University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point University Library
University Library, UW-Stevens Point
Library Home | About Us | Hours | Directory | Library News | Visitors & Maps | Site Index | Help


Basic Electronic Reference Resources

Brief Guide to Citing Government Publications Source: The University of Memphis. Government Publications Dept.

Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance:  Compendium of Federal programs, projects, and services which provide both financial and non-financial assistance to the American public. Source: U.S. General Services Administration

CIA World Factbook: Information about countries worldwide, including literacy rates, land area, forms of government, and much more. Source: Central Intelligence Agency.

The Code of Federal Regulations: a codification of the general and permanent rules by the Executive departments and agencies of the Federal Government. Both the current and historical CFR's can be searched. Source: The National Archives and Records Administration's Office of the Federal Register and the U.S. Government Printing Office via GPO Access.

Core Documents of U.S. Democracy: Full text of many essential federal documents. Source: Sponsored by the Superintendent of Documents, U.S. Government Printing Office.

Federal Telephone Directories: Includes both Government telephone numbers and Email addresses. Source: Government Information Exchange.

FedForms: provides "one-stop-shopping" for the Federal forms most used by the public. Source: Government Services Administration.

FedStats: provides access to statistics and other information produced by more than 70 agencies in the U. S. Federal Government with State and County profiles through the MapStats function.  Source: The Federal Interagency Council on Statistical Policy.

FirstGov intended to be the first resource to find any government information on the Internet, with topics ranging from agriculture to  science and technology - and everything in between. Source: Project of the President's Management Council.

National Atlas of the United States of America Source: U.S. Geological Survey.

Occupational Outlook Handbook Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics.

State and Metropolitan Area Data Book:  Statistics on social and economic conditions in the U.S. Source: U.S. Census Bureau.

Statistical Abstract of the U.S.: A collection of statistics on social, economic, and international subjects. Note that this is not the complete work. Source: U. S. Census Bureau.

U. S. Code: Contains U.S. laws in force.  This latest available version is arranged by title.  Each section provides an update feature to changes in current law.   Source: U.S. Government Printing Office; Hypertext version--Cornell University.

U.S. Constitution: Analysis and Interpretation Includes annotations of cases decided by the U.S. Supreme Court. Source: Library of Congress. Congressional Research Service.

U.S. Depository Ready Reference Sources: A handy subject arrangement of 100 frequently used titles in electronic format. Source: Columbia University Libraries.

U. S. Government Manual: Provides access to information and addresses of U. S. government agencies, commissions, committees, and more.  Source: U. S. Government Printing Office.

Zip Code Lookup Source: U.S. Postal Service.

© 2004 University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point University Library
900 Reserve Street | Stevens Point, WI 54481
715·346·3038 (administration) | 715·346·2540 (circulation) | 715·346·2836 (reference)

This page last modified: Friday, December 21, 2007