|
| We recommend that you also search the Library Catalog for Genealogy. In addition to the Web sites listed on this page, you will find materials that have been carefully selected to address the needs of our students and faculty. Click on the link above to auto search the catalog for Geneaology. |
American Family Immigration History Center: A searchable database that contains records on the 22 million passengers and ship crew members who passed through Ellis Island between 1892 and 1924. Source: Statue of Liberty - Ellis Island Foundation, Inc.
Ancestry Search: The largest collection of freely searchable genealogy information on the Web. Searches can be performed in various databases including the Social Security Death Index (vital information for 51 million Americans), American Marriage Records (75,000 marriages before 1800), and Early American Immigration Library (names nearly 1,000 who immigrated before 1674). Source: © 1996, Ancestry Inc.
Central Wisconsin History and Genealogy: Central Wisconsin on the Web's guide to local history and genealogy in Portage, Marathon, Waupaca, and Wood counties. Source: UWSP University Library.
Cyndi's List of Genealogy Sites on the Internet: The best place to start your Internet search, Cyndi's List is the most comprehensive genealogy site on the Web. Source: © 1996-2001 by Cyndi Howells.
FamilySearch: The site, put up by the Mormon church, contains links to 400 million names of people who lived dated back to 1500 -- many with family pedigree charts. The site also has what amounts to a card catalog to the church's Family History Library -- everything from immigrant ship passenger lists to homestead records to births and deaths. To verify their online research, users can look at microfilm of the original records at the library here or by ordering a copy at one of the church's 3,200 Family History Centers worldwide. Source: The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.
Find a Grave: Information on the final resting places for thousands of well-known people, and millions of the not so well-known. Source: Find-A-Grave, Inc.
Genealogy Today: For the beginning researcher, or the more advanced genealogist, Genealogy Today.com offers numerous sites dealing with researching family history, both online and in archives. Source: Genealogy Today.
PolishRoots: the Polish Genealogy Source: Searchable directory of "materials of interest to those researching their Polish ancestry." Although the site focuses on genealogical resources (for example, surname search, online forum, databases), it will be of interest to anyone looking for information about Polish history, customs, geography, and heraldry. Includes links to information in both English and Polish. Source: Polish Roots, Inc.
Portage County (Wisconsin) Cemetery Locator: The Cemetery Locator lists over 43,000 names located in 67 Portage County cemeteries. The database is an update and continuation of Wayne Allen and Alta Guyant's Index of the Cemeteries of Portage County. The database was completed in mid-November of 1999. Source: UWSP University Archives, Portage County Public Library, and the Stevens Point Area Genealogical Society.
Portage
County (Wisconsin) GenWeb Project:
Your Gateway to Portage County Queries, Biographies, Obituaries, Deeds,
Pensions, Wills, & Bibles. Source: Marcia A. Kuehl,
the Wisconsin GenWeb Project.
Portage County (Wisconsin) Census Index (Index to the 1850, 1860, 1870, 1880, and 1900 U.S. Censuses): Search by name, township, and year. Source: UWSP University Archives.
Stevens Point (Wisconsin) Area Genealogy Society: This site will provide you with local resources to assist you in searching your family tree in the greater Stevens Point area, Portage County and surrounding counties as well. Look for periodic updates to this site including announcements of upcoming events and additions of points of interest to Stevens Point Area Genealogy. Source: Stevens Point Area Genealogy Society.
Stevens
Point (Wisconsin) Area Obituary Index: The Stevens Point
Area Obituary Index currently indexes issues of the Stevens Point,
Wisconsin, Stevens Point Journal and Gazette from
1872-. Indexed entries include name and alternative name(s) of the
deceased, and the date(s) the obituary or funeral notice appeared in the
paper. Source: UWSP University Archives, Portage County Public
Library, and the Stevens Point Area Genealogical Society.
WIGLHR (Wisconsin Genealogy & Local History Roundtable ) Genealogy and Local History Sites: A list of Web sites of genealogy & local history interest in Wisconsin. Source: Wisconsin Genealogy & Local History Roundtable of the Wisconsin Library Association.
Wisconsin Historical Society: Genealogy Resources for Researchers: The Society possesses one of the largest genealogical collections in the country, over 4 million items. The collection is not limited to Wisconsin history and genealogy. Includes an excellent 10-step overview of how to conduct genealogical research and more thorough explanations of basic sources such as newspapers, cemetery records, family histories, etc. Web site visitors can also ask for searches for birth, marriage, death, or census records on-line. This service is offered for a fee; researchers can pay by credit card on the Web. Society members and Wisconsin residents pay a reduced rate. Source: Wisconsin Historical Society.