|
| We recommend that you also search the Library Catalog for Political Science and Politics, Practical. In addition to the Web sites listed on this page, you will find materials that have been carefully selected to address the needs of our students and faculty. Click on the links above to auto search the catalog for Political Science and Politics, Practical. See also Elections. |
American Federalism; Cases and Materials: An introduction to American federalism for use in American government and public policy courses at Purdue Univ.-Calumet. The material is organized with a preface, introduction, and various chapters dealing with the Congress, the consequences of federalism, the federal courts, and civil liberties and rights. Each chapter begins with a general outline, including hypertext links to key documents, such as Locke's Second Treatise, the Federalist Papers, and relevant court cases. Source: Dr. Douglas Amber, Purdue University-Calumet.
American Presidency Project: One of the most comprehensive resources on the US presidency, this site contains a wealth of digital documents covering all 43 presidencies and summary data for presidential elections, approval ratings, public appearances, executive branch growth, and congressional activity. Source: Choice Reviews.
American President: a comprehensive, non-partisan resource on the history and function of the American presidency. The site offers two perspectives on the presidency: the Presidency in History, and the Presidency in Action. It includes biographies of the Presidents, their Cabinets and their families; historical timelines; multimedia galleries; and information on the functions and responsibilities of the modern presidency. Source: University of Virginia's Miller Center of Public Affairs
American Radio Works [RealOne Player]: Radio Works' primary themes include public affairs documentaries on major social and economic issues, investigative reporting, and the Living History series, which seeks to document the 20th century American experience "through the lives of those who witnessed it." Source: Minnesota Public Radio.
American Studies: This easy-to-use, selective site contains links by category (History, Material Culture, Religion, Jobs, etc.) Source: Richard P. Horwitz, University of Iowa.
Cold War International History Project (CWIHP): One of the best search engines to Cold War related sites. Source: Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars, Washington, D.C.
Free Speech Movement Digital Archive [requires Real Player]: The primary documents provided here are quite extensive and include transcriptions of legal defense documents, leaflets passed out by members of the movement, letters from administrators and faculty members regarding the movement and student unrest, and oral histories. The site also provides a detailed bibliography to material dealing with the movement and a chronology of key events within its early history. Also found here is the Social Activism Sound Recording Project featuring numerous audio clips of faculty and academic senate debates, student protests, and discussions that were recorded during this period. Source: UC-Berkeley.
Hot Topics: Provides an overview of 30 subjects, with citations/abstracts, list of websites, forms for corresponding with editors. Source: Cambridge Scientific Abstracts.
Hoover Institute: The Hoover Institute is devoted solely to political, economic, and social change in the 20th century. For scholars and researchers, the most helpful aspect of the site may be the diverse set of freely-available research papers, newsletters, and complete books available on the site. The topics covered here include American public education, property rights, government accountability, and global cooperation. Source: Hoover Institute, Stanford University.
La Follette School of Public Affairs: Embodying what is often referred to as "The Wisconsin Idea," the Robert M. La Follette School of Public Affairs at the University of Wisconsin is named after one of the most prominent members of the Progressive movement, which grew out of the ferment of the Gilded Age and a growing belief that government should exist to serve and assist the public before the interests of the corporate business community. Continuing in this tradition, the La Follette School Web site is a repository both for the academic activities of the School, and its ongoing sponsorship of public conferences, lectures, and seminars.. Persons looking for current public policy research will want to look at the biennial publication of the center, the La Follette Policy report, along with other publications dealing with a variety of regional issues, such as educational reform in Milwaukee and Wisconsin's structural deficit. Source: University of Wisconsin.
Middle East & Jewish Studies: Middle East studies internet resources. Sources: Columbia University Libraries.
Middle East Virtual Library (MENALIB): Provides links to materials on the Middle East and North Africa. The goal is to create a subject guide to resources in the areas of Middle Eastern and Islamic studies. Source: University and State Library Saxony-Anhalt, Halle.
Open Secrets.org: The online source for money in politics data. Source: Center for Responsive Politics.
Our Documents: Presents a listing of 100 milestone documents that chronicle United States history from 1776 to 1965, ranging from The Bill of Rights (1791) to the Voting Rights Act (1965). Source: National Archives and Records Administration
Pew Research Center: A nonpartisan "fact tank" that provides information on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. It does so by conducting public opinion polling and social science research; by reporting news and analyzing news coverage; and by holding forums and briefings. Source: Pew Research Center
Politics.com: In addition to political news, this site contains links to "Know the Candidates," "Follow the Money," and "Read the Polls."
Poly-cy: Internet Resources for Political Science: Contains categories of links with lots of subtopics. Emphasis is on the U.S. but there are extensive links to international sites as well. Source: Political Science Dept., West Virginia University.
Roper Center for Public Opinion Research: an archive of polls conducted by many leading survey research organizations. Many services are available for a charge or to members only; but samples of recent data is available for the public.
Scout Report for Social Sciences & Humanities: The target audience is faculty, students, staff, and librarians in the social sciences and humanities. Each biweekly issue offers a selective collection of Internet resources covering topics in the field that have been chosen by librarians and content specialists in the given area of study. Source: © 2001 Internet Scout Project.
U.S. Presidential Elections: Provides detailed information on elections from 1789-current. Includes results by state and by year. Primaries are also covered. Source: David Leip.