Agency for Health Care Research and Quality: includes much information and research on primary and preventative health care services, clinical guidelines, public health quality and policies, health resources management and costs, and consumer information and surveys. Source: U.S. Agency for Health Care Policy and Research.
AvianFlu.gov The official U.S. government Web site for information on pandemic flu and avian influenza. Acts as a central site on information for all levels of government and audiences. Source: sponsored by the U.S. Dept. of Health & Human Services.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention: Provides full text information on a wide variety of health topics including:
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services: Administers Medicare, Medicaid and child health insurance programs. Includes information, research, laws, regulations and many statistics on health care and expenditures.
Disability.gov: Through the use of subject tabs, this site provides comprehensive access to resources, services, and information available throughout the federal government for people with disabilities including civil rights, education, employment, housing, health, income support, technology, transportation, and community life. Source: Presidential Task Force on Employment of Adults with Disabilities.
Environmental Health Information Service: includes the magazine, Environmental Health Perspectives with online index. Source: NIH-National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences
EPA Children's Health Protection: information on protecting children's health from environmental hazards. Source: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency.
Fitness Challenge: addresses fitness with information, resources and tools for kids, teens, adults and seniors. Source: President's Council on Physical Fitness and Sports.
Food and Drug Administration: includes a subject index to site materials on such topics as foods, human drugs, cosmetics, medical devices, biologics, animal drugs, children and tobacco, Includes:
Genetics Home Reference: Your Guide to Understanding Genetic Conditions. Source: U.S. National Library of Medicine.
Global Health Facts: provides world health information and statistics including socioeconomic data from hundreds of countries. Searchable topics include diseases of global concern. Data is obtained from a variety of public and private sources. Source: Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation
GovBenefits.gov acts as a screening tool to help you find government benefits that you may be eligible to receive. Source: Partnership of Federal Agencies.
Hazardous Substance Release / Health Effects (HazDat) Database : provides access to information on the release of hazardous substances from Superfund sites or from emergency events and on the effects of hazardous substances on the health of human populations. Source: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency. Agency for Toxic Substance and Disease Registry.
Health and Human Services Department (home page includes topical access)
Health Resources and Services Administration: directs national health programs for the underserved and special-need populations and promotes the health professions workforce. Includes:
Healthfinder: A gateway to reliable consumer health and human services information web site. Source: U.S. Dept of Health and Human Services
Indian Health Service: Provides federal health services to American Indians and Alaska Natives. Includes:
Maternal and Child Health Bureau addresses the comprehensive physical, psychological and social needs of the maternal and child health population.
Medline Plus trusted health information for both professionals and consumers from the world's largest medical library.
National Center of Health Statistics: has many publications and information products including:
National Council on Disability: links to their electronic publications. Source: National Council on Disability.
National Institutes of Health (NIH):
National Cancer Institute includes:
National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute (NHLBI): topics include asthma, cholesterol, heart disease, obesity, smoking, sleep disorders and much more. Source: U.S. National Heart, Lung and Blood Institute.
National Human Genome Research Institute supports genetic and genomic research, investigation into the ethical, legal and social implications surrounding genetics research, and educational activities. Source: U.S. National Human Genome Research Institute.
National Institute of Child Health and Human Development Publications:
National Institute of Mental Health includes Quick Links to mental health topics such as anxiety disorders, autism, attention deficit disorders, depression, and eating disorders. A publications catalog leads to more resources. Source: National Institute of Mental Health
National Institute on Aging: promotes healthy aging by conducting and supporting biomedical, social, and behavioral research and public education. Includes
National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism: Provides access to information, publications and abstracts of research.
National Institute on Deafness and Other Communication Disorders Source: U. S. National Institute on Deafness and Other Communication Disorders.
National Institute on Drug Abuse: Resources include NIDA monographs, research reports, teaching resources and other publications.
National Library of Medicine is the world's largest medical library. Includes the databases Pub Med and MEDLINEplus among others. Source: U.S. National Library of Medicine.
National Women's Health Information Center: is a free information and resource service on women's health issues. Source: U.S. Public Health Service's Office on Women' s Health.
Nutrition & Physical Activity Division provides a public health approach to preventing and controlling chronic diseases and the problem of obesity. Source: U.S. Centers for Disease Control.
Organ Donation: the official U.S. government organ, tissue, and blood donation web site. Source: U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration.
PandemicFlu.gov: The official U.S. government Web site for information on pandemic flu and avian influenza. Acts as a central site on information for all levels of government and audiences. Source: sponsored by the U.S. Dept. of Health & Human Services.
Rural Health Policy Office promotes better health care service in rural America. Includes publications. Source: U.S. Health Resources and Service Administration. Office of Rural Health Policy.
Smoking.Drugabuse.Gov provides resources on smoking and Tobacco use. Source: U.S. National Institute on Drug Abuse
Substance Abuse & Mental Health Services Administration: Information on prevention and treatment.
Suicide Prevention National Strategy lays out a framework for action to prevent suicide and presents an array of services and programs that must be developed. (also see side banner). Source: Federal Interagency Collaborative effort.
WEB Pages for Kids from the federal government. Source: U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services.
World Health Organization the United Nations specialized agency for health which includes physical, mental and social well-being.
Wisconsin Dept. of Health and Family Services: Programs and resources on aging, children, families, disabilities and health including: