University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point University Library
University Library, UW-Stevens Point
Library Home | About Us | Hours | Directory | Library News | Visitors & Maps | Site Index | Help


Finding Tools & Search Engines

 

USA.Gov as the U.S. Government official web portal is intended to be the first resource to find any government information on the Internet, with topics ranging from agriculture to  science and technology - and everything in between. Source: Project of the President's Management Council.

FedForms: provides "one-stop-shopping" for the Federal forms most used by the public. Source: Government Services Administration.

FedStats: provides access to statistics and other information produced by more than 70 agencies in the U. S. Federal Government. Source: The Federal Interagency Council on Statistical Policy.

FedWorld Information Network: is a multipurpose central access point for locating, ordering and acquiring government and business information. Source: National Technical Information Service, U.S. Department of Commerce.

Forms from the Feds: A list of downloadable government electronic forms which are frequently requested. Source: Government Publications Department, The University of Memphis

Google's Uncle Sam Search:  This is Google's government search engine. Source: 2004 Google ©.

Government Online Bookstore:  Resources to better assist users in the identification of publications, subscriptions and electronic products that can be purchased from GPO. Source: U.S. Government Printing Office.

Government Periodicals: An alphabetical title list of links to Government Periodicals available on the internet including full text versions of such titles as FDA Consumer or FBI Law Enforcement Bulletin. Source: Government Publications Dept., Ekstrom Library, University of Louisville  Alternative Site: U.S. Government Periodicals at Auburn University.

GPO Access: Search and retrieve full-text from more than 50 online databases. The Database List includes a general search page for all GPO Access databases and specialized search pages for a detailed search of individual databases from the Budget to the Federal Register to Supreme Court Decisions.   Source: U.S. Government Printing Office.

GPO Access Finding Tools: Designed to provide a variety of useful "pathways" to direct the public to Federal Government Information on the Web. Includes:

Migrating Government Publications: Lists which provide direct links to government publications that are being converted to electronic format. Source: The University of Memphis. Government Publications Dept.

NTIS: National Technical Information Service Contains references to over 370,000 technical publications and resources from the last ten years. Replaces the Government Reports Announcements & Index. Source: U.S. Dept of Commerce. National Technical Information Service.

Yahoo! Government: Search engine which provides access to a multitude of national, state, local and international government related sites. Source: ©1994-2007 Yahoo! Inc.

© 2004 University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point University Library
900 Reserve Street | Stevens Point, WI 54481
715·346·3038 (administration) | 715·346·2540 (circulation) | 715·346·2836 (reference)

This page last modified: Friday, December 21, 2007