University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point University Library
University Library, UW-Stevens Point
Library Home | About Us | Hours | Directory | Library News | Visitors & Maps | Site Index | Help


General Statistics

Census Bureau: The national source for social, demographic and economic information. Offers a huge variety of statistics and resources on people, poverty, housing, business, geography and provides many data tools and mapping products.

Census of Agriculture: 2002 Includes the Geographic,  Outlying Area and Subject Series.  Source: U.S. Dept. of Agriculture. National Agricultural Statistics Service.

CensusScope:  is an easy-to-use tool for investigating U.S. demographic trends using Census 2000 data. Designed for both generalits and specialists, it includes exportable trend data. Source:  University of Michigan. Social Science Data Analysis Network (SSDAN).

CIA World Factbook: Information about countries worldwide, including literacy rates, land area, forms of government, and much more. Source: Central Intelligence Agency.

Economic Programs of the Census Bureau:  includes economy-wide topics, the latest economic indicators, an economic briefing room and the:

FedStats: This site provides access to statistics and other information produced by more than 70 agencies in the U. S. Federal Government with State and County profiles through the MapStats function. Source: The Federal Interagency Council on Statistical Policy.

Historical Census Data Browser: Data on the people and the economy of the U.S. for each state and county from 1790 to 1970. Source: Harvard University. Produced by the Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) from U.S. Bureau of the Census data.

State and Metropolitan Area Data Book:  Statistics on social and economic conditions in the U.S. Source: U.S. Census Bureau.

State Statistical Information Resources Source: Golda Meir Library. University of Wisconsin, Milwaukee.

Statistical Abstract: A collection of statistics on social, economic, and international subjects. Including monthly updates for some economic indicators. Note that this is not the complete work. Source: U. S. Census Bureau.

Statistical Resources on the Web: University of Michigan website offers numerous links to municipal, state, federal, foreign and international websites. Source: Grace York, Coordinator, Documents Center University of Michigan Library

USA Counties: Compiles useful demographic, economic, and governmental information spanning several years and sources for county comparisons and profiles. Source: U.S. Census Bureau.

Wisconsin Demographic Services Center: a drop down menu provides Wisconsin population projections and estimates, social characteristics, other census related publications and downloadable files. Includes

Wisconsin Applied Population Laboratory facilitates access to demographic and economic data sources.

WisStat: contains thousands of demographic and economic variables for the state of Wisconsin, its counties and smaller communities.  The sources of the many data sets include the U.S. Census Bureau and various State and Federal agencies.  The extensive content allows for more powerful queries on various geographic levels.  Source:  University of Wisconsin-Extension and the Wisc. Dept. of Administration.

© 2004 University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point University Library
900 Reserve Street | Stevens Point, WI 54481
715·346·3038 (administration) | 715·346·2540 (circulation) | 715·346·2836 (reference)

This page last modified: Friday, December 21, 2007