University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point University Library
University Library, UW-Stevens Point
Library Home | About Us | Hours | Directory | Library News | Visitors & Maps | Site Index | Help

New York Times Science Section Articles

The UWSP library has online access to the full text of most articles in the New York Times from 1980-present.  To find an article from the Tuesday Science section of the newspaper, follow any of these steps:


Use the Lexis Nexis Academic Universe newspaper database

  1. Under the Research Point heading on the Library's home page select Find Article Databases
  2. Enter Academic Universe in the search box, then click on the link to the database.
  3. Switch to Power Search mode
  4. Search for the terms "New York Times" and  "Science desk" in the text box.
  5. Add any other keyword to limit your search to a specific topic.
  6. You might also want to limit the date range for your search to exclude older articles.
  7. The article results will be displayed with the newest ones first, just click on the title to get the full article.
  8. Use the Print, Save or Email icons for the individual article or check the boxes to save multiple articles.

Use the online version of the New York Times (http://www.nytimes.com)

This website provides limited access to the full text of the articles, but it is searchable and can alert you to articles that are then available via Academic Universe (see the instructions above).

Set up an RSS feed - to receive regular alerts for Science articles in the NYTimes

  1. Near the bottom of the NYtimes home page, click on the RSS button rss feed
  2. Select the Science section feed, then click on Subscribe to this feed.
  3. Specify where you would like to receive your alerts (Internet Explorer, etc.)

Browse the Science Times by selecting Science from the left hand column list
If the full text of the article is no longer available, use Academic Universe (see the instructions above) to find the entire article.

Contact the library's reference desk if you have any questions at 346-2836, by e-mail or in person.

© 2004 University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point University Library
900 Reserve Street | Stevens Point, WI 54481
715·346·3038 (administration) | 715·346·2540 (circulation) | 715·346·2836 (reference)

This page last modified: Wednesday, September 09, 2009