University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point University Library
University Library, UW-Stevens Point
Library Home | About Us | Hours | Directory | Library News | Visitors & Maps | Site Index | Help


History & Humanities

American Memory Collectionsa gateway to rich primary source materials relating to the history and culture of the United States. Collection Finder allows access by broad topics, formats, time periods, and place. This site offers more than 7 million digital items of documents, photos, maps, films, sound recordings, etc. from the collections of the Library of Congress including these examples:

 

America's Historical Documents a sample of the original records of the federal government that are preserved at the National Archives. Source: National Archives.

Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation: U.S. Congressional Documents and Debates, 1774-1875. Source: Library of Congress. American Memory Project 

EDSITEment  provides access to the best of the humanities on the web with resources from some of the world's great museums, libraries, cultural institutions and universities. Source: National Endowment for the Humanities in partnership with the national Trust for the Humanities and  the MarcoPolo Education Foundation.

Federalist Papers  Source: Library of Congress. Thomas Website and the e-text archives of Project Gutenberg..

Foreign Relations Series: presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity from 1861 on. Also available:

Holocaust Memorial Museum provides for the documentation, study, and interpretation of Holocaust history, and serves as this country's memorial.  Source: U.S. Holocaust Memorial Museum.

Kappler's Indian Affairs: Laws and Treaties  Source: Compiled and edited by Charles J. Kappler, 1904. Produced by Oklahoma State University Library. Digital Publications, Stillwater, Oklahoma, 1997.

Kennedy Assassination Records Collection: eventually will include all material relating to the assassination of President Kennedy. Currently assessed through the JFK reference system. Source: National Archives and Records Administration.

Library of Congress: Access to services, research tools, exhibitions and educational resources including:

Military History:  For publications and information see these sources:: 

National Archives Military Research:  has a small percentage available for research online including:

National Archives and Records Administration: NARA preserves our nation's history by overseeing the management of all federal records of government agencies and serving as an historical archives for materials from a variety of other sources . Site includes many guides, research tools and

 

National Museum of American Indians. Source: Smithsonian Institution. National Museum of American Indians.

National Park Service: History and Culture Programs, publications, educational materials, technical assistance and other sources. Also Includes heritage preservation services such as  planning, tax credits, grants, laws and regulations.

OurDocuments.gov  contains milestone documents which chronicle United States History, 1776-1965. Source: National Archives and Records Administration.

Public Documents of the State of Wisconsin, commonly known as Wisconsin Public Documents (WPD), consists of the annual and biennial reports of all important Wisconsin state agencies from 1852 through 1914. In addition, virtually all aspects of the social sciences in Wisconsin during the this timeframe are represented in this collection of Wisconsin statistical tables, financial charts, vintage photographs supplementary documents, maps, and other graphics and research monographs on specific topics.  Source:  University of Wisconsin Digital Collections.

Smithsonian Institution. Amazing site.

University of Wisconsin Digital Collections contain digital resources that provide access to rare or fragile items of broad research value such as books, manuscripts, photographs, maps, prints, posters, audio and video.  They are loosely organized into collections that span a range of subjects including art, ecology, literature, history, music, natural resources, science, social sciences, the State of Wisconsin, and the University of Wisconsin.  Listing and Examples include:

Wisconsin Heritage Online: a digital resource containing photographs, newspapers, books, diaries, and audio recordings. The site was designed for teachers, students, genealogists, and history buffs.  Source:  a collaborative project of Wisconsin cultural heritage institutions.

Wisconsin Historical Society  has many resources including:

Wisconsin Pioneer Experience: A digital collection of original sources documenting 19th century Wisconsin history. Source:  University of Wisconsin Digital Collections.

© 2004 University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point University Library
900 Reserve Street | Stevens Point, WI 54481
715·346·3038 (administration) | 715·346·2540 (circulation) | 715·346·2836 (reference)

This page last modified: Wednesday, May 07, 2008