University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point University Library
University Library, UW-Stevens Point
Library Home | About Us | Hours | Directory | Library News | Visitors & Maps | Site Index | Help


Social Sciences

We recommend that you also search the Library Catalog for Social Sciences.  In addition to the Web sites listed on this page, you will find materials that have been carefully selected to address the needs of our students and faculty.  Click on the link above to auto search the catalog for Social Sciences.
 

American Studies:  This easy-to-use, selective site contains links by category (History, Material Culture, Religion, Jobs, etc.)  Source: Richard P. Horwitz, University of Iowa.

Bill Trochim's Center for Social Research Methods:  Useful for applied social research methods. Includes published and unpublished papers, an electronic textbook and other tools for researchers. Source: William M.K. Trochim, Cornell University.

Bioethics Literature:  This site maintains the "world's largest collection related to ethical issues in medicine and biomedical research."  Source:  National Reference Center for Bioethics Literature.

FedStats:  Guide to web sites of 70+ statistics producting U.S. government agencies.  Source: U.S. Census Bureau.

Freedom House:  This non-profit, non-partisan organization provides links to organizations and publications regarding democracy and freedom around the world.  Source: Freedom House, Inc.

Globalization Website: Created for students taking courses on globalization, scholars engaged in research, members of groups involved in global activism, and the general public. Includes links to resources on globalization. Source: Frank Lechner, Associate Professor of Sociology, Emory University.

Hot Topics:  Provides an overview of 30 subjects, with citations/abstracts, list of websites, forms for corresponding with editors. Source: Cambridge Scientific Abstracts.

Indianz.com: Provides news from a wide variety of sources about issues facing Native peoples. Up to the minute coverage of Bureau of Indian Affairs and tribal issues. Updated daily. Source: Noble Savage Media, and Ho-Chunk, Inc.

Living Standards Measurement Study of the World Bank (LSMS):  LSMS surveys are an important tool in measuring  and understanding poverty in developing countries. In addition to the actual data, the site features a huge bibliography of several hundred research reports based on LSMS information and studies and activities that have used this information. (Scout Report)   Source: World Bank Group.

Native American Resources:  Extensive index of web resources on Native Americans. Source: Karen M. Strom.

Population Reference Bureau (PRB): The PRB inform people about the population dimensions of important social, economic, and political issues. Their mission is to provide timely and objective information on U.S. and international population trends and their implications. Source: Population Reference Bureau.

Poverty Related Resources:  Organized by topic (activism, disability, homelessness, etc.), this site links to resources dealing with various aspects of poverty.  Source: Institute for Research on Poverty, University of Wisconsin-Madison.

Public Agenda Online:  Provides eighteen issue guides that cover topics such as abortion, crime, environment, family, gambling, illegal drugs and right-to-die. Each issue guide contains an overview of the issue, a news digest of recent stories, background data, various perspectives on the issue, resources for more information, and analyses of related public opinion drawn from major public opinion polls.  (Scout Report, 2/26/99) Source: ©Public Agenda.

Queertheory.com:  Serves as a portal to visual and textual resources in Queer Culture, Queer Theory, Queer Studies, Gender Studies and related fields.  Source: Erratic Impact Philosophy Research Base.

Research Resources for the Social Sciences:  Of interest primarily to students and professionals in the social sciences, this site is organized into eighteen categories including anthropology, psychology, demography, political science, economics and women's studies.  Each category provides links to web sites including e-journals, listservs, and full text resources.  Source:  © Copyright 1997 McGraw-Hill Ryerson Limited.

Rural Policy Research Institute: This site contains information, policies, and issues affecting rural communities. Source: Rural Policy Research Institute.

Smart Library on Urban Poverty:   Provides "the best research on urban poverty from leading academic journals."  Source:  Kennedy School at Harvard University and the National Institute for Social Science Information (NISSI).

Social Science Information Gateway (SOSIG):  "The Web's premiere Social Science gateway."  Source: SOSIG, UK Resource Discovery Network.

SocioSite:  This well-organized site has 24 main divisions, or which the subject area is broken down into 200 topical areas (e.g. Judaism, lesbian, youth, work, welfare, etc) many of which lead to individual resources.  Source: Albert Benshop, ed. Sociological Institute of the University of Amsterdam, The Netherlands.

Sociological Tour Through Cyberspace:  Well organized access to sociology related resources.  Source: Michael C. Kearl, Dept. of Sociology and Anthropology, Trinity University--San Antonio Texas.

U.S. Census Bureau:  Many, but not all federal statistics.  Very current.  Source: U.S. Census Bureau.

 
© 2004 University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point University Library
900 Reserve Street | Stevens Point, WI 54481
715·346·3038 (administration) | 715·346·2540 (circulation) | 715·346·2836 (reference)

This page last modified: Friday, December 21, 2007