University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point University Library
University Library, UW-Stevens Point
Library Home | About Us | Hours | Directory | Library News | Visitors & Maps | Site Index | Help


Population & Social Conditions

Access America for Seniors: One stop website for seniors to conduct business with and get information from the government on benefits and services, and topics such as health, education, consumer protection. Source: Inter-agency cooperative effort and the National Partnership for Reinventing Government.

ADA.gov: provides information and technical assistance for the Americans with Disabilities Act. Source:  U.S. Dept. of Justice. Civil Rights Division.

Administration for Children and Families: Information on programs and topics such as adoption, child abuse, youth development and parenting with links to other related sites. Source: U.S. Administration for Children and Families.

Administration on Aging: Includes services for the elderly and many information resources such as fact sheets, publications and statistics on such topics such as nursing homes, women and aging, retirement and services for the elderly.

AgingStats.Gov: web site on aging related statistics. Includes Key Indicators of Well Being. Source: Federal Interagency Forum on Aging Related Statistics.

BIA: Bureau of Indian Affairs: [currently unavailable] Programs, services, trust responsibilities, maps, statistics, topics such as children, education, natural resources and gaming compacts. Includes: How to trace your Indian Ancestry? Source: U.S. Dept of Interior. Bureau of Indian Affairs

Census Bureau: The national source for social, demographic and economic information. Offers a huge variety of statistics and resources on people, poverty, housing, business, geography and provides many data tools and mapping products.

CensusScope:  is an easy-to-use tool for investigating U.S. demographic trends using Census 2000 data. Designed for both generalits and specialists, it includes exportable trend data. Source:  University of Michigan. Social Science Data Analysis Network (SSDAN).

Child Welfare Information Gateway:  acts as a comprehensive information clearinghouse on such topics as families, child welfare, child abuse, adoption. (See side banners for topic, statistical and publication searches).  Source:  U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services.   Administration for Children and Families. Children's Bureau.

ChildStats.gov provides easy access to federal and state statistics and reports on children and their families. Includes the monitoring report:

Civil Rights Commission: Information relating to discrimination or a denial of equal protection of the laws. Source: U.S. Commission on Civil Rights.

DisabilityInfo.gov one stop access to resources, services, and information available throughout the federal government for people with disabilities. Source: Presidential Task Force on Employment of Adults with Disabilities. 

Historical Census Data Browser: Data on the people and the economy of the U.S. for each state and county from 1790 to 1970. Source: Harvard University. Produced by the Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) from U.S. Bureau of the Census data.

Housing and Urban Development Dept.: Information on such topics as renting, buying a home, consumer complaints, the homeless. Includes HUD handbooks and publications and HUDCLIPS, HUD's easy access to information and policy. Source: U.S. Dept. of Housing and Urban Development.

Institute for Research on Poverty  Provides research and publications on the causes and consequences of poverty. Includes many poverty-related links. Source: University of Wisconsin.  Institute for Research on Poverty.

Minority Links: quick and easy links to the latest data on racial and ethnic populations in the United States including special reports and Mapping Census 2000: The Geography of U.S. Diversity. Source: U.S. Census Bureau

National Gambling Impact Study Commission: archived site. Source: National Gambling Impact Study Commission via GPO Access (Archived by University of NorthTexas).

Population Reference Bureau informs people around the world about population, health, and the environment. Browse by Topic or region/country. Includes Datafinder and Publications listing.  Source:  Population Reference Bureau.

The Social Statistics Briefing Room: Provides easy access to current Federal social statistics. Source: White House

U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services: Information is scattered throughout this site including forms, guides, laws, regulations, immigration statistics and history/education.  Source: U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services (formerly U.S. Immigration and Naturalization Service)

USA Counties: Compiles useful demographic, economic, and governmental information spanning several years and sources for county comparisons and profiles. Source: U.S. Census Bureau.

Wisconsin Applied Population Laboratory facilitates access to demographic and economic data sources.

Wisconsin Demographic Services Center of Wisconsin: a drop down menu provides Wisconsin population projections and estimates, social characteristics, other census related publications and downloadable files. Includes

Wisconsin Department of Health & Family Services: provides information, data and programs for children, families, the elderly. Their Reference Center  includes online publications, statistics, forms and other reference materials. Source: Wisconsin Dept. of Health & Family Services.

WisStat: contains thousands of demographic and economic variables for the state of Wisconsin, its counties and smaller communities.  The sources of the many data sets include the U.S. Census Bureau and various State and Federal agencies.  The extensive content allows for more powerful queries on various geographic levels.  Source:  University of Wisconsin-Extension and the Wisc. Dept. of Administration

W-2 Wisconsin Welfare Initiative: W-2 is the Wisconsin welfare replacement program. Source: Wisconsin Dept. of Workforce Development. Div. of Economic Support.

Women's Bureau: Publications, educational resources, statistics on topics such as equal pay, child care, occupations, and minority women. Source. U.S. Dept of Labor. Women's Bureau.

© 2004 University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point University Library
900 Reserve Street | Stevens Point, WI 54481
715·346·3038 (administration) | 715·346·2540 (circulation) | 715·346·2836 (reference)

This page last modified: Friday, December 21, 2007