|
| We recommend that you also search the Library Catalog for Music. In addition to the Web sites listed on this page, you will find materials that have been carefully selected to address the needs of our students and faculty. Click on the link above to auto search the catalog for Music. See also Fine & Performing Arts. |
All Music Guide: All Music Guide provides information about a wide range of musical styles and includes biographical information on over 62,000 musicians from classical composer John Adams to New Age keyboardist Yanni. Source: Alliance Entertainment Corp.
California Sheet Music: [Real One Player]: This site provides online access to some 2000 pieces of sheet music published in California between 1852 and 1900. It also contains interesting ephemera ranging from a music publisher's catalog from 1872, advertisements, and photographs. Some of the songs included in the archive deal with beggars ("Just One Penny to Buy Bread," babies ("Baby's Asleep"), and politicians ("Horace Greeley's Grand March"). Finally the site also has several musical performances for the listening pleasure of those compelled to visit this tribute to the sheet music of the Golden State. Source: UC -Berkeley.
Charles H. Templeton Sheet Music Collection: This collection of sheet music includes some 22,000 titles. So far, the online searchable archive is only partially available, but a good selection of the sheet music is scanned and can be viewed and downloaded for closer examination. The available sheet music is divided into several main categories, including blues, rags, movie tunes, show tunes, Irving Berlin, war songs, and minstrel songs. Source: Mississippi State University.
Classical MIDI Archives: Over 3,000 non-copyrighted classical music files in MIDI format. Source: © 1994-97 Pierre R. Schwob, HomeGate and PRS Corporations.
CPANDA: Cultural Policy and the Arts National Data Archive: An archive of policy-relevant data on culture and the arts. Access current and past research findings, such as public opinion, city-specific data, and statistics dealing with the arts. Resources are broken down into four categories: artists, audiences, organizations, and support for the arts. Source: © Princeton University 2002.
Free Scores: The Sheet Music Directory: A collection of links to sheet music for accordion, piano, orchestra/band, saxophone, violin, cello, viola, flamenco and classical guitar, voice, and chorus in a variety of formats. Source: Librarians' Internet Index.
Grove's Dictionary of Music and Musician's: (available only to UWSP students and staff. Not available off campus.) Grove's music dictionary is universally acknowledged as the unsurpassed authority on all aspects of music. Articles cannot be downloaded, but they can be printed, or text can be cut and pasted.
Historic American Sheet Music: This site provides access to sheet music published between 1850 and 1920. Source: Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special Collections Library; Duke University.
International Lyrics Server: The emphasis here is on popular songs. Searchable by artist, album, or song. Be forewarned, the source of the lyrics is unclear. Source: © by lyrics.ch.
Internet Resources for Music, Theater and Dance: Source: Library of Congress.
Jazz Roots: Focusing primarily on the first thirty years of jazz, this site offers an introduction to the development of jazz, along with information about the various musicians and composers who contributed to this truly American art form. Source: Thomas L. Morgan.
Lester S. Levy Collection of Sheet Music: Spanning from 1780 to 1980, this collection of over 29,000 pieces of sheet musicis especially strong in music related to military conflicts, the circus, and minstrels. The entire collections is digitized. Source: Milton S. Eisenhower Library, Johns Hopkins University.
Lyrics World: A lyrics search engine. Source: © 2000,2001 Michael Giles.
The Mozart Institute now offers a database of the composer's entire catalog, which contains more than 8,000 pages of critical commentary published since 1954. Search for specific works using keywords or the pull down menu. Source: Digital Mozart Edition, 2006.
Music Education Resource Base: A bibliographic database of resources in music and music education from 31 Canadian and International journals and other sources covering the period 1956 through the present. The journals are fully indexed by title, author, and subject. Source: © 2002, R.D. McIntosh, University of Victoria.
Music Education Resource Links (MERL): Provides links to curriculum resources for each of the nine national content standards as presented by the National Standards for Art Education. Topics include National Standards for Art Education - Content Standards for Music Education, MIDI and Audio Files, Software and Multi-Media Downloads, Organizations, Commercial Web Sites, Research and Publications, and Other Music Resource Web Pages. Source: Carla Piper, University of the Pacific School of Education, Stockton, California.
Music for the Nation: American Sheet Music, 1870-1885: Accesses "thousands of pieces of sheet music registered for copyright during the post Civil War era." Source: Music Division, Library of Congress.
Music Resources on the Internet: A collection of links to music information, resources, graphics and organizations, with an emphasis on classical and jazz. Categories include General Music Information and Indexes, Music Artists, Composers and Groups, Music-Related Graphic Images, Healing Music, Lyrics Sites, Music Sources, Purchase CDs Online, News Groups and E-Mail Lists, Online Publications, Classical Music Indexes and Resources, Music Artists, Composers and Groups, Music Organizations, Commercial Services, Instruments and Performance Resources, Music Sources, Sources for Scores and MIDI Files, Source: © 1996, 1997 Shirley E. Kaiser, M.A.
Musicals101.com: This site contains close to 900 Web pages of information about the history, development, and current traditions of musical theater. Source: John Kenrick.
Sheet Music Consortium: A group of university libraries working toward the goal of building an open collection of digitized sheet music. Source: Consortium members - UCLA, Indiana University, Duke University and Johns Hopkins University
Web Links: Music on the Internet: A guide to music on the Internet. Categories include Other collections of music links, Business of music (organizations, copyright, etc.), Classical music (including history, theory, research, and performers, Music hardware-software-MIDI- electronic music, Music education and therapy, Musical performing (Instruments, ensembles, vocal), Popular genres and jazz, Universities and institutions, and Downloadable software- scores- pictures. Source: The George F. DeVine Music Library, the University of Tennessee, Knoxville Libraries.
Worldwide Internet Music Resources: This music resource list is published by the William and Gayle Cook Music Library at Indiana University. Categories include Individual Musicians (All Genres) and Popular Groups, Groups and Ensembles (Except Popular), Other Sites Related to Performance, Composers and Composition, Genres and Types of Music, Research and Study, The Commercial World of Music, Journals and Magazines, and General and Miscellaneous. Source: Gayle Cook Music Library, Indiana University.
Yahoo! Music: Yahoo's music listings, including categories such as Artists, Awards, Band Naming, Bootlegs, Charts, Classifieds, Companies, Composition, Computer Generated, Consumer Information, Contests, Surveys, Polls, Countries and Cultures, Cover Art, Discographies, Education, Events, Film Music, Games, Genres, Girl Bands, History, Humor, Independent Music, Instruments, Karaoke, Listening Booth, Lyrics and Notation, Magazines, Mailing Lists, Music Videos, Musicals, News, Organizations, Radio Programs, Real-Time Chat, Recording, Religious, Reviews, Software, Soundtracks, Theory, Trivia, and Vocal. Source: © 1994-97 Yahoo! Inc.