International
CIA World Factbook: Information about countries worldwide,
including literacy rates, land area, forms of government, and much more.
Source: Central Intelligence Agency.
Country Profiles: Provides a brief history, profile of
leaders, timeline of key events, and description of local media on countries
throughout the world. Features news stories, audio files, and
links to related sites. From the British Broadcasting Corporation (BBC).
Source: Librarians' Index to the Internet.
Europa: Provides information about the European Union and its institutions.
Source:
© European Communities, 1995 - 1998.
European Union (EU): a guide for Americans: This seven chapter
guide introduces the workings of the EU system as well as EU-US relations.
Source: European Commission.
FAO (Food & Agriculture
Organization of the U.N.): Covers agriculture, economics,
fisheries, forestry, natural resources and environment, and sustainable
development. It includes web sources, online documents, and databases.
Source: FAO.
FAS (Foreign
Agricultural Service): Provides online market reports, import/export
data on agricultural products, and links to various organizations dealing
with trade policy. Source: FAS, U.S. Dept. of Agriculture.
Freedom House: This
non-profit, non-partisan organization provides links to organizations and
publications regarding democracy and freedom around the world.
Source: Freedom House, Inc.
Her Majesty's Stationery Office
(HMSO): Included here are links to Acts of Parliament, Church of
England Measures and Statutory Instruments. Provides links to
the Cabinet Office, the Stationery Office Limited, and Parliament.
Source: Her Majesty's Stationery Office.
INCORE Internet Country Guides: Focuses on providing scholarly
information on ethnic conflicts in a few selected countries. (description
from Choice, 4/98). Source: Initiative on Conflict Resolution
and Ethnicity.
InfoNation:
Contains geographical, economic, demographic, and social indicators data for
all 185 UN members. Source: © 1997 United Nations Publications.
Nation Master: an
excellent resource for finding out any number of current details about just
about any country in the world. Nation Master has 335 statistical data sets,
ranging from library books, forested land, Internet users, and airports. For
easy reference, the main Web page features the most frequently requested
stats, such as televisions and military expenditures per capita. The site
also has links to national profiles, which include the available statistics
for each country, and images of the country's flag and a political map. The
site will be helpful for students looking for basic statistics on the
world's different countries. (Description courtesy of Scout Report
6/10/2003). Source: Copyright NationMaster.com 2003.
Online Intelligence Project:
Offers information on the status of and events in the world outside the
U.S., and is organized by broad international affairs categories (Resources,
News, Commerce, Security, References), or by region. Source:
© 1995 ICG.
(POPIN) United Nations
Population Information Network:
"Aims to coordinate population information activities at international,
regional and national levels." (Choice, Feb. 1999) Source:
Population Division, Dept. of Economic and Social Information and Policy
Analysis, United Nations.
Portals to
the World: Contains selective links providing authoritative,
in-depth information about the nations and other areas of the world.
Arranged by country or area with the links for each sorted into a wide range
of broad categories. The links were selected by Area Specialists and other
Library staff using Library of Congress selection criteria. Source:
Library of Congress.
The Stationery Office:
Official documents: The privatized Stationery Office has replaced
Her Majesty's Stationery Office (HMSO) as the official publisher of most
British government publications. Publications back to 1994 are
available by title, date, or department. Source: © The Stationery
Office Ltd 1997.
Statistics Canada:
Provides information on social and economic conditions in Canada and a
catalog of published information by the Canadian government. Source:
Statistics Canada.
Strategis:
Provides company information, industry profiles, laws and regulations and
other information for doing business in Canada. Source: Industry Canada.
United Nations: In
addition to being THE Web source for information about the UN
organization, this site contains UN documents, statistics, and other
research sources. Source: © United Nations 1997, 1998.
VIBES: Virtual International Business and Economic Sources: Provides
links to sources of information including full-text files, statistical
tables, and graphs on topics related to international business. Source:
Jeanie M. Welch, University of North Carolina, Charlotte.
World Bank:
The main focus of the World Bank is on helping the poorest people and
countries. The site provides links to publications of the World Bank
Group, covers the developing regions of the world, and various topics as
they relate to economic development in the areas of agriculture, education,
environment, gender, health, poverty, social development, etc.
Source: World Bank.
World Resources Institute:
Provides yearly world resources report, environmental data, and global
topics related to the environment. Source: World Resources
Institute. |