University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point University Library
University Library, UW-Stevens Point
Library Home | About Us | Hours | Directory | Library News | Visitors & Maps | Site Index | Help


Science & Technology

Department of Energy: Contains much information and statistics on all aspects of energy:  energy sources, energy efficiency, the environment, radioactive waste management, energy prices and trends, science and technology, and a linked list to the National Laboratories.  Source: U.S. Dept of Energy.

GrayLit Network acts as a portal for technical report information generated through federally funded research and development projects. Includes NASA, EPA, Depts. of Energy and Defense technical information.  Source: Dept of Energy. Office of Scientific and Technical Information.

Milestones of Flight: This site displays images of the most important aircraft in the history of aviation, "machines that made the dream of flight possible". Source: Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum.

NASA - National Space Administration: Excellent source of scientific and educational information regarding our space programs and all the science disciplines. Due to rapid growth, access points change often.

  • Earth Science Enterprise: Responsible for science relating to the Earth.
  • NASA Education, an aeronautics & space resource for educators. This is the official home to the current electronic versions of NASA's Educational Products.
  • NASA for Students: (choose grade category)
  • NASA Headquarters Education Program: Provides consolidated access to a huge amount of information. Includes news, programs and resources for educators and students.
  • NASA Human Spaceflight: Provides consolidated access to NASA sites on human exploration and development of space. Includes news, real-time data, space shuttle, space station, mars exploration, space history, and NASA's gallery.
  • NASA KIDS includes activities for young people
  • NASA Education, an aeronautics & space resource for educators. This is the official home to the current electronic versions of NASA's Educational Products.
  • NASA Technical Reports Server:  provides access to a wealth of technical information.
  • Science Mission Directorate Webside:  Programs relating to astronomy, the earth, the sun,  the solar system, and the universe
  • Source: National Aeronautics and Space Administration.

National Biological Information Infrastructure: is a network of distributed databases and information sources on biological resources. Source: U.S. Geological Survey. Biological Resources Division.

National Science Foundation Publications and Data: Analytic and statistical reports on Science, Technology and engineering. Source: National Science Foundation.

NOAA - National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration: Predicts changes in the Earth's environment and manages the coastal, marine and fisheries resources.

NTIS: National Technical Information Service Contains references to over 370,000 technical publications and resources from the last ten years through their NTIS Database. Their Site Index provides subject categories to search.  Replaces the Government Reports Announcements & Index. Source: U.S. Dept of Commerce. National Technical Information Service.

The OTA Legacy: the complete collection of OTA publications, 1974-1995 in electronic format. The Congressional Office of Technology Assessment, from 1972 to 1995, provided Congress with objective and authoritative analysis of the complex scientific and technical issues of the late 20th century. Source: The Woodrow Wilson School of Public and International Affairs at Princeton University

Scientific and Technical Information Office provides access to a wealth of energy, science and technology research and development (R&D) information from the Manhattan Project to the present.  DOE is the single largest federal government supporter of basic research in the physical sciences.  

  • DOE Information Bridge: provides free access to full-text DOE research and development reports in physics, chemistry, materials, biology, environmental sciences, energy technologies, engineering, computer and information science, renewable energy, and other topics.
  • Energy Citations Database: contains citations for Dept. of Energy sponsored scientific and technical reports from 1948 to the present.
  • Energy Science and Technology Virtual Library  contains over 500 databases and web sites pertaining to science and technology from a variety of agencies.  Includes subject pathways.
  • Subject Portals  Subject-Specific Information Tools
  • Source:  U.S. Dept. of Energy. Office of Scientific and Technical Information. 

This Dynamic Planet: interactive map on volcanoes, earthquakes and plate tetonics. Source: U.S. Geological Survey and the Smithsonian Institute. 

© 2004 University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point University Library
900 Reserve Street | Stevens Point, WI 54481
715·346·3038 (administration) | 715·346·2540 (circulation) | 715·346·2836 (reference)

This page last modified: Friday, December 21, 2007