University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point University Library
University Library, UW-Stevens Point
Library Home | About Us | Hours | Directory | Library News | Visitors & Maps | Site Index | Help


Country Information

CDC Travel Page: Health information for international travel. Source: U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.

CIA World Factbook: Information about countries worldwide, including literacy rates, land area, forms of government, and much more. Also available:

Country Studies / Area Handbook Series: Multidisciplinary studies of foreign countries, describing and analyzing their political, economic, social, and national security systems and institutions. Source: Library of Congress. Federal Research Division, sponsored by the U.S. Dept of the Army.

Global Gateway:  World Culture & Resources  Digital Collections from around the world. Source: The Library of Congress.

International Statistics: demographic and socioeconomic statistics from around the world including:

 

Land Tenure Center  serves as a global resource institution on issues relating to land ownership, rights, access, and use with many publication series available online. Source: University of Wisconsin-Madison. Land Tenure Center.

Peace Corps: includes information on programs, countries, international development, global education and a site for kids.

  • World Wise Schools: represents more than 80 countries and is an excellent resource for global learning with lesson plans and teacher guides.
  • Kids World

Portals to the World  contain selective links providing authoritative, in-depth information about countries and areas of the world. Source: Library of Congress.

State Department: includes international policy, hot topics, and publications such as:

State Department Electronic Research Collection: Archived resources for research in foreign policy. Source: A partnership of U.S. Dept of State, the Federal Depository Library at the University of Illinois at Chicago, and the Federal Depository Program.

Travel.State.Gov includes international travel information on passports, visas, and travel warnings. Source: U.S. Dept. of State. Bureau of Consular Affairs

United Nations  provides official UN information, documents, statistics and other research sources.

U.S. Agency for International Development: Includes many publications and resources and specific information on projects in countries and in World Regions.

© 2004 University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point University Library
900 Reserve Street | Stevens Point, WI 54481
715·346·3038 (administration) | 715·346·2540 (circulation) | 715·346·2836 (reference)

This page last modified: Wednesday, September 02, 2009