University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point University Library
University Library, UW-Stevens Point
Library Home | About Us | Hours | Directory | Library News | Visitors & Maps | Site Index | Help
Endnote

Access & Installation

To install EndNote on your computer, follow this path:

  • Network Menu

  • Utilities

  • Local Program Installs

Introduction

What is personal citation management software? It is software that allows you to organize and retrieve your literature for research, teaching and publications.

Possible uses include:

 

  • Compile reading lists for courses.

  • Create bibliographies in a variety of publication styles.

  • Cite sources while you write.

  • Generate list of authors' addresses, email addresses.

 

Creating a Library

To start with EndNote, you first create your Library, and then add references to it.

  • Library is the EndNote term for the files in which you store your references, in much the same way as you would put documents in a folder.
  • There is no limit to the number of libraries you can create.
  • Each library can store up to 32,000 references or grow to be 32 Megabytes.

 

EndNote diagram of functions
 

Entering references

Overview

Once you have created an EndNote Library the next step is to enter the references you wish to keep. There are four ways of doing this:

  • Enter references manually (by typing them in).
  • Import pre-saved references into your EndNote Library using EndNote Filters.
  • Direct Export references from databases which support that function, into your EndNote Library.
  • Use EndNote Connection files to connect to and search a database.

 

To manually enter references
 

  • Begin with an open library.

  • From the Reference menu, select New Reference

  • From the New Reference window, select a reference type from the pull down list

  • Enter data. Use the Tab key or mouse to move from field to field.

  • Select the Close button to close and save your reference to the open library.

 

About Filters

Importing with Filters is a way of electronically entering references into EndNote.

Filters let you import references downloaded (saved) from databases into your EndNote library. You select a filter during the import process which tells EndNote how to interpret the information you want to import. A filter does this by mapping the information in each saved reference to the corresponding fields in EndNote.

Filters are specific both to the database and the information provider for which the filter was designed. Filters for some databases and providers do not work well or at all, and so need to be edited.

Using these filters will ensure your imported references require minimal editing. These filters need to be saved in the EndNote's Filters folder on your C drive.

WilsonWeb import filters are no longer valid because of a recent interface change that effects data field labels.

Download the new filter here and save to c:\Program Files\EndNote X\filters

Biblioline: (Family and Society Studies, Wildlife and Ecology Worldwide, Fish and Fisheries Worldwide, Women's Studies International)

Download the new filter here and save to c:\Program Files\EndNote X\filters

Some databases support the Direct Export of references to EndNote.

The Direct Export function in a database automatically finds and opens EndNote if it is installed on your computer. It then downloads your selected references into your chosen EndNote Library. Not all databases provide a Direct Export function.

Whether you choose to use a database's Direct Export function, or to save your references as a .txt file then import them into EndNote with a filter, will depend on whether you are working on your own computer with EndNote installed, or on a public access computer. In other cases, the direct export function will not work as well as using import with a filter.


Look for the option to 'export directly to EndNote' or 'export to bibliographic manager' or similar terms once you have marked the records you want.

Using EndNote Connection Files

Connection files connect to a database or a catalog, and provide an EndNote search screen which can be used to do basic searches.


Note: you will obtain different search results if you search the catalog directly then import the results with a filter file, than if you search the catalog with a connection file.

Important:

Due to the very basic search mechanism it is recommended that you do not generally use connection files to search online databases and catalogs. Connection files can be best used to search in the following circumstances:

  • To search an online database for a specific journal reference
  • To search the UWSP Library Catalog if you need detailed holdings information to be saved for each of the references retrieved by your catalog search. The holdings information consists of location, call number, and status at the time of search for each copy of a title held by the Library.

Download a connection file for UWSP Library Catalog and save in c:\Program Files\EndNote X\Connections.

 

Full text Linking from an endnote reference:

If you know the URL for a reference or if you have downloaded a reference from a database that includes the URL for full text, the URL can be included in a record.

Another way to link to the full-text of an article is to use Endnote’s Open URL capability which for UWSP will take full advantage of the Article Finder. Article Finder will locate the electronic journals to which UWSP users have access. OpenURL is a command in the Endnote References menu which will start your default browser and use the Article Finder to identify full-text resources in the UWSP Libraries.

Open the Endnote menu and choose Preferences.

Select OpenURL.

Click in the box labeled Enable OpenURL.

Delete the text in the OpenURL Path box.

Type in: "http://sfx.wisconsin.edu/uwsp"

Leave the arguments in the box as they are and click save.

© 2004 University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point University Library
900 Reserve Street | Stevens Point, WI 54481
715·346·3038 (administration) | 715·346·2540 (circulation) | 715·346·2836 (reference)

This page last modified: Thursday, December 20, 2007