University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point University Library
University Library, UW-Stevens Point
Library Home | About Us | Hours | Directory | Library News | Visitors & Maps | Site Index | Help


NewsNews

Go to News Search Engines at Search Engine WatchWe also recommend that you consult News Search Engines from Search Engine Watch.

ABYZ News Links: Links to more than 16,400 newspapers and other news sources from around the world.

AJR Newslink:  Provides links to online newspapers of U.S. and foreign countries.   (Examples: UK - Times; France - Le Monde, International Herald Tribune; Germany - De Welt.)   

Ananova: The world's first cyber newscaster uses Digital Island's Footprint content delivery service to stream real-time news bulletins.  

BBC News:  News stories on all things British.   In addition to text, offers graphics, sound, and video of current news.  

British Pathe Film Archive Preview items from the entire 3500 hour British Pathe Film Archive which covers news, sport, social history and entertainment from 1896 to 1970.   Source: © 2002 British Pathe Limited.

Central Wisconsin News: Link to the Central Wisconsin Web guide's news page, with links to area online newspapers and media sources.

The Christian Science Monitor: The Christian Science Monitor's Electronic Edition includes the entire newspaper every day; the Mid-Day Edition of Monitor Radio; hourly Monitor Radio newscasts; headlines from the Associated Press; and the archives of the entire paper back to 1980. 

CNN News: News updated daily. 

College Newspapers: Over 100 college newspapers, including archives. Source: ReferenceDesk.org.

Google News: Gathers headlines from more than 100 leading English language newspapers, as well as grouping them by categories: World, US, Business, Entertainment, Science and Sports. No search capability.  Source: ©2002 Google.

Indianz.com: Provides news from a wide variety of sources about issues facing Native peoples. Up-to-the-minute coverage of Bureau of Indian Affairs and tribal issues. Updated daily. Source: Noble Savage Media, and Ho-Chunk, Inc.

Milwaukee Journal Sentinel Online: The largest newspaper in Wisconsin provides search and retrieval capability to its full text back files for approximately two years. 

MSNBC: The NBC-Microsoft affiliation that accesses NBC's headline news in the categories of world, commerce, sports, scitech, life, opinion, weather, and local.  

New York Times: The online edition includes Front page, News by Category, National/Metro, Politics, International, Financial, CyberTimes, Editorials, Op-Ed, Sports, and Archives. Requires free registration. 

News.Com: c|net: the Computer Network, sponsors News.Com, an online service entirely devoted to technology news. Each section offers a dozen or more varied stories produced by c|net or accessed through links to other Internet publishers. 

Newspaper Archives on the Web:    Provides links to the Web versions of 65 US newspapers from 29 states and their full text, online back files.  Some of the archives go back to the '80s, but most are from the '90s.  Searching is free, but articles are $1.00 per item (some are free).  Providing links to archives makes this news service unique (Choice, Feb. 1998). 

Newspaper Association of America (NAA):  A web source for U.S. dailies, Canadian papers, some international papers, weeklies, and alternative press.  

Newswatch: a Consumer's Guide to the News This daily web magazine promises to "tell you when [news is] accurate, when it's wrong, and why." 

Northern Light Current News Review:  Current two weeks is covered in the Current News section for free. Older stories are available for a fee. Covers over 70 newswires including AP Online, UPI, and PR Newswire.  Source: © 1997-2002, divine, inc.

USA Today: Money, Life, Sports, News, and Weather from USA Today. 

VOANews.com:  Voice of America's broadcast service includes an abundance of news from abroad, plus programming in 53 languages. Source: Voice of America.

The Wire: News From the Associated Press:  News Web site of the AP, its member newspapers, and broadcasters.

Wisconsin State Journal and Capital Times:  Provides Boolean search capability to archival materials back to 1989. Other newspaper back files are also available. 

WisInfo:  A Wisconsin news and information resource.  Includes some area newspapers for Central Wisconsin. 

Wikinews: An up to date online news source. Content is written by a  group of volunteers whose mission is to build a website to present up-to-date, relevant, newsworthy and entertaining content without bias. Source: Wikimedia.

Yahoo! News: Provided by Reuters and the Associated Press.

 
© 2004 University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point University Library
900 Reserve Street | Stevens Point, WI 54481
715·346·3038 (administration) | 715·346·2540 (circulation) | 715·346·2836 (reference)

This page last modified: Friday, December 21, 2007