Directories
(Topic or Subject Indexes)
About.com: This
site, formerly the "Mining Company," contains over 700 Guide sites organized
into 36 channels. The sites cover more than 50,000 subjects with over 1 million
links to the best resources on the Net and the fastest-growing archive of high
quality original content. Topics range from pregnancy to cars, palm pilots to
painting, weight loss to video game strategies. Source: ©About.com,
Inc.
The
Argus Clearinghouse:
The Argus Clearinghouse (formerly the Clearinghouse for Subject-Oriented
Internet Resource Guides) gathers topical guides which identify, describe,
and evaluate Internet-based information resources via the Internet. Guides must
point to other Internet information resources (e.g., Web, Gopher, and FTP sites,
Usenet newsgroups, electronic mailing lists) which deal with one specific topic
(or more than one if they are related to each other).
Source: ©Argus Associates, Inc.
Best
Information on the Net: Includes some "Hot Paper Topics" that should
be helpful to UWSP's students, like: Bioethical issues, Censorship, Death
Penalty, Drug and Gender issues, Human Rights. Source: by Marylaine
Block, O'Keefe Library, for St. Ambrose University Davenport, Iowa.
Britannica.com:
A World Wide Web navigation service that classifies, rates, and reviews more
than 130,000 Web sites. Britannica editors search the Web to identify quality
Web resources, which are clearly and concisely described, rated according to
consistent standards, and indexed for superior retrieval. An extensive and
detailed outline efficiently organizes thousands of topics. Source: ©
Britannica.com, Inc.
Choice
(Web Supplement):
Provides links to Web sites reviewed by Choice, a monthly
publication of the Association of College & Research Libraries that reviews
scholarly publications/web sites. This site does not include the
reviews themselves. Source:
© 1998 by American Library Association.
DMOZ (Open Directory Project): The Open
Directory Project is the largest, most comprehensive human-edited directory of
the Web. It is constructed and maintained by a vast, global community of
volunteer editors. Source: Netscape.
Infomine:
Contains 14,000+ scholarly Internet resources arranged in ten broad categories.
Source: Developed by the Library at University of California--Riverside.
The Internet Public Library:
This annotated collection contains sites chosen to help answer specific
questions quickly and efficiently. Sources are selected according to ease of
use, quality and quantity of information, frequency of updating, and
authoritativeness. Broad subject areas include Reference, Arts &
Humanities, Business & Economics, Computers & Internet, Education, Entertainment
& Leisure, Health & Medical Sciences, Law, Government & Political Science,
Sciences & Technology, Social Sciences, and Associations. Source: the
Internet Public Library.
Internet Subject
Directories: This site includes a list of academic and professional
directories, and commercial directories and portals. Source University
Libraries: SUNY Albany.
Librarians' Index to the Internet:
is a searchable, annotated subject directory of more than 5,600 Internet
resources selected and evaluated by librarians for their usefulness to users of
libraries. It's meant to be used by both librarians and non-librarians as a
reliable and efficient guide to described and evaluated Internet resources.
Source: maintained by Carole Leita on the Berkeley Digital Library SunSITE,
Supported in part by Federal LSTA funding, administered by the California State
Library.
Library of
Congress: Browse Topical Guides (Explore the Internet): A guide to topical
Internet guides from the Library of Congress: Subjects include
Copyright Resources, Digital Library Resources and Projects , Doing Business on
the Internet, Electronic Texts, Ethnographic Studies, Public motion
picture research centers and film archives, Motion picture studios,
copyright holders and commercial services, Film schools, Film publications and
resource guides, Film, preservation and cultural organizations, Television
resources, Government Resources, Greek and Latin Classics, Law, Library
and Information Science Resources, and Performing Arts: Internet Resources for
Music, Theater, and Dance. Source: Library of Congress.
LibrarySpot:
LibrarySpot contains links to libraries, reference, and editorial sites.
Source: © 1997, StartSpot Mediaworks, Inc.
LivingInternet.com:
Source of information on the Internet and its various componets: world wide
web, usenet newsgroups, chat groups, MUDs, email, mailing lists. Find out
the history of all these things, as well as how they work, how to use them, and
why they're important, etc. Source: Bill Stewart,
LivingInternet.com.
Scout Report
Archives: A searchable and browsable database to over seven years' worth
of the Scout Report and subject-specific Scout Reports. It contains over 14,000
critical annotations of carefully selected Internet sites and mailing lists.
A team of professional librarians and subject matter experts select, research,
and annotate each resource. Source: © Internet Scout Project.
WWW Virtual
Library: The Virtual Library is the oldest catalog of the Web,
started by Tim Berners-Lee, the creator of html and the Web itself.
Unlike commercial catalogs, it is run by a loose confederation of
volunteers, who compile pages of key links for particular areas in which
they are expert. Virtual Library pages are widely recognized as
being among the highest-quality guides to particular sections of the
Web. Source: The World Wide Web Virtual Library.
Yahoo!
Directory: A hierarchical subject-oriented guide to the World Wide Web
and the Internet. Source: ©2004 Yahoo!.
|