yahoo! Groups similar to Google's (news) groups service. (To read contributions, members visit the Yahoo! Groups web site.)  Source: Yahoo.com.

© 2004 University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point University Library
900 Reserve Street | Stevens Point, WI 54481
715·346·3038 (administration) | 715·346·2540 (circulation) | 715·346·2836 (reference)

This page last modified: Friday, December 21, 2007