Climate Information and Services: excellent first source that provides links to resources from 9 different government agencies. Source: U.S. Office of the Federal Coordinator for Meteorological Services.
Department of Energy: Contains much information and statistics on all aspects of energy: energy sources, energy efficiency, the environment, radioactive waste management, energy prices and trends, science and technology. Source: U.S. Dept of Energy.
Drought Information Center. includes real time U.S. Drought Monitor. Source: U.S. National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration. National Drought Mitigation Center.
Energy Efficiency & Renewable Energy Office: organized around 11 Energy Programs, this site includes information on biomass, building, geothermal, hydrogen, industrial, solar, weatherization, and wind and hydropower technologies. Provides quick links and popular topics.
Energy Information Administration: Includes information on energy groups, statistics, reports, and:
EnergyStar.gov is a government-backed program helping businesses and individuals protect the environment through superior energy efficiency and energy saving product information. Source: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency and U.S. Dept. of Energy.
Environmental Energy Technologies Division: researches all aspects of atmospheric sciences and energy efficiency, technologies, analysis, and indoor & outdoor environmental quality. Includes resources for consumers, professionals, students and teachers. Source: Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory. Environmental Energy Technologies Division.
EPA Climate Web Site: includes climate, emissions, environmental impacts and resource materials. (previously entitled EPA Global Warming) Source: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency.
Federal Energy Regulatory Commission regulates and oversees energy industries in the areas of economic, environmental and safety issues. Includes Citizen's Guides and an educational Students' Corner. Source: Federal Energy Regulatory Commission.
Federal Trade Commission offers:
Fuel Economy.Gov includes gas mileage (MPG), alternative fuels, greenhouse gas emissions, fuel cell information, air pollution ratings and safety information for new and used cars, and trucks.
Gasoline Prices: Website filled with statistics and links concerning energy prices. Source: University of Michigan Documents Center.
Global Change Master Directory Provides descriptions of Earth Science data sets and services relevant to global change research. Includes many direct links. Source: National Aeronautics and Space Administration.
Home Energy Saver: the first web-based do-it-yourself energy audit tool. Source: U.S. Depts. of Energy, EPA, Energy Star and others.
Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change: assesses the scientific, technical and socio-economic information relevant to understanding the scientific basis of risk of human-induced climate change, its potential impacts and options for adaptation and mitigation. Includes the reports on Climate Change 2007 from three working groups and the Summary for Policymakers. Source: Established by The World Meteorological Organization and the United Nations Environment Programme.
KEEP: Wisconsin K-12 Energy Education Program initiates and facilitates energy education programs in Wisconsin. Source: copyright © 2006 Wisconsin Center for Environmental Education & Focus on Energy
National Climatic Data Center is the world's largest archive of weather data. Includes weather observation station records and climatology data. Look under "Data and Products" for the data that is available free of charge.
National Energy Office plays a critical role in the development of the Nation's energy policy and resources such as oil and gas, coal, geothermal, hydropower, solar, wind and biomass. Source. U.S. Bureau of Land Management. National Energy Office.
National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL): information source for developing new energy technologies and includes research and development in solar, wind, biomass, geothermal, and hydrogen; and educational resources on Learning about Renewables. Source. U.S. National Renewable Energy Laboratory.
NOAA - National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration: Predicts changes in the Earth's environment and manages the coastal, marine and fisheries resources. Also provides easy access to the topics: weather, ocean, satellites, fisheries, climate, research, coasts, charting and navigation.
National Weather Service. Source: U.S. National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration. National Weather Service.
Radiation and Radioactivity Protection: Source: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency.
Scientific and Technical Information Office provides access to a wealth of energy, science and technology research and development (R&D) information from the Manhattan Project to the present. DOE is the single largest federal government supporter of basic research in the physical sciences.
U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission: Source: U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission.
Weather and Climate for Agriculture. Source: U.S. Dept. of Agriculture.Office of the Chief Economist
Wind Energy Resource Atlas of United States assesses wind as an energy resource for areas of the United States. Source: U.S. Dept. of Energy. National Research Energy Laboratory and the Pacific Northwest National Laboratory.
Wisconsin Energy Division: Includes statistics, publications, activities and outreach materials. Source: Wisconsin Energy Division.
Wisconsin's Focus on Energy: offers information and services on energy efficiency and the use of renewable energy to energy utility customers. Includes the k-12 education program, KEEP. Source: Wisconsin Energy Division and an Innovative Partnership of public-private organizations
Wisconsin Power Initiative: information on biofuels and bioproducts. Source: Wisconsin Dept. of Agriculture, Trade & Consumer Protection.
World Data Center facilitates the international exchange of scientific data. Source: U.S. National Atmospheric Administration and International Council of Scientific Unions.