University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point University Library
University Library, UW-Stevens Point
Library Home | About Us | Hours | Directory | Library News | Visitors & Maps | Site Index | Help


Agriculture, Food & Nutrition

Agricultural Statistics: annual statistics on agricultural production, supplies, consumption, facilities & costs. Source: U.S. Dept of Agriculture. National Agricultural Statistics Service.

Agriculture Department (USDA) includes both audience and broad subject access:

Agriculture Departments of the Fifty States

Census of Agriculture: 2002 Includes the Geographic,  Outlying Area and Subject Series.  Source: U.S. Dept. of Agriculture. National Agricultural Statistics Service.

FAS (Foreign Agricultural Service) : Provides online market reports, import/export data on agricultural products, and links to various organizations dealing with trade policy.  Includes the periodical, FAS Worldwide (AgExporter). Source: U.S. Dept. of Agriculture.  Foreign Agricultural Service.

5 A Day and Eat 5 a Day are two government healthy eating sites.  Source: U.S. Centers for Disease Control and  National Institute of Cancer.

Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations: World Agricultural Information Centre. They also provide FAO online databases covering international statistics on agriculture, nutrition, fisheries, forestry and food control.

Food and Drug Administration: includes a subject index to site materials on such topics as foods, human drugs, cosmetics, medical devices, biologics, animal drugs, children and tobacco. Also Provides:

National Food Safety Database. Source: Multi-agency project primarily funded by the U.S. Dept of Agriculture.

Nutrition & Physical Activity Division provides a public health approach to preventing and controlling chronic diseases and the problem of obesity.. Source: U.S. Centers for Disease Control.

Nutrition.Gov  provides easy access to all online federal government information on nutrition, dietary guidance, healthy eating, physical activity and food safety. Source: Multi-agency Project of the Federal Government.

State Facts Database provides information on population, employment, income, farm characteristics, & farm financial indicators for each state. Source:  U.S. Dept. of Agriculture. Economic Research Service.

University of Wisconsin Cooperative Extension: Programs and resources in agriculture, agribusiness, family living, and community, natural resource and economic development. Includes publications. Source: University of Wisconsin-Extension. Cooperative Extension.

USDA Nutrient Laboratory and Database: Standard reference for determining nutrient value. Source: U.S. Dept of Agriculture. Agricultural Research Service. Nutrient Data Laboratory.

Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection: includes Wisconsin Agricultural Statistics Service with Agriculture Census county profiles and highlights. Source: Wis. Dept. of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection.

© 2004 University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point University Library
900 Reserve Street | Stevens Point, WI 54481
715·346·3038 (administration) | 715·346·2540 (circulation) | 715·346·2836 (reference)

This page last modified: Friday, April 25, 2008