University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point University Library
University Library, UW-Stevens Point
Library Home | About Us | Hours | Directory | Library News | Visitors & Maps | Site Index | Help

Wisconsin

We recommend that you also search the Library Catalog for Wisconsin. In addition to the Web sites listed on this page, you will find materials that have been carefully selected to address the needs of our students and faculty.  Click on the link above to auto search the catalog for Wisconsin.

Badger:  Former name of Wisconsin.Gov.  The state's e-government portal. Includes all areas of Wisconsin government and information on Wisconsin agencies, education, health and human services, consumer protection and recreation. You can search for jobs, renew licenses and obtain permits. Source: State of Wisconsin.

Central Wisconsin on the Web: Link to UWSP's Central Wisconsin on the Web pages. Source: UWSP Virtual Reference Desk.

Cities: Yahoo's Get Local! Wisconsin Cities. Lists Wisconsin cities A-Z, or by counties A-Z. Includes city resources, yellow/white pages, classifieds, and city maps. Source: ©1994-1996 Yahoo! Inc.

Dictionary of Wisconsin History:  Includes words and phrases unlikely to appear in other dictionaries or encyclopedias. Currently, there are over 1,000 terms, including 120+ Indian tribes, 300 short entries for prominent people, and dozens of words from fur-trading or logging jargon. Source: Wisconsin Historical Society.

Events: Lists more than 5,000 Wisconsin events by city, county, subject, date, or keywords.  Updated weekly.  Source: © Wisconsin Online, Inc.

Google Web Directory/Wisconsin: Lists Web guides and directories to Wisconsin.  Source: ©2001 Google Inc.

A Guide to Smart Growth and Cultural Planning [.pdf]:  This 72- page guide is an outgrowth of Wisconsin Act 9, which stipulated that every comprehensive plan address cultural resources in the affected community or region. The guide deals with creating and executing a cultural resource survey, educating the community about the plan, and potential funding sources.  Source: Rick Bernstein, ed.;  Wisconsin State Historical Society.

Legal Topics A-Z:  Wisconsin State Law Library index to the Wisconsin Statutes and Wisconsin Administrative Code.  Some topics also include links to applicable sections of the US Code and Code of Federal Regulations and other links related to the legal topic.” Source: Wisconsin State Law Library.

Lobbying in Wisconsin:  Provides information on who is lobbying the Wisconsin government for what (and with how many$$).  Source: Wisconsin Ethics Board.

Portal Wisconsin: Created by the Cultural Coalition (which includes seven statewide organizations, including the Wisconsin Humanities Council), the Portal Wisconsin site is designed to "serve as a gateway to the rich content of the Cultural Coalition partner organizations, as well as other cultural entities throughout the state."  Includes visual arts, music, culture, and theater throughout Wisconsin. Features a daily calendar of cultural events going on around the state.

Schools (K-12): Wisconsin Public School District Directory, Wisconsin Private School Directory, and Public School Websites contain basic information from the state's public and private schools. Information includes district or school name, superintendent or administrator, address, phone and fax numbers, and links to Websites.  Source: © State of Wisconsin, Department of Public Instruction.

Search Systems (Wisconsin):  Comprehensive collection of links to free public record databases on the Internet. Includes databases that provide business information, licensing, criminal records, sex offenders, inmates/offenders, missing children, unclaimed property, trade names/trademarks, state employee/department lookups, uniform commercial code filings, and state codes.  Also includes links to local civil, criminal, probate, family, and traffic court records; birth, death, and marriage records; assumed/fictitious business name filings; recorded documents; county/city inmates; and tax information.  Source: © 1997-2003 Pacific Information Resources, Inc.

Travel Wisconsin: A guide to Wisconsin tourism including State Parks & Campgrounds, Vacation Packages, Summer Recreation Guide, Lodging Information, Quirky Destinations, Calendar of Events, Seasonal Travel News, Auto Tours & Attractions, and Wisconsin Tourism Links. Source: State of Wisconsin.

Turning Points in Wisconsin History: Free access to original documents, lesson plans, classroom activities, and background essays on key historical events. Source: Wisconsin Historical Society.

U.S. Census Bureau's MapStats: Wisconsin Profiles: Includes an interactive map with data on Wisconsin counties, a state profile, congressional Districts, and state Data Centers. Source: U.S. Census Bureau.

Wisconsin.Gov:  Formerly Badger, Wisconsin.gov is the state's e-government portal. Includes all areas of Wisconsin government and information on Wisconsin agencies, education, health and human services, consumer protection and recreation. You can search for jobs, renew licenses and obtain permits. Source: State of Wisconsin.

Wisconsin Authors Database: A list of Wisconsin authors derived from Orrilla Blackshear's: Wisconsin authors and their books, 1836-1975. Subsequent material is from a database of Wisconsin authors built by the Wisconsin Center for the Book. The list contains over 8,000 authors and over 24,000 titles. Source: WLA Literary Awards Committee, Wisconsin Center for the Book, and the UW-Madison General Library System.

Wisconsin Blue Book: The Wisconsin Blue Book is the complete statistical and governmental guide to Wisconsin. The Blue Book is in pdf format, which allows you to print a copy of the document in the same format and pagination as the original book. Blue Books from 1997- are also available.  You will need Adobe Acrobat Reader to view the Blue Book. Source: State of Wisconsin Legislative Reference Bureau.

Wisconsin Circuit Court Access:  Accesses the public records of the Circuit Court Automation program.  Source: WCCA.

Wisconsin Congressmembers in the 105th Congress:   Find the Phone, Fax, and Email addresses for Wisconsin's current members in the U.S. Congress with links to biographical information and their web home pages.  Source:  © Juan Cabanela.

WisconsinEye: WisconsinEye is a statewide multimedia public affairs network. Similar to C-Span, but focusing on Wisconsin, its mission is to present an independent, statewide view of civic life and public policy discussion, beginning with nonpartisan, gavel-to-gavel coverage of state government in Madison, both on the air and on the Internet. Statewide, it also provides public affairs programming, covering a broad range of activities involving individuals, organizations, and communities. While government sessions are broadcast in real time, archived versions are also available.

Wisconsin Historical Society: The Society serves as the archives of the State of Wisconsin; it collects books, periodicals, maps, manuscripts, relics, newspapers, and audio and graphic materials as they relate to North America; it maintains a museum, library, and research facility in Madison as well as a statewide system of historic sites, school services, area research centers, and affiliated local societies.  Source:  © Wisconsin Historical Society.

The Wisconsin Page: A Guide to Information About Wisconsin on the Internet:  Topics include Census of Population Information (U.S. Census Links); Cities, Counties, and Regions listings; Economic Environment (Agriculture, business, transportation, tourism, etc.); Education; History; Maps; News; Physical Environment; and Web and Gopher Servers Source: Michael Ritter, UWSP, Department of Geography/Geology.

Wisconsin Pioneer Experience:  Collection of letters, speeches and other writings of people who settled in Wisconsin during the 19th century.  Source: University of Wisconsin Libraries and the Wisconsin Historical Society.

WisInfo:  A Wisconsin news and information resource.  Includes some area newspapers for Central Wisconsin. 

Wisconsin Vascular Plants: Online resource for exploring the world of vascular plants in Wisconsin. Source: Wisconsin State Herbarium.

Wisconsin's Maritime Trails:  Searchable database of Wisconsin shipwrecks, field notes from underwater archaeologists, and information about visiting various maritime sights including lighthouses, museums and shipwreck sites. Video gallery of underwater tours of over ten different shipwreck sites in Lake Michigan and Lake Superior. Source: Wisconsin Historical Society, and the University of Wisconsin Sea Grant Institute.

WorkNet:  Wisconsin's Workforce and labor market information system from the Wisconsin Department of Workforce Development.  Includes labor publications, statistics, maps and modules for job seekers, youth, economic developers,
 

© 2004 University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point University Library
900 Reserve Street | Stevens Point, WI 54481
715·346·3038 (administration) | 715·346·2540 (circulation) | 715·346·2836 (reference)

This page last modified: Friday, December 21, 2007