Bureau of Land Management administers America's public lands. Includes programs on energy, fire, grazing, recreation and planning. (See side banner under programs)
Chronic Wasting Disease links to federal, state, and Canadian information, the federal plan, a bibliography of sources, and a North American map. Source: U.S. Geological Survey. National Wildlife Health Center. Chronic Wasting Disease and Wisconsin Deer Source: Wis.Dept. of Natural Resources. See also the Chronic Wasting Disease Alliance.
Comprehensive Planning Resources contains information, guidelines and tools for both the concerned citizen and the trained professional for Smart Growth. Source: University of Wisconsin Land Information and Computer Graphics Facility.
CRS Environment Reports: Full text reports prepared by the Congressional Research Service for the U.S. Congress. Source: U.S. Congressional Research Service and the National Council for Science and the Environment.
Environmental Health Information Service: includes the magazine, Environmental Health Perspectives. Source: NIH-National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences
Environmental Protection Agency: In addition to news, key topics, information sources, and educational resources; the site also includes:
EPA Databases and Software: includes GIS- Geographic Information Systems, tools for modeling environmental conditions, consumer tools, and others:.
EPA's Environmental Education Center includes sites for teachers, students and kids. Source: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency. Environmental Education Center.
Fish & Wildlife Service: Provides many resources on conservation programs including:
Fishes of Wisconsin, by George Becker. Source: University of Wisconsin. Sea Grant Program. Great Lakes Online.
Forest Service: Provides current research summaries, publications (See sample), employment opportunities, officials, addresses including:
Forest Service Research Stations: in their new organizational structure of five regional units. As these sites are critical to Natural Resource professionals and students alike, Check tool bar and both side banners on each site for many information links and publications.
Geological Survey (USGS) Includes much information on geology, biology, mapping, water resources, regional information on public issues and programs. Site also includes:
Great Lakes Atlas - 3rd Edition . Source: produced by Environment Canada, U. S. Environmental Protection Agency and authored by Lee Botts and Bruce Krushelnicki.
Great Lakes Information Network uses an ecosystem-based approach to management of Great Lakes' natural, cultural and economic resources. Source: Great Lakes Commission.
Great Lakes Online The site of the University of Wisconsin Sea Grant Institute which provides a source for aquatic science information on the Great Lakes, aquaculture, coastal areas & economies, ecosystems, fisheries, GIS, aquatic invasive species, recreation, and water quality. Includes many online guides to resources and links.
Interior Department: Manages land, energy & water resources for the nation, and the National Park and Wildlife Refuge Systems; works with the 562 federally recognized Indian Tribes. This official agency site includes an index of DOI web pages and initiatives.
Invasive Species National Information Center: Acts as a gateway to invasive species information; covering Federal, State, local and international sources. Source: U.S. National Agricultural Library. National Invasive Species Information Center.
National Atlas of the United States of America and The National Map. (Use ctrl/alt keys to print) Source: U.S. Geological Survey.
National Biological Information Infrastructure: an electronic gateway to biological data and information sources maintained by federal, state, and local government agencies; private sector organizations; and other partners worldwide. Includes information in the areas of Plants, Animals & other organisms; Habitats, Ecological topics, and Geographic perspectives.
National Park Service The Official National Park Service place on the Web. Includes:
Natural Resources Conservation Service, NRCS: Includes general information, technical resources, farm and agriculture information, national programs to conserve and sustain our natural resources and specific Wisconsin Programs. See side banner for specific audience needs. Source: U.S. Dept of Agriculture. Natural Resources Conservation Service.
National Survey of Fishing, Hunting, and Wildlife-Associated Recreation information on people involved in fishing, hunting and other related recreation activities. Source: Conducted by the U.S. Census Bureau for the Fish and Wildlife Service.
National Wildlife Health Center provides information and technical support to promote science-based decisions affecting wildlife and ecosystem health.
NOAA - National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration: predicts changes in the Earth's environment and manages the coastal, marine and fisheries resources.
Northern Prairie Wildlife Research Center. Located in the Northern Great Plains, the mission of Northern Prairie Wildlife Research Center is to provide the scientific information needed to conserve and manage the nation's biological resources and is strong in research on waterfowl production, wetland ecology and species biology. Includes a Publications Database and NPWRC Online Biological Resources. Source: USGS. Northern Prairie Wildlife Research Center.
Patuxent Wildlife Research Center promotes wildlife and ecological science research for the conservation, protection and preservation of our Nation's biological resources. Includes
Reclamation Bureau: manages, develops and protects water and related resources in an environmentally and economically sound manner. Includes an category index and reclamation resources. See also the Water 2025 Initiative. Source: U.S. Dept. of Interior. Bureau of Reclamation.
Recreation.GOV: one-stop resource for information about recreation opportunities and resources on federal lands. Source: Partnership of Federal Land Management Agencies and National Business Center.
Smart Communities Network: tools for creating energy smart and sustainable communities. Sustainable topics covered are energy, green development, land use planning, disaster planning, transportation, rural issues and sustainable business. Source: A project of the U.S. Dept. of Energy.
Soils: includes soil data, research and manuals such as soil survey standards and provides a mechanism to access, analyze, download, and report with the various geographic and attribute soils databases. The List of Printed Soil Surveys by State provides access to some online soil survey manuscripts for states including Wisconsin and the Wisconsin Soils Program. Source: USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service.
State Environment and Natural Resource Departments Source: U.S. Environmental Agency
United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP) acts as an advocate, educator, catalyst and facilitator to promote the wise use of the planet's natural assets for sustainable development. Provides resources for Governments, Scientists, Civil Society, Business Persons, Children & Youth. Includes thematic area news. Provides Source: United Nations Environment Programme.
US Army Corps of Engineers Our mission is to provide quality, responsive engineering services to the nation including water resources projects and civil works
University of Wisconsin Cooperative Extension: Programs and resources in agriculture, agribusiness, family living, and community, natural resource and economic development. Includes publications. Source: University of Wisconsin-Extension. Cooperative Extension.
UW Extension Lakes Program: part of the partnership to ensure the protection of Wisconsin's inland lakes for future generations. Site Includes:
Volunteer.gov: building America's communities of service by providing volunteer opportunities.
Water Resources Institute Library acts as a guide to finding water-related information in an effort to effectively confront water resources problems. Source: University of Wisconsin. Water Resources Institute.
Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources includes:
Wisconsin Department of Tourism: Includes information on activities, attractions and travel guides with an additional web site for tourists. Source: Wisconsin Dept. of Tourism.
Wisconsin Geological and Natural History Survey conducts natural resources surveys and research to provide basic data for resource, land-use and environmental management. Site includes GeoScience Wisconsin, some online publications, and sample maps of Wisconsin. Source: UW-Extension. Wisconsin Geological and Natural History Survey.
Wisconsin geography, maps and graphics. Examples of the use of Geographic Information Systems in Wisconsin. See Also Wisconsin County and Municipal Web Mapping Sites. Source: Wisconsin Dept. of Administration.
Wisconsin State Cartographer's Office online resource for mapping information and spatial data in the State of Wisconsin. Includes outline maps for state and counties and an online mapping application called the WiscMap.. Source: Wisconsin State Cartographer's Office.
Wisconsin Land Information Clearinghouse (WiscLINC): Includes geospatial data, interactive maps, tools, State agencies and other sources of land information in Wisconsin. Source: Wisconsin State Cartographer's Office.
Wisconsin's Water Library: is a collection of almost 30,000 volumes of water-related information plus links to additional sources on the Web. Includes Topical Index. Source: University of Wisconsin. Sea Grant and Water Resources Institute.