Middle East
Congressional
Research Service (CRS) reports on Middle East Topics:
Collection of CRS reports on topics related to countries in the Middle
East. Source: Federation of American Scientists (FAS)
Council on American-Islamic
Relations (CAIR): Offers an Islamic perspective on issues
of importance to the American public. Source: CAIR.
Country Profiles: Provides a brief history, profile of
leaders, timeline of key events, and description of local media on countries
throughout the world. Features news stories, audio files, and
links to related sites. From the British Broadcasting Corporation (BBC).
Source: Librarians' Index to the Internet.
History in the
News: Middle East History, Society, and Culture Resources:
This site provides current information about events in the Middle East.
Includes links by country, such subjects suxh as as history, religion,
politics, culture and society. Source: Department of History,
SUNY-Albany.
INCORE Internet Country Guides: Focuses on providing scholarly
information on ethnic conflicts in a few selected countries. (description
from Choice, 4/98). Source: Initiative on Conflict Resolution
and Ethnicity.
Middle East & Islamic Studies: an annotated list
of research materials on the Middle East and North Africa organized by
region, country and subject. Source: Columbia University
Libraries
Middle East Network Information
Center (MENIC): an extensive directory of information
resources from and about the Middle East, organized by region and
subject areas. Source: University of Texas at Austin
Middle Eastern Studies.
Middle
East Maps: regional and country specific maps of the
Middle East. Source: Perry Castaneda Library Map
Collection at the University of Texas Library.
Middle East Research & Information
Project (MERIP): a nonprofit, nongovernmental agency that
provides news and analysis about contemporary issues in the Middle East.
A searchable site that includes articles from the Middle East Report
dating back to 2000. Source: Librarians' Index to the
Internet
Portals to
the World - African and Middle Eastern: Contains selective links providing authoritative,
in-depth information about the nations and other areas of the world.
Arranged by country or area with the links for each sorted into a wide range
of broad categories. The links were selected by Area Specialists and other
Library staff using Library of Congress selection criteria. Source:
Library of Congress.
VIBES: Virtual International Business and Economic Sources: Provides
links to sources of information including full-text files, statistical
tables, and graphs on topics related to international business. Source:
Jeanie M. Welch, University of North Carolina, Charlotte.
Yamli.com:
a search engine front end that searches the Arabic language web using
the English character set with the Arabic terms written phonetically.
The English characters are dynamically transliterated into Arabic and
sent to the Google search engine. Source:
|