University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point University Library
University Library, UW-Stevens Point
Library Home | About Us | Hours | Directory | Library News | Visitors & Maps | Site Index | Help


Sciences

We also recommend that you consult the following Virtual Reference Desk topics:

Hot Topics:  Provides an overview of 30 subjects, with citations/abstracts, list of websites, forms for corresponding with editors. Source: Cambridge Scientific Abstracts.

Invention Dimension:  Includes an "inventor of the week" section, as well as a searchable archive.  The Inventor's Handbook includes information on patents, intellectual property, etc. Source: MIT School of Engineering.

The National Academies:  The National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Engineering, and Institute of Medicine provides independent advice to the nation on matters of science, technology, and medicine.  Source: National Academy of Sciences.

Physics Web:  Provides access to resources in Physics and "best of webs" in Physics.  Source: IOP Publishing, Ltd.

SciCentral:  A gateway to online science resources.   Includes biological, health, engineering, physical & chemical resources, etc.  Especially strong as a scientific current awareness resource. Source: SciLink, Inc.

Science Tracer Bullets Series - research guides that help you locate information on science and technology subjects. A searchable bibliography that provides brief introductions to general science topics, often of current interest, and lists of resources and strategies for finding more.  Source: Library of Congress

Scout Report for Science & Engineering: The target audience is faculty, students, staff, and librarians in the life sciences, physical sciences, and engineering. Each biweekly issue offers a selective collection of Internet resources covering topics in the sciences, and related fields such as math and engineering, that have been chosen by librarians and content specialists in the given field of study.  © 2001 Internet Scout Project.

 


 
© 2004 University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point University Library
900 Reserve Street | Stevens Point, WI 54481
715·346·3038 (administration) | 715·346·2540 (circulation) | 715·346·2836 (reference)

This page last modified: Friday, December 21, 2007