Water and Fisheries
Central Wisconsin Groundwater Center: a local center that strives to help the government and the public manage groundwater wisely by through education and research. Source: UW Extension and UWSP CNR. Fish Identification
Database: This
site features more than 4,000 photos covering all 162 native Wisconsin
species and 12 invasive species that have taken up residence in the
state's waters. It also includes a taxonomic key, an illustrated guide
to fish anatomy, and an illustrated glossary. Source:
Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources, the UW Center for Limnology,
and UW Sea Grant. FishBase: The most comprehensive and widely consulted database on the world's fish species. It encompasses 29,000 species, over 40,000 pictures and 37,000 references. The database was developed at the WorldFish Center. It is searchable by common or scientific name, family, country/island, ecosystem, topic and references. It is available in multiple languages, offers a glossary and discussion forum. Source: Choice Reviews, Association of College and Research Libraries Fisheries (FAO/United Nations): Provides links to fishery and aquaculture resources. Source: Food & Agriculture Organization of the United Nations. Freshwater [pdf]: This UN site addresses the issue of how the decline in the quantity and quality of the world's freshwater resources "may prove to be the dominant issue on the environment and development agenda of the coming century." Users can learn about water scarcity, water and sanitation, water quality, groundwater, floods and droughts, and other key water-related issues. Includes conference proceedings. Source: United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP). NOAA Fisheries Service: site of the federal agency dedicated to the protection of living marine resources through conservation and promotion of health ecosystems. Includes an illustrated species identification guide. Source: NOAA Ohio Sea Grant and Lake Erie Programs [pdf, RealPlayer]: The Ohio Sea Grant and Lake Erie Programs website include the Lake Erie Information Discussion Board (where visitors can get answers to Lake Erie-related questions) and information on the Sea Grant's work in creating artificial reefs in Lake Erie. The homepage also contains a site index which is a hyperlinked list of subjects covered, news, newsletters, research projects, proposals, etc. Source: Ohio State University, Ohio Sea Grant College Program.. Regulatory Fish Encyclopedia: an encyclopedia that includes information on market, common, regional and scientific names of fish as well as images of many species designed to protect the consumer. Source: US Food and Drug Administration. Water Librarian's Home Page: links compiled by a librarian working for the California water agency. Source: Richard Teeter, State of California. Water Quality Information Center: is part of the U.S. Department of Agriculture's (USDA) Agricultural Research Service . The center was established in 1990 to support USDA's coordinated plan to address water quality concerns. As the focal point of NAL's water quality efforts, the center collects, organizes, and communicates the scientific findings, educational methodologies, and public policy issues related to water quality and agriculture. Source: USDA. Wisconsin's Water Library: Learn more about Wisconsin water issues. The Water Library is a collection of almost 30,000 volumes of water-related information plus links to additional sources on the Web. World's Water: a site dedicated to providing information and resources to help protect and preserve freshwater. Source: Pacific Institute |