University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point University Library
University Library, UW-Stevens Point
Library Home | About Us | Hours | Directory | Library News | Visitors & Maps | Site Index | Help

Women's Studies

We recommend that you also search the Library Catalog for Women's Studies. In addition to the Web sites listed on this page, you will find materials that have been carefully selected to address the needs of our students and faculty.  Click on the link above to auto search the catalog for Women's Studies.
 

American Women's History; a Research Guide:  An excellent resource for researchers, especially graduate students or advanced undergraduates interested in US women's history.   Source:  Ken Middleton, Middle Tennessee State University.

Archives for Research on Women and Gender: Provides access to primary source materials that document the lives of women, constructions of gender, and expressions of sexual identity in South Texas.  The collections include primary sources such as: letters, speeches, reports, minutes, financial statements, programs, brochures, newsletters, posters, scrapbooks, photographs, and other kinds of personal and organizational documents.  Source: Archives for Research on Women and Gender (ARWG), Center for the Study of Women and Gender at the University of Texas at San Antonio (UTSA).

Contributions of 20th Century Women to Physics:   Archive of citation and biographical information about 20th century women physicists.  Contains information about more than 75 women in the past century (to 1976) who have made original and important contributions to physics (description courtesy of Scout Report). Source: © CWP and Regents of the University of California 1995 - 1998.

Gender Inn: Women's and Gender Studies Databases: This searchable bibliographic database contains records describing over 5,000 works on "feminist theory, feminist literary criticism and gender studies focusing on English and American literature" from 1950 to the present. The search form is available under the heading Research.   (description courtesy of Scout Report, 3/13/98).  Source: Professor Natasha Wurzbach, University of Cologne (Germany) English Department; and made accessible via the Internet through a cooperative project with the Department of Art and Design at the Fachhochschule Koln.

GenderNet:  This site offers a variety of reports and documents on women across the world. It also provides access to unique and comprehensive data sets compiled from national statistics and United Nations information, and surveys that only the World Bank has been in a position to undertake.  Source: WorldBank.

Home Economics Archives, Research Tradition History [pdf]:  HEARTH is a core electronic collection of books and journals in Home Economics and related disciplines. The site includes links to electronic resources that provide insight into early 20th century molders of American culture.  Source: Cornell University.

University of Wisconsin System Women's Studies Librarian's Office:  Includes Publications from the Women's Studies Office, (including Feminist Collections: A Quarterly of Women's Studies Resources, numerous bibliographies, core lists of women's studies books, the catalog of the University of Wisconsin System Audiovisual Collection) and Links to Other Resources in Women's Studies (including Magazines and Journals, a subject-arranged list of links, Organizations, Women's Studies Programs, and Mega-sites on Women and Gender) Source: University of Wisconsin System Women's Studies Librarian.

Wisconsin Pioneer Experience:  Collection of letters, speeches and other writings of people who settled in Wisconsin during the 19th century.  Source: University of Wisconsin Libraries and the Wisconsin Historical Society.

Women's HistoryWords and Deeds in American History: Selected Documents Celebrating the Manuscript Division's First 100 Years.  Spanning all time periods, classes, races, and occupations, the Library's sources for the study of women's history are among the finest and most comprehensive anywhere. Contained in nearly every collection are materials of interest to women's historians reflecting the full range of women's experiences.  Source:  Library of Congress, American Memory Collection.

WWWomen! The Premier Search Directory for Women Online!   Advertises itself as "the premier search directory for women online."  Set up like Yahoo, a search can be used to locate the subject categories in which relevant resources reside.  Source: © 1996-98. WWWomen, Inc.

© 2004 University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point University Library
900 Reserve Street | Stevens Point, WI 54481
715·346·3038 (administration) | 715·346·2540 (circulation) | 715·346·2836 (reference)

This page last modified: Friday, December 21, 2007