University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point University Library
University Library, UW-Stevens Point
Library Home | About Us | Hours | Directory | Library News | Visitors & Maps | Site Index | Help


Medicine & Health Sciences

We recommend that you also search the Library Catalog for Medicine and Health.  In addition to the Web sites listed on this page, you will find materials that have been carefully selected to address the needs of our students and faculty.  Click on the links above to auto search the catalog for Medicine and Health.
 

Alternative Medicine Research:  This site on cancer research provides reviews of herbal medicine, links to other alternative medicine centers, and resources. Source: Center for Alternative Medicine Research in Cancer, Univ. of Texas.

American Folk Medicine Archive: Documented beliefs and practices relating to folk medicine and alternative healthcare. Source: UCLA.

American Medical Association (AMA): Visitors to AMA Web sites will be given information, navigational direction, and tools needed to judge the quality, reliability, objectivity, sources, and funding of content and to make effective use of content. Source: The American Medical Association.

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC):  CDC is recognized as the lead federal agency for protecting the health and safety of people at home and abroad.  Includes Fact sheets (disease prevention and health information from A to Z ), and Travelers' Health (how to protect from disease when traveling outside the U.S. and alerts about disease outbreaks).  Source: United States Department of Health and Human Services, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.

Central Wisconsin on the Web: Health Care:  Guide to health and medical resources in Marathon, Portage, Waupaca, and Wood Counties.  Source: UWSP University Library.

Complementary and Alternative Medicine (CAM) on PubMedCAM on PubMed finds journal citations related to complementary and alternative medicine (CAM). When you click on the CAM on PubMed logo, your free literature search will automatically be limited to the CAM subset of PubMed. Source: National Center for Complementary & Alternative Medicine, NIH.

Dittrick Medical History Center:  Examine museum artifacts and galleries. Artifacts are divided into time periods and include such fascinating medical equipment as bloodletting devices, a phrenology bust, and a defribrullator from 1950. The galleries section allows visitors to take a virtual tour of the rooms within the museum, such as a doctor's office from the 1930s and a replica of a pharmacy from the 1880s. Several online exhibits are also available including the exhibit that details medical school photographs, many of them class photographs around dissection tables, and postcards featuring medical students and cadavers. A host of online guides and finding aids  help in using the Center's extensive collections dealing with the history of medicine. Source: Case Western Reserve University.

ExToxNet:  This online resource provides "objective, science-based information about pesticides" and other toxic chemicals.  Includes lots of useful information on health effects and risks, diet and cancer, food safety, drinking water, garden chemicals, and other topics. Source: A cooperative effort of University of California-Davis, Oregon State University, Michigan State University, Cornell University, and the University of Idaho.

Family Practice Handbook: The University of Iowa Family Practice Handbook (part of the Virtual Hospital TM) by Mark A. Graber, MD; Rhea J. Allen, MD; and Barcey T. Levy. MD. This electronic reference textbook includes description, diagnosis, and treatment of common illnesses for the practitioner of family medicine. Information may be accessed from the topical table of contents or the search option. Source: © The Authors, University of Iowa, and Mosby-Year Book, Inc.

Food and Drug Administration: Learn about safety recalls on drugs, cosmetics, and foods.  Source: U. S. Food and Drug Administration.

Free Medical Journals.Com:  Over 1,000 medical journals available online and free to the public.  Source: Amedeo Group.

healthfinder: Healthfinder is the gateway consumer health information web site from the United States government. Healthfinder can lead you to selected online publications, databases, libraries, web sites, and support and self-help groups, as well as the government agencies and not-for-profit organizations that produce reliable health information for the public. Source: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.

HealthScout:  In addition to accessing up-to-the-minute health/medical related news articles, this site contains an archive of older articles.  "Articles are based on interviews with experts and reports from medical journals."  Source:   ©1998 Rx Remedy, Inc.

Hmong Health Website: a guide to health in both English and Hmong.  It includes a dictionary, information on traditional healing practices, links to other Hmong websites as well as general family health information.  It is maintained by librarians at the Northern Wisconsin Area Health Education Center.  Source: National Library of Medicine. 

InteliHealth:  Provides the latest health and medical information.  A health library includes databases, directories, and interactive educational resources.   Source: ©1996-1998 Inteli-Health.

Mayo Clinic:  The Resources Library contains articles, books, reports, and interactive programs on a wide range of medical subjects. Or use the search option to research medical topics in information prepared by the Mayo staff. Updated daily. Source: © 1995-97 Mayo Foundation for Medical Education and Research.

Medem:  Peer-reviewed healthcare information from U.S. medical societies.  It is designed to provide secure, online communications services for use by physicians and other healthcare providers, including hospitals, health systems, etc., with their patients.  Source:  American Medical Association

MEDLINEplus: Quality health care information from the National Library of Medicine at the National Institutes of Health. Includes pre-formulated searches of the MEDLINE database, access to a medical encyclopedia of medical images with over 4,000 articles about diseases, tests, symptoms, injuries, and surgeries, and drug information about over 9,000 brand name, generic, prescription and over-the-counter drugs, including side effects, dosing, drug interactions, precautions and storage for each drug.  Source: U.S. National Library of Medicine, National Institutes of Health, Department of Health & Human Services.

MedWeb: MedWeb is a catalog of health related Web sites, maintained by the Emory Health Sciences Center Library to provide access to biomedical information to improve education, research and patient care.  MedWeb indexes over 900 medical journals.  Source:  © Emory University Health Sciences Center Library.

Merck Manual of Medical Information--Home Edition: The home edition of the Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy is the online version of the medical text widely used by medical professions. Covers symptoms and treatments for disorders, diseases, and medical conditions. Available in interactive or text versions.  Source: ©1995-2001, Merck & Co, Inc.

NAHEC (Northern Wisconsin Area Health Education Center):  A non-profit organization dedicated to improving access to health care in northern Wisconsin.  Source: ©1999, 2000, NAHEC.

National Institutes of Health: The NIH is the principal biomedical and behavioral research agency of the United States government. The site includes information on health, grants and contracts, scientific resources, and provides links to the many individual organizations that collectively make up the NIH. Includes a search engine that searches over 100 NIH Web/gopher sites. Source: National Institutes of Health.

Nutrition Source: information on current issues in nutrition from the Nutrition Department of the Harvard School of Public Health.  Their aim is to provide timely information on diet and nutrition for clinicians, allied health professionals and the general public.  The site includes substantive information on many of the nutrition topics in the general news media.  Source:  Harvard School of Public Health.

PUBMED: Provides access to the MEDLINE database of more than 8.8 million references to articles published in 3800 biomedical journals. The PubMed search system provides access to the PubMed database of bibliographic information, which is drawn primarily from MEDLINE and PreMEDLINE. In addition, for participating journals that are indexed selectively for MEDLINE, PubMed includes all articles from that journal, not just those that are included in MEDLINE. PubMed also provides access to the molecular biology databases included in NCBI's Entrez retrieval system. Source: National Library of Medicine (NLM)..

Quackwatch: Your Guide to Health Fraud, Quackery, and Intelligent Decisions The purpose of Quackwatch is to "combat health-related frauds, myths, fads, and fallacies." Supports the tenets of Western Medicine, and may infuriate devotees of Alternative Medicine. Source:  Stephen Barrett, M.D.

State Health Facts:  Includes important health and health policy information for all 50 states and U.S. territories.  Source: Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation

The Virtual Hospital: The Virtual Hospital is a project of the Electric Differential Multimedia Laboratory, Department of Radiology, University of Iowa College of Medicine. It is a continuously updated digital health sciences library available 24 hours a day. Includes descriptions of all known ailments, possible treatments, and even an occasional X-ray image. Source: ©The University of Iowa.  

Wellness Sites - College Health in America: From the University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point Health Service.  Covers wellness sites in the areas of intellectual, spiritual, medical self care, vehicular safety, safe substance use, physical fitness, nutrition, social, occupational, and emotional wellness. Source: Bill Hettler, MD.

West Nile Virus:  Provides access to data and information pertaining to the West Nile Virus. This resource, which is updated weekly, includes links to Latest News, Human Health and WNV, Mosquito Control, State and Regional Information and a FAQ section. Source: Center for Biologic Informatics, U.S.G.S.

World Health Organization: Provides health information by countries, and health topics.  Source: World Health Organization.

© 2004 University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point University Library
900 Reserve Street | Stevens Point, WI 54481
715·346·3038 (administration) | 715·346·2540 (circulation) | 715·346·2836 (reference)

This page last modified: Tuesday, October 07, 2008