|
| We recommend that you also search the Library Catalog for September 11 Terrorist Attacks and Terrorism. In addition to the Web sites listed on this page, you will find materials that have been carefully selected to address the needs of our students and faculty. Click on the links above to auto search the catalog for these topics. |
UWSP commemorates Sept. 11 on 9-11-02: The UWSP community marks the one-year anniversary of Sept 11, 2001, on Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2002 with commemoration events. Source: UWSP News Services.
UWSP responds in September 2001: Messages from the Chancellor, Campus Support/Services, and Campus/Community Events following in the days and weeks after the attack. Source: UWSP News Services.
Alternative Resources on the U.S. "War Against Terrorism": This site includes alternative news, analyses, commentary, petitions, conferences and demonstrations. Source: International Responsibilities Taskforce, American Libraries Assn.
America's War Against Terrorism: An A-Z list of links from Afghanistan to World Trade Center Bombing, 1993. Includes worldwide news sources. Source: University of Michigan Document Center.
Anti-Terrorism Legislation, Homeland Security, and Related Issues. Source: © Association of Research Libraries, Washington.
Council on American-Islamic Relations (CAIR): Offers an Islamic perspective on issues of importance to the American public. Source: CAIR.
Council on Foreign Relations: Authoritative information about terrorism and other events since Sept. 11, 2001, in a question-and-answer format. All the answers are carefully researched, reported, written, and updated by the experts and nonpartisan staff of the Council on Foreign Relations, in consultation with a wide group of outside experts. Source: Council on Foreign Relations.
Face to Face: Stories from the Aftermath of Infamy: In the wake of 9/11, many Muslims around the United States faced a backlash of resentment and anger. This groundswell of emotion was not without parallel, as Japanese and Japanese-Americans faced a similar reaction after the bombing of Pearl Harbor in 1941. The Independent Television Service has developed this Web site to bring a human face to the experiences of Muslims and Japanese people in the United States by collecting these powerful interviews from members of both groups. On the site, visitors can listen to stories from older Japanese-Americans talk about their experiences on the West Coast after Pearl Harbor, and the experiences of Muslims, both young and old. (Description courtesy of Scout Report 6/10/2003). Source: The Corporation for Public Broadcasting.
History in the News: Middle East History, Society, and Culture Resources: This site provides current information about events in the Middle East. Includes links by country, such subjects suxh as as history, religion, politics, culture and society. Source: Department of History, SUNY-Albany.
Iraq Watch: Monitors Iraq's progress in building weapons of mass destruction. Describes key Iraqi organizations and sites, lists their foreign suppliers, and provides access to U.N. and other documents that describe Iraq's activities. Source: Wisconsin Project on Nuclear Arms Control.
Legislation: Counter-Terrorism Training and Resources for Law Enforcement: Links to legislation that outlines our nation's stance on terrorism. Source: U.S. Bureau of Justice Assistance.
Oklahoma City National Memorial Institute for the Prevention of Terrorism: Conducts research into the social and political causes and effects of terrorism and the development of technologies to counter biological, nuclear and chemical weapons of mass destruction as well as cyberterrorism. The organization has an obligation to first responders - police officers, firefighters, emergency medical technicians and all of the others who are first on the scene in the aftermath of terrorist activity. Sponsors research to discover equipment, training and procedures that might assist them in preventing terrorism and responding to it. Source: © 2003 Oklahoma City National Memorial Institute for the Prevention of Terrorism.
Post September 11 Resources for Universities: This website enables research university officials to share information on the ways campuses are addressing the challenges of the post-September 11 environment. The focus is on post-September 11 issues affecting university research and education. Source: National Association of State Universities and Land-Grant Colleges/Association of American Universities.
September 11 Digital Archive: The Archive uses electronic media to collect, preserve, and present the history of the September 11, 2001 attacks in New York, Virginia, and Pennsylvania and the public responses to them. The archive is working with the Smithsonian Institution's National Museum of American History, Behring Center; Museum of the City of New York; New-York Historical Society; City Lore; and other local and national institutions. Source: © 2002 The Center for History and New Media/American Social History Project.
September 11 News: Library Journal says this site is "the most comprehensive archive of U.S. and international newspaper coverage of the attacks as reported on their front pages and for the next 111 days." Source: Zooish.com.
September 11 Resources: Includes topics such as Buildings and Rebuilding, Changes in America, Charities and Organizations, Commemorations, Economic Information, Experts, Graphics, Images, and Maps, News Packages, Reports and Evaluations, and Victims. Source: Special Libraries Association News Division.
September 11 Web Archive: Preserves the Web expressions of individual people, groups, the press and institutions from around the world, in the aftermath of the attacks in the U.S. on September 11, 2001. Source: A collaboration between the Library of Congress, the Internet Archive and webArchivist.org .
Special Coverage: America Attacked: Provides news, documents, laws, cases, etc.; includes domestic and international policies. Source: FindLaw Legal News & Commentary.
Television Archive: Concerning the events of 11 September 2001 -- contains television news from around the world. Reactions around the globe have been captured in this archive of television news broadcasts from the period following the attacks. You can watch the broadcasts, read critical commentary, and see differing perspectives in coverage from television stations worldwide. Source: © 2001, Television Archive.
Terrorism and Attacks on the United States: Source: Vanderbilt University, Jean and Alexander Heard Library.
Terrorism: Intelligence Threat Assessments: Selected government reports and non-government articles on terrorism and counter-terrorism. Source: Federation of American Scientists.
Terrorist Attack: News and Related Sites: Source: University of Richmond Library.
TomPaine.com: Seeks to enrich the national debate on controversial public issues by featuring the ideas, opinions, and analyses too often overlooked by the mainstream media. Source: TomPaine.com.
U.S. Institute of Peace Library: Provides several links to Afghan/Taliban resources. Source: USIP.