University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point University Library
University Library, UW-Stevens Point
Library Home | About Us | Hours | Directory | Library News | Visitors & Maps | Site Index | Help


Business, Economics & Trade

Build Your Business: gives information to plan and prepare for the start or expansion of your business. Source: State of Wisconsin Government initiative.

Business.Gov: Provides business with one-stop access to federal government information services, and transactions. Contains such useful information as statistics and corporation reports Includes Business Laws which provides a legal and regulatory guide for America's small businesses.. Source: Developed by the U.S. Small Business Administration and National Performance Review.

Commerce Department:

Center for Community Development Investments online clearinghouse that encourages collaboration, innovation and research.  Source: Federal Reserve Bank of San Francisco.

Community Affairs assists government and the public to understand and address financial services issues affecting low- and moderate- income persons and communities. Source: Federal Reserve System.

Comprehensive Planning Resources contains information, guidelines and tools for both the concerned citizen and the trained professional for Smart Growth. Source: University of Wisconsin Land Information and Computer Graphics Facility.

Country Background Notes include facts on the country's land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and its relations with other countries and the United States.  Source: U.S. Dept. of State.

County Business Patterns: an annual series that provides sub-national economic data by industry. Source: U.S. Census Bureau.

Economic Indicators.gov  click on indicator/report name highlighted in red. Source. U.S. Dept. of Commerce.

Economic Programs of the Census Bureau:  includes economy-wide topics, the latest economic indicators, an economic briefing room and the:

Economic Report of the President: Provides text, tables and searchable database for current and past reports. Source: Executive Office of the President. Council of Economic Advisors and U.S. Government Printing Office.

Export.govprovides access to government exporting information, statistics, market research resources, and international trade assistance.

FedBizOpps: Federal Business Opportunities:  is the single government point of entry for Federal government procurement/contracting opportunities. (previously titled Commerce Business Daily, now archived). Source: U.S.General Services Administration.

Federal Reserve System Board of Governors: Includes general information, research, statistics, manuals, consumer information, reports to congress, and much more.

Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago: Economic and financial information and statistics, particularly for the Midwest.  Source: Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago.

First Gov: For Businesses & Nonprofits: government gateway to information.  Source: Federal Citizen Information Center.

FRED® - Federal Reserve Economic Data:and Fraserthe Federal Reserve Archival System for Economic Research: provide files of uninterrupted historic economic data in order to recreate and evaluate previous economic research and policy. Source: Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis.

NAICS--North American Industry Classification System: Includes tables showing correspondence between NAICS and SIC and other files for downloading. Source: U.S. Census Bureau.

Regional Economic Information System, 1969-to current. The REIS database provides local area economic data for states, counties, and metropolitan areas. Source: U.S. Dept of Commerce. Bureau of Economic Analysis.

SBA: Small Business Administration: Information for small business including Starting Your Business. Their library  provides links to over 200 free publications and other resources. Source: U.S. Small Business Administration.

SIC: Standard Industrial Classification Search. Source: U.S. Dept. of Labor. Occupational Safety & Health Administration.

State Department: has many services for businesses including Country Background NotesSource: U.S. Dept. of State.

Uncle Sam's International Marketing: Excellent guide to web sources. Source: University of Memphis. Government Publications Dept.

USA Counties: compiles useful demographic, economic, and governmental information spanning several years and sources for county comparisons and profiles. Source: U.S. Census Bureau.

Wisconsin Dept. of Commerce: Programs and resources for business, international trade and community development. Includes quality of living indexes. Source: Wis. Dept. of Commerce.

  • Forward Wisconsin : Information to attract businesses to Wisconsin. Source: © 2004. Forward Wisconsin Public-Private Partnership

Wisconsin Department of Financial Institutions: is dedicated to protecting Wisconsin citizens through the financial regulation of Wisconsin Financial Institutions and by providing educational resources.  Source:  Wisconsin Department of Financial Institutions.

WomenBiz.Gov: the gateway for women-owned businesses selling to the federal government.  Source: National Women's Business and Federal Citizen Information Center.

© 2004 University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point University Library
900 Reserve Street | Stevens Point, WI 54481
715·346·3038 (administration) | 715·346·2540 (circulation) | 715·346·2836 (reference)

This page last modified: Friday, December 21, 2007