University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point University Library
University Library, UW-Stevens Point
Library Home | About Us | Hours | Directory | Library News | Visitors & Maps | Site Index | Help


Wildlife

We recommend that you also search the Library Catalog for Animals, Mammals, Birds or for the specific species.  In addition to the Web sites listed on this page, you will find materials that have been carefully selected to address the needs of our students and faculty.  Click on the topic links above to auto search the catalog for Biology. Use ReSearch Point's Custom Search option to find indexes and databases in this subject area.

AmphibiaWeb:  Provides information on 5,000 species of frogs, toads, and salamanders. Conservation status, description, distribution and habitat information are given for each species.  Source:  U. C. Berkeley, Digital Library Project.

Animal Diversity Web: Accounts of individual species include information on distributions, natural history, conservation, and economic importance, along with pictures and sounds if available. The site is searchable by scientific and common name, class, order, geographic range and distribution, food habits, behavior, etc. Synopses of some higher taxonomic groups are also provided. Source: Sponsored in part by the University of Michigan Museum of Zoology. © 1995-1997, The Regents of the University of the Michigan.

Animal Info--Information on Rare, Threatened and Endangered Mammals: This site includes photographs and information on distribution, reasons for population decline, habitat, diet, social organization, and references.  Searchable by common or scientific name, it also links to other relevant websites. Source: Paul Massicot, director, Maryland Department of Natural Resources’ Resource Assessment Service.

Arkive: an online repository of digital images, video and sound clips of animal and plant species from around the globe.  Users may browse or search for species by common or scientific names.  Created and maintained by Wildscreen, a British nonprofit group, this site aims to provide a "comprehensive and enduring audio-visual record" of the more than 12,000 species threatened with extinction.  Source:  Choice - Association of Research & College Libraries.

Hinterland Who's Who: This Canadian site includes in-depth descriptions of wildlife, discussions on issues, actions that you can take to help wildlife, and educational materials that teachers and group leaders can use.  Source:  Canadian Wildlife Service and Canadian Wildlife Federation.

NatureServe This site represents an ongoing effort in the western hemisphere to gather standardized data on endangered plants, animals, and ecosystems.  Source: The Nature Conservancy.

World Biodiversity Database:  Searchable database providing "taxonomic information, species names, synonyms, descriptions, illustrations and literature references when available" on 200,000 taxa. Source: Expert Center for Taxonomic Identification  (ETI)

Birds

Audubon's Birds of America This site features the complete double elephant folio set of John James Audubon’s Birds of America, accompanied by his Ornithological BiographySource:  University of Pittsburgh.

Audubon's Multimedia Birds of America:   This replica of the complete "John James Audubon's Birds of America" (1840-1844) includes the full text, color plates, figures and bird calls.  Source:  Portions copyright © Richard R. Buonanno, 1995 and © Creative Multimedia Corp., 1990-91, 1992.

Bird Conservation:  Western Great Lakes BasinThis site is dedicated to the conservation and management of forest birds in the northern forest regions of Wisconsin, Minnesota and Michigan.  Some part of the site are under construction, but it does include links to bird accounts for a number of species.  Source:  Great Lakes National Program office, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency.

Familiar Birds: Life Histories of Familiar North American Birds: This site provides excerpts from "the hundreds of species biographies assembled and written by Arthur Cleveland Bent and his    collaborators and published in a twenty-one volume series [entitled 'Life Histories of North American Birds'] between 1919 and 1968 by the United States Government Printing Office." The site includes life histories "of the more than 800 species which currently breed, regularly visit, or are occasionally seen somewhere in North America." Searchable and browsable; does not include images. Source: Familiar Birds.

Forest Birds of the Western Great Lakes: a guide to birds three National Forests in Western Great Lakes Forests, the Chippewa and Superior in Minnesota and the Chequamegon in Wisconsin.  This searchable site includes species accounts, maps, trends, and an environmental watch list.  Source: University of Minnesota - Duluth, Natural Resources Research Institute.

Internet Bird Collectiona video library of footage of the world's birds that is available to the general public free of charge. It is searchable and includes footage of over 3,500 birds and aims to eventually include several videos showing a variety of biological aspects (e.g. feeding, breeding, etc.) for every species.  Source:  Handbook of the Birds of the World.

Wisconsin Breeding Bird Atlas:  this projects provides a permanent record of the bird species in Wisconsin, including the habitat needs, records of rare and endangered species.  It is also designed to provide a historical records and baseline data for future research in bird populations in the state.    Source:  Wisconsin Society for Ornithology.

© 2004 University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point University Library
900 Reserve Street | Stevens Point, WI 54481
715·346·3038 (administration) | 715·346·2540 (circulation) | 715·346·2836 (reference)

This page last modified: Thursday, September 04, 2008