University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point University Library
University Library, UW-Stevens Point
Library Home | About Us | Hours | Directory | Library News | Visitors & Maps | Site Index | Help


Careers, Employment & Labor

Career OneStopthe nation's publicly-funded resources for jobseekers and businesses.  Explore alternative career paths, compare salary data, get resume writing tips and more. Includes:

Career Voyages explores career options and high growth occupations and the  skills and education needed for them.  Designed for  students, parents, career advisors and people looking for career changes. Source:  Collaboration between U.S. Dept. of Labor and U.S. Dept. of Education.

DisabilityInfo.gov covers a variety of topics related to employment of people with disabilities for both individual seeking work and employer resources. (click on top banner, then see side categories)  Information includes laws and resources for employment programs and job accommodations.  Source:  U.S. Dept. of Labor. Office of Disability Employment Policy.

elaws:  Employment laws assistance for workers and small businesses. Source: U.S. Dept. of Labor.

Employment and Training AdministrationProvides information related to America's workforce. Includes the ETA Research Publication Database.  Source: U.S. Dept. of Labor. Employment and Training Administration.

Equal Employment Opportunity Commission: enforces the federal laws that prohibit employment discrimination based on age, disability, equal pay, national origin, pregnancy, race, religion, sex and sexual harassment. Topics also include statistics and the Americans with Disabilities Act.  Source: U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission.

Explore Careers is a listing of a variety of web links to resources on careers. Source: U.S. Dept of Education. Students.gov: Student Gateway to the U.S. Government.

USAGov for the Self-Employed. Topics range from financial assistance to taxes, getting started to franchises, retirement to social security, and more.  Source: Federal Citizen Information Center.

USAGov for Public Service and Volunteerism:  listing of links to provide public service and volunteer opportunities. See also Volunteer.gov/gov.  Source:  Federal Citizen Information Center.

HireVetsFirst comprehensive career website for hiring veterans of America's military. See also: Guide to the Evaluation of Educational Experiences in the Armed Services.  Source:  U.S. Dept of Labor. Veterans' Employment and Training Service. 

ISEEK (the Internet System for Education and Employment Knowledge):  Minnesota's web-based gateway to career, education, employment and business development information.  Source: iSeek Solutions: a Partnership of Minnesota State Agencies and Affiliates.

GovBenefits.gov acts as a screening tool to help you find government benefits, state or federal,  that you may be eligible to receive.  Source: Partnership of Federal Agencies

Guide to the Evaluation of Educational Experiences in the Armed Services:  is the standard reference work for recognizing learning acquired in military life.  Source:  American Council on Education

Labor Department: Includes OSHA, BLS, Women's Bureau. Information available by audience level: workers, employers, and job seekers.  Source: U.S. Dept. of Labor.

Labor Statistics Bureau: In addition to many reports and statistics this site includes:

Labor Unions Public Disclosure Room: provides financial reports, constitutions, bylaws of labor unions. Source:  U.S. Dept. of Labor. Office of Labor-Management Standards.

Military Career Guide Online learn about the career opportunities offered in the military. Source: U.S. Dept. of Defense.

National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health: includes access to publications and browse by topicsSource: U.S. National Institute for Occupation Safety and Health.

National Labor Relations Board  administers the National Labor Relations Act, the primary law governing relations between unions and employers in the private sector.  Source: U.S. National Labor Relations Board.

Occupational Outlook Handbook. Source: U.S. Dept. of Labor. Bureau of Labor Statistics.

Occupational Safety & Health Administration. Includes OSHA regulations and resources for workers on the Worker's Page  and publications page. Source: U.S. Dept. of Labor. Occupational Safety & Health Administration.

O*NET online: is an information network of occupational information providing key attributes and characteristics of workers and occupations.  Source: developed for the U.S. Dept. of Labor by the National Center for O*Net Development.

Social Security Online: Official web site of the Social Security Administration. Includes Quick Facts and policy information. The History of  Social Security contains one of the most extensive collections of history-related materials in the federal government. Source: Social Security Administration.

StudentJobs.Gov  information on federal government employment opportunities, resumes, and other skills.  Source: U.S. Office of Personnel Management and the U.S. Dept of Education's Student Financial Assistance Office.

USAGov for the Self-Employed. Topics range from financial assistance to taxes, getting started to franchises, retirement to social security, and more.  Source: Federal Citizen Information Center.

USAGov for Public Service and Volunteerism:  listing of links to provide public service and volunteer opportunities. See also Volunteer.gov/gov.  Source:  Federal Citizen Information Center.

USAJOBS: Employment Opportunities with the Federal Government. Also includes links to state and local government opportunities. Source: U.S. Office of Personnel Management.

Volunteer.gov/gov: whose purpose is to provide public sector volunteer opportunities to build America's communities of service. See also Public Service and VolunteerismSource: a Partnership of U.S. Government agencies.

What Do You Like? Exploring career information.  Source. U.S. Dept. of Labor. Bureau of Labor Statistics.

WiscJobs:  source for employment information with the  State of Wisconsin.  Source: Wisconsin Office of State Employment Relations.

Wisconsin Department of Workforce Development: Includes employment, labor force, and program information such as the W-2 Welfare Initiative and:

Women Entrepreneurship in the 21st Century: key resources, information, online programs and networking opportunities for women who want to launch their own businesses.  Source:  U.S. Dept. of Labor and U.S. Small Business Administration.

Women's Bureau: Publications, educational resources, statistics on topics such as equal pay, child care, occupations, and minority women. Source. U.S. Dept of Labor. Women's Bureau.

© 2004 University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point University Library
900 Reserve Street | Stevens Point, WI 54481
715·346·3038 (administration) | 715·346·2540 (circulation) | 715·346·2836 (reference)

This page last modified: Friday, December 21, 2007