University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point University Library
University Library, UW-Stevens Point
Library Home | About Us | Hours | Directory | Library News | Visitors & Maps | Site Index | Help


Internet

See also Computers & Software.

All About The Internet: History of the Internet:  Authoritative list of links to the history of the Internet.  Source: © Internet Society.

Computer Museum History Center:  Includes A History of the Internet: 1962-1992, Microprocessor Evolution: 1971-1996 , and a Hall of Fellows with brief biographies of notable men and women associated with computers and the Internet. Includes images of artifacts, and a timeline.  The Museum has one of the largest collections of computing artifacts in the world, with over 3,500 artifacts, 3,000 films and videotapes, 5,000 photographs, and 3,500 linear feet of cataloged documentation and gigabytes of software. Source:  © Computer History Museum.

Glossary of Internet Terms: An excellent glossary of technical and user terms that you will encounter on the Internet. Source: © 1994-2000 Matisse Enzer.

Hobbes' Internet Timeline.  Source: © 1993-2002 by Robert H Zakon.

Internet Archive Wayback Machine: The Wayback Machine makes it possible to surf pages stored in the Internet Archive's web archive, from October 1996 to date. The Archive preserves Web artifacts in an Internet library for researchers, historians, and scholars. The Archive collaborates with institutions including the Library of Congress and the Smithsonian.  Source: The Internet Archive.

Vmyths.com:  Learn about computer virus myths, hoaxes, urban legends, hysteria, and the implications if you believe in them. You can also search a list of computer virus hoaxes & virus hysteria.  Source:  © Rhode Island Soft Systems, Inc.

 
© 2004 University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point University Library
900 Reserve Street | Stevens Point, WI 54481
715·346·3038 (administration) | 715·346·2540 (circulation) | 715·346·2836 (reference)

This page last modified: Friday, December 21, 2007