University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point University Library
University Library, UW-Stevens Point
Library Home | About Us | Hours | Directory | Library News | Visitors & Maps | Site Index | Help


Defense, Military & Homeland Defense

DefenseLINK: Office web site of the U.S. Dept. of Defense with links to all branches of the services. This is the starting point for finding U.S. military information online. Includes hot links to current military actions, an online publications list, links to DoD Web Sites, to Magazines of the Armed Forces, and to special reports.  Source: U.S. Dept of Defense.


Air Force
Army
Coast Guard

Defense Department


Defense Intelligence Agency
Joint Chiefs of Staff
Marine Corps
Navy
Pentagon Library
Transformation: United States Department of Defense
U.S. Central Command (coalition forces)

 

For publications and information on Military History see: 

Air War College Gateway to the Internet:  Includes military issues, doctrine, leadership, logistics, theory, the Fairchild Papers, the Maxwell Papers and other military science information links.  Source:  U.S. Air University. Air War College.

CDI: Center for Defense Information provides expert analysis on security and defense policies on such issues as nuclear weapons, space security, missile defense, small arms and military transformation.  To provide objective analysis and encourage intellectual freedom, CDI accepts no government or defense industry funding and relies on contributions from individuals and grants from foundations. Source: World Security Institute. Center for Defense Information.


Central Intelligence Agency serves as head of the United States Intelligence Community.

Cold War International History Project disseminates new information and perspectives on the history of the cold war. Source: Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars. 

Combat Studies Institute. Publishes a wide array of official research studies, reports, surveys and bibliographies of interest to the professional military officer and Scholar.  Source:  U.S. Army Combined Arms Center.  Command and General Staff College. Combat Studies Institute.

Commission on the Intelligence Capabilities of the United States Regarding Weapons of Mass Destruction Report.   Source:  U.S. Commission on the Intelligence Capabilities of the United States Regarding Weapons of Mass Destruction.


FEMA:  Federal Management Agency. 

Guide to the Evaluation of Educational Experiences in the Armed Services:  is the standard reference work for recognizing learning acquired in military life.  Source:  American Council on Education. 

Gulflink: Office of the Special Assistant for Gulf War Illnesses: Investigations into environmental and occupational exposures during the Gulf War.  Includes the Gulf War Story and FAQs.  Source: U.S. Dept. of Defense. Office of the Special Assistant for Gulf War Illnesses.


Homeland Security Department coordinates national strategy to strengthen protections against terrorist threats or attacks in the United States. Includes information and resources for various audiences.

Institute for National Security Studies: publications Include their Occasional Papers and articles in the Air and Space Power Journal Source: U.S. Air Force Academy.  Institute for National Security Studies.


Institute for National Strategic Studies: is a policy research and strategic gaming organization in international security and defense policy serving the U.S. Dept. of Defense and its interagency partners.

Iraq Study Group Report  Source: The Iraq Study Group (facilitated by the U.S. Institute of Peace.)

Military Career Guide Online learn about the career opportunities offered in the military. Source: U.S. Dept. of Defense.

Military and DOD Electronic Journals. Source: Air University Library.

Military Family Research Institute. is an interdisciplinary research program which publishes reportsSource: Purdue University.  Military Family Research Institute.

Missile Defense Agency: Source:  U.S. Dept. of Defense. Missile Defense Agency.

National Archives Research:  has a small percentage available for research online including:

National Commission on Terrorist Attacks Upon the United States Report (also known as the 9-11 Commission).  Source:  National Commission on Terrorist Attacks Upon the United States. Archived at the National Archives and Records Administration.

National Security Agency  Source: U.S. National Security Agency.

National Security Archive: This independent non-governmental research institute provides declassified information. Their Electronic Briefing Books provide online access to critical declassified records on issues including U.S. National security, foreign policy, diplomatic and military history, intelligence policy and more. An example is "The Cuban Missile Crisis, 1962". Source: © 1995-2006 National Security Archive. George Washington University.

National Security Council. President's principal forum for considering national security and foreign policy matters.  Includes the National Security Strategy and the National Strategy for Victory in IraqSource: U.S. National Security Council

National War College Military Image Collection Source:  National War College. 

NATO: North Atlantic Treaty Organization: An alliance of 26 countries from Europe and North America which provides a forum for consultation on security issues of concern to all. Source: North Atlantic Treaty Organization.

Naval War College Press includes the Naval War College Review and the Newport PapersSource:  U.S. Naval War College Press. 

Parameters:  the United States Army's senior professional journal.  Source: U.S. Army War College.

Policy in the Twenty First Century. includes FAQ's and compilation of references for laws, strategies, plans, presidential documents, National Commission Reports. Source: U.S. Dept. of Defense. Office of the Assistant Secretary of Defense for Homeland Defense.

Strategic Studies Institute of the US Army War College:  publishes security and strategic reports and publications to bridge the gap between military and academia.  Source:  U.S. Army War College. Strategic Studies Institute. 


TERRORISM

Trial of Saddam Hussein Source: Law Library of Congress.

United Nations Department of Peacekeeping Operations: contains information, facts, figures and mandates on all peacekeeping operations. Also see the Special Committee which conducts comprehensive reviews; and UN Research Guide on  Peacekeeping. Source:  U.N. Dept. of Peacekeeping Operations.

United States Institute of Peace:  an independent, nonpartisan, national institution established and funded by Congress to prevent and resolve violent international conflict, to promote post-conflict stability and increase peacebuilding capacity. Includes publications and special reports Source: United States Institute of Peace.

U.S. Army Professional Writing Collection draws from a variety of professional journals that focus on relevant issues affecting The Army. Updated monthly.  Source: U.S. Army.


Veterans Affairs Department home page is extensive and includes:

Veterans Enterprise Center:  the federal web portal for veterans in Business. Source:

Vietnam Studies  a series of monographs which were written to contribute to the historic record. Source:  U.S. Army. Center of Military History.

Wisconsin Department of Veterans Affairs information on programs, benefits, and services available to eligible Wisconsin veterans and their families. Source: Wis. Dept. of Veterans Affairs.

World Military Expenditures and Arms Transfers  (Archived 1996-98) provides detailed statistical data for 145 countries over a 10 year period.  Source: U.S. Dept. of State. Bureau of Arms Control.

© 2004 University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point University Library
900 Reserve Street | Stevens Point, WI 54481
715·346·3038 (administration) | 715·346·2540 (circulation) | 715·346·2836 (reference)

This page last modified: Friday, December 21, 2007