Maps & Cartography
The
American Geographical Society Library (AGS) Digital Map Collection:
Includes the most frequently requested maps from the holdings of
the AGS Library. The current selection ranges from early maps of Asia
and Australia to historical maps of American cities, states, and
national parks. Many rare, historical maps of Milwaukee and Wisconsin
are in the Collection. Source: University of
Wisconsin-Milwaukee
Cartography and Map Resources: A section of
Internet Resources for Geography and Geology, Michael Ritter's
award-winning list of geography/geology resources on the Internet.
Includes educational resources and mapping resources and archives.
Source: Keith Rice, UWSP Department of Geography and Geology.
David Rumsey
Collection: Includes 156 high resolution scans of maps and views
of Wisconsin dating from 1778-1889. They include 142 maps
and views from Snyder, Van Vechten & Co.’s Historical Atlas of
Wisconsin, 1878. This atlas includes detailed maps of each county
and most cities, plus lithographic views of farms, commercial buildings
and prominent citizens. Among other maps at the site are the 1866 and
1879 General Land Office maps of Wisconsin. Overall, the David Rumsey
Historical Map Collection has over 8,800 maps online. The collection
focuses on rare 18th and 19th century North and South America maps and
other cartographic materials. Historic maps of the World, Europe, Asia
and Africa are also represented. Collection categories include antique
atlas, globe, school geography, maritime chart, state, county, city,
pocket, wall, children's and manuscript maps. Source: ©
Cartography Associates.
EarthaMaps:
(formerly CyberRouter) Choose "Build a Route." Enter starting and
ending locations of your travel and find the quickest way to get to your
destination. Includes route maps and distance, mileage and time details.
Source: ©2001 DeLorme.
Geodata:
Serves
as a public gateway for improving access to geospatial information and
is a good "one stop" place for federal, state, and local geographic
data. Source: Intergovernmental
Board of Directors composed of state, local, tribal and Federal
representatives.
Geographic Names Information
System (GNIS): contains information about almost 2 million
physical and cultural geographic features in the United States. The
Federally recognized name of each feature described in the data base is
identified, and references are made to a feature's location by State,
county, and geographic coordinates. Source: U.S. Department of
the Interior, U.S. Geological Survey.
Historical Maps Online: Electronic images of maps charting the
last 400 years of historical development in Illinois and the Northwest
Territory. Source: University of Illinois Library and
University of Illinois Press.
HomeTownLocater Gazetteer: Provides easy access to Census
information and topographical features. Users can browse by physical and
cultural features of the United States, arranged by individual state.
From each state listing, users can learn about various physical and
cultural attributes within each county, such as hospitals, bays,
airports, oilfield, and post offices. After browsing a list of each type
of feature, users can elect to view an aerial photograph of the feature
and its environs as well. Census 2000 information can be browsed by
city, town, village, county, or zip code. Also, users can use the
My House feature to obtain a photo of the street they live on and use a
distance finder to calculate the distance between two cities, towns, or
zip codes.
Source: HomeTownLocater.
Japanese Historical Map
Collection: contains about 2,300 early maps of Japan and the
World, . from the University of California Berkeley campus in the East
Asian Library. Represented online are about 100 maps and books from the
collection. Source: © Regents of the University of
California on behalf of the East Asian Library.
Library of Congress Geography and Map Division Map Collections:
The Geography and Map Division of the Library of Congress holds more
than 4.5 million items, of which Map Collections represents only a small
fraction, those that have been converted to digital form. The
focus of Map Collections is Americana and Cartographic Treasures of the
Library of Congress. Map Collections is organized according to seven
major categories: Cities and Towns, Conservation and Environment,
Discovery and Exploration, General Maps, Immigration and Settlement,
Military Battles and Campaigns, and Transportation and Communication.
Source: Library of Congress, Geography and Map Division.
MapQuest:
A street-level database of U.S. maps searchable by address, state,
city, or business. Source: ©1995 GeoSystems Global Corporation.
Maps and References: Produced by the University of Iowa
Center for Global & Regional Environmental Research, Maps and References
is intended to be an introductory guide to map resources available via the
World Wide Web. Topical listings include United States (National, State,
City, and Regional); Foreign Countries (National and City); Interactive Maps
(General, Java, VRML, and Animations); Map Libraries; Historical Map
Exhibits/Collections; Tutorials about Maps and Mapmaking; and Map Stores and
Resellers. Source: Compiled by Mark MacLennan, University of Iowa Center
for Global & Regional Environmental Research.
Maps
on Other Web Sites from the Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection.
Includes General, Cartographic Reference, City, Country, Historical,
Outline, State, and Weather Map Sites. Guide to thousands of Web map
sites. Source: University of Texas at Austin.
National Atlas of the United
States of America: This site offers a variety of
customization tools for maps, such as printing, viewing, layering,
interactive, ordering wall maps, and articles of the geography of
America. It also includes an integrated data section for map
professionals to use with GIS applications.
Source: U.S. Dept. of Interior.
National Geographic Map Machine: National Geographic has
teamed up with the Environmental Systems Research Institute (ESRI) to
develop a highly innovative Web site to access maps and geographic data
online. The resources include dynamic maps and geographic data
organized by themes, such as political, cultural, physical, and weather,
including maps and information on recent earthquakes, transportation
density, political boundaries, ecological regions, land-use zones, and
natural hazards. The Map Machine contains geographic data acquired from
several U.S. government organizations, including the Federal Emergency
Management Agency (FEMA), U.S. Geological Survey (USGS), and National
Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA). Source: National
Geographic and the Environmental Systems Research Institute
Perry-Castañeda
Library Map Collection:
Currently the P-C electronic collection contains about 5,000 map images.
The collection includes maps of Africa, the Americas, Asia, Australia and
the Pacific, Europe, the Middle East, polar regions and oceans, Russia and
the former Soviet Republics, the United States, national parks, monuments
and historic sites, historical maps of the United States, and major
metropolitan Areas. Source: University of Texas at Austin.
TIGER Mapping Service: The purpose of the TIGER Map Service project
is to provide good-quality, national scale, street-level maps to users of
the World Wide Web. Source: U.S. Census Bureau.
TopoZone: Find
topographical maps for the entire U. S.; also a great source for custom
digital topographic data sets for Web, GIS, and CAD applications.
Source: Maps a la carte, Inc.
Where to
Buy Maps from the Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection.
A selective listing of map sellers, includes New Maps, Antiquarian Maps,
and Maps by Type. Source: University of Texas at Austin.
Wisconsin Digital Map Library: Includes digital
copies of historical Wisconsin maps by state, county, city, and
miscellaneous.
Source: State Map Coordinator Kelly Mullins, hosted by
RootsWeb.
Wisconsin DNR Lake Maps Directory: Online digital maps for each
lake in Wisconsin. Arranged alphabetically and/or by counties.
Source: Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources, Bureau of Fisheries
Management and Habitat Protection.
Wisconsin Maps & Gazetteers: Links to online maps
and collections. Source: Copyright © 1999, 2000 Kelly Mullins,
WIGenWeb Webmistress, hosted by
RootsWeb.
Wisconsin Maps and Geographic Information Systems Resources:
Includes Atlases and Gazetteers, State Maps, Cultural/Economic Maps,
Physical Maps, Geology and Landforms, Hydrology, Land Use/Land cover,
Soils, Vegetation and Wildlife, Satellite and Space Shuttle Imagery,
Geographic Information Systems resources, and other map resources.
Source: Michael Ritter, University of Wisconsin Stevens Point,
Department of Geography/Geology.
Wisconsin State
Cartographer's Office: The Maps Section provides
information about a variety of maps and mapping-related topics in
Wisconsin and across the country. These pages are a general introduction
and guide to various sources for both hard-copy and digital maps.
Source: Wisconsin State Cartographer's Office.
Yahoo! Maps: Produces a detailed map using
street address, intersection, city, state (U.S. addresses only). Source:
©1994-96 Yahoo!
|