University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point University Library
University Library, UW-Stevens Point
Library Home | About Us | Hours | Directory | Library News | Visitors & Maps | Site Index | Help


State of Wisconsin

Wisconsin.Gov: source for official state information including:

Census Information for Wisconsin includes population, demographic, housing and economic information. See also Wisconsin Quick Facts and the datamap, Wisconsin Profiles. Gateway to Census 2000  provides access to data from the 2000 Census of Population & Housing Source: U.S. Census Bureau.

Historical Society of Wisconsin  has many resources including:

Maps: Sample state of Wisconsin maps. Source: Wisconsin Geological and Natural History Survey.

Maps of Wisconsin  Includes links to other web sites for additional state, city and outline maps. Source: University of Texas of Austin. Perry-Castaneda Library Map Collection.

Portage County, Wisconsin Source: Portage County Government. See also: Portage County Data Page from the National Association of Counties,  © 2003.

Public Documents of the State of Wisconsin, commonly known as Wisconsin Public Documents (WPD), consists of the annual and biennial reports of all important Wisconsin state agencies from 1852 through 1914. In addition, virtually all aspects of the social sciences in Wisconsin during the this timeframe are represented in this collection of Wisconsin statistical tables, financial charts, vintage photographs supplementary documents, maps, and other graphics and research monographs on specific topics.  Source:  University of Wisconsin Digital Collections.

 State Cartographer's Office  online resource for mapping information and spatial data in the State of Wisconsin. Includes outline maps for state and counties and an online mapping application called the WiscMap.  Source: Wisconsin State Cartographer's Office

Travel Informationa collection of interactive maps on such topics as Road Conditions and Work Zones.  Source: Wisconsin Dept. of Transportation. 

Wisconsin Applied Population Laboratory facilitates access to demographic and economic data sources.

Wisconsin Demographic Services Center: a drop down menu provides Wisconsin population projections and estimates, social characteristics, other census related publications and downloadable files. Includes

Wisconsin Congressmembers: Phone, Fax, and Email addresses for Wisconsin's current members in the U.S. Congress with links to biographical information and their web home pages. Source: © 1995-2007. Site Maintained by Juan E. Cabanela

Wisconsin Heritage Online: a digital resource containing photographs, newspapers, books, diaries, and audio recordings. The site was designed for teachers, students, genealogists, and history buffs.  Source:  a collaborative project of Wisconsin cultural heritage institutions.

Wisconsin Page: Links to sources of information likely to support education and research. Source: Michael Ritter, University of Wisconsin Stevens Point, Department of Geography/Geology.

WisStat: contains thousands of demographic and economic variables for the state of Wisconsin, its counties and smaller communities.  The sources of the many data sets include the U.S. Census Bureau and various State and Federal agencies.  The extensive content allows for more powerful queries on various geographic levels.  Source:  University of Wisconsin-Extension and the Wisc. Dept. of Administration.

© 2004 University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point University Library
900 Reserve Street | Stevens Point, WI 54481
715·346·3038 (administration) | 715·346·2540 (circulation) | 715·346·2836 (reference)

This page last modified: Wednesday, September 02, 2009